We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
89%
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BreconAndy Brecon
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,419)
  • Photos (148)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (335)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    923
    333
    102
    40
    21
See reviews for
218
723
65
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hotel last month on a business trip. The room was clean and functional, the Wi-Fi was very good. In particular the staff were very pleasant and accommodating especially reception who were happy to print a report for me if I emailed it to reception desk. All in all, very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Andy and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Connaught Hotel is a fantiastic venue for weddings. Myself and my husband held our wedding reception here in May 2014 and couldnt have been happier with the service. The wedding co ordonator Faye was very helpful prior to the big day. The room looked stunning, they decorated the room with everything that I wanted. The staff were so helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Good luck to you both Pippa - we all enjoyed looking after you on your big day and thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you on your 1st anniversary!!! Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Connaught hotel over the Air Show weekend. Excellent trip all round. On our arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and this applied to all employees throughout our stay. Customer service is obviously high on the managements priority list. The hotel has been refurbished approx 12 months ago and is therefore well decorated throughout. The pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us Jerry and I hope you enjoyed the ever more popular air show - the weather just held on for us!! Many thanks for your "Excellent" review. Best wishes and see you next year. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was very clean and the staff (Neno in particular) very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was disappointing - Seasonal fruit consisted of melon each day which is well below par in this day and age - vegetarian sausages etc only available by special request. Cleaning was of a very high standard but commenced early in a morning and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Rod and my apologies for the noise made by housekeeping. With regard to veggie sausages we cook to order simply because there is so little demand - just 5% of the population is registered as vegetarian!! Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and we love it,staff always friendly and polite love the spa and excellent breakfast,the only downside is that sice its gone 4* it seams a tad expensive now.nice place never the less

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review Andy - following our conversation I would just confirm that your reference to "pricey" concerns the bar prices and they have stayed pretty constant since your last visit. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 -... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I'll start with the positives. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. As soon as I reached my room, I received a phone call to ask if everything was OK. I asked if I could borrow an iron and one was brought to my room (together with ironing board). I also left my watch in the spa and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Super review Lisa, thank you very much. I'm not sure what happened at breakfast that morning as they operate a very well controlled (normally) queueing system - please accept my apologies for the delay. Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked for this ‘spa break’ to allow us to relax for a few days. We chose this hotel because of its high standing, being number 1 hotel in Bournemouth and many good reviews. However, there are inconsistencies, which let this hotel down. For example, the impressive reception area and friendly staff do not carry through to the bedrooms in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Gill for your considered review and for your lovely comments about our staff however I'm very sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations. Blakes is a fine dining restaurant and we charge just £27 per head for 3 courses – we have to allow for guests who wish to improve their experience with fillet steaks, lobster, souffles,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say how nice the venue is and the main hotel does have wow factor but after having our wedding there me and wife are still not happy: ( I'm not going to go into detail on here yet but I might in future if hotel don't get in touch to explain how our day went so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

At nearly £200 a night half board I expected a lot more from this hotel especially as it has received the TripAdvisor award for 2014....Don't know how. Firstly the positives..., I will say they this hotel has some good points that frankly can't be beaten in any hotel I've stayed at. The staff were very friendly and tried to correct... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Mike for bringing our good points to the forefront of your review which is very much appreciated and I was pleased to note that we managed to sort out your room for you. Beyond that I’m sorry that we didn’t manage to meet your expectations - apologies about the pool area but it is August and... More

london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wasn't going to write a review , but then I thought I chose this hotel based on other peoples reviews and we were very disappointed. Our room was terribly hot, in fact the whole hotel felt like it lacked ventilation. We had a balcony room so we slept with the doors open as this was the only air we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us Cathy. In common with over 90% of Bournemouth hotels, and as stated on this site on many occasions, we do not have A/C and August has been a very warm month. I understand the shower problem was dealt with promptly but nevertheless please accept my apologies for your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth #1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth #1 Family Hotel in Bournemouth #1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth #1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth #2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's #1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa and an award-winning double rosette restaurant. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club awaits you. Centrally located on the West Cliff, the hotel is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. The hotel has 56 beautifully decorated en suite bedrooms, including 2 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer