We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    28
    19
    13
See reviews for
12
52
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wessex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Cheshunt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff where friendly and helpful, But the hotel really does need a face lift bedrooms especially. Bed was awful , the room was leaning to left of building. It was cleanish, carpet really needs coming up and throwing, sheets well they really have seen there day and pillows

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mark W, Im sorry that the hotel was not to your liking however I appreciate your feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We read some unfavourable reviews before we stayed at the Wessex but found them to be untrue of our experience. We had a large, clean family room which was very nicely decorated and with an enormous bathroom with a separate shower and bath. The swimming pool water was a gorgeous warm temperature. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. We paid a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review NinaPanda, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex Hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had a lovely suite, the rooms are slightly faded but clean and breakfast was very good. Value for money was very good, well located (though if you walk into town suggest you get a cab back, it's under £4.00 for two). Would go back with pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review AdeofWhurch, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex Hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed just the one night, overall the hotel was adaquate for the price.... Good breakfast and the rooms were clean. Beds were very hard though . Could possibly do with a bit of facelift but we all understand times are difficult. The pool area was very tired and could do with some attention. though. Good location for town and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review OrlandoSunseekers, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed at the hotel B/B 12th to 16th October 2014.After reading some reviews we were concerned about what the hotel was going to be like,but,what a lovely surprise when we arrived.Our room was great.Very comfortable,clean & warm.The bathroom could not be faulted.The breakfast was 1st class as were all the staff that we met.If anyone really wanted to pick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Brenda B, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do get quite a few people comment on the negative Tripadvisor reviews, Tripadvisor was created to allow people to leave constructive feedback on their visit, however most will only take the time to leave a review after they have had a negative experience,... More

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 days and everything was fine spacious room clean and comfortable,buffet breakfast was excellent,staff friendly and helpful town centre was some15 to20 minutes walking and there was a bus stop just outside

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Peter T, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

Winchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

After reading some reviews, we went with trepidation, we needn't have worried. The hotel is good with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a huge room with a small hallway and nice bathroom leading off of it. The decor is a little shabby but considering we paid £130 for a two night stay, which included breakfast on both days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review LynTerry, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

Essex, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Stayed a Tuesday & Wednesday night in a Feature Room. Very large room and large bathroom with all we needed - including a fridge. Nicely decorated and clean. Modern bathroom had a full size bath and also a separate shower cubicle with a power shower - all excellent. Room had 2 armchairs and a table. No view from window -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Pompeychucks, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My parents have just come back from a two day stay at the Wessex to celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary. The staff were excellent making sure a card we had sent was given to them on arrival and the room was clean and spacious. They both commented on how good the food was especially the cooked breakfast they also thoroughly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Julie B, Im delighted that your parents enjoyed their stay at the Wessex and that they chose the Wessex to celebrate their anniversary. I hope to welcome them back to the Wessex in the future, maybe they can celebrate their Diamond wedding with us! Regards More

falmouth, cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

A lovely looking hotel with some helpful staff, we stayed for 4 nights. The first night was obviously busy in the hotel as there were 3 coaches in, unfortunately the restuarant staff were not very good, it seemed they did not have set tables, therefore they wandered around with out taking care, for instance, we had on our table a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for yur review Teresawebster10, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a number of rooms with hand rails in the bathrooms and we do advise the coach companies that use us how many of these are available. We try to assist guests with disabilities whenever possible, on check in they are asked if... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay