We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    82
    60
    26
    25
See reviews for
31
112
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel is very dated, and could do with a paint job, but the staff were very helpful, breakfast was top class, leisure facilities were good, nice temperature in the swimming pool, and the rooms were spacious and very clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Awful hotel! Looked ok on arrival and walking in to check in but beyond that and going to our room was disgusting. Wallpaper was hanging off the walls, very worn carpets up the stairs and room service food left for the full 2 days we stayed, in the landing area that takes you to all floors so couldn't miss it!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review LadyBBDD38, I note that your review states that you stayed with us in March but we have had no feedback from you on your stay prior to this review, 4 months after your stay! I'm sorry the hotel nor the food was to your liking, there are many reviews on here that state that the... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just stayed at the Wessex for 2 nights with a special deal. After reading previous reviews we decided to upgrade our room and we were pleased with the room and cleanliness. The meal on the first night was average but the breakfasts were good. We used the pool facilities and enjoyed them although the changing rooms are tired.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review MikeSue376, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To summarise, Wonderful, More info, read on. The hotel is quite large and looks like it needs a good coat of paint. The reception was busy but the two receptionists were efficient and friendly. On top of that patient and explained everything well. As we walked to the room there was a slight damp smell, the room needed a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David H, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at Wessex hotel was very enjoyable and perfect for a two night stay. We were out most of the day but when we were in the hotel we enjoyed the leisure centre indoor and outdoor pool! Staff were quick to respond to requests to do with our room and the rooms overall were of a good standard. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Pete W, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I felt like I was in an edisode of fawlty towers. I asked on checking in for a ground floor room as I noticed the lift was out of order, I was informed by the unhelpful reception staff on duty, that there was another lift so there was not a problem ( they failed to mention the 6 stairs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Phyll A, I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for a ground floor room on arrival, sadly, we only have 9 ground floor rooms that can be accessed without any stairs and these are often requested at the time of booking so it is rare we are able to accommodate requests... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good deal on Amazon. Stayed here 2 nights which included one dinner. Room large. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom with bath and shower and toiletries. All clean. Hotel is worn out but it is perfectly adequate. Indoor and outdoor pool which we didn't use and a small gym. Dinner was very good. Breakfast the usual which wasn't wonderful but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Karenbeanpole, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had 4 rooms, 2 doubles and 2 singles. My husband and I had a large room which was clean and bed comfortable . BUT toilet falling apart..taps hardly worked and no blind at bathroom window. Despite asking at reception no tissues replaced and no toilet roll..we were left with roughly 6 squares on the roll We had a faulty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review Jill W, I'm sorry you did not find the Wessex to your liking, the main lift is currently out of order due to it requiring a new motor coil and this is due to be repaired by next week. Should you wish to stay at the Wessex again in the future, please do not hesitate... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in urgent need of a refurb and some of the staff need to attend a customer care course.my room smelt fusty there was mild in the shower and around the window near my bed . Someone had written clean me in the dust on the table in the main enterance which after our 4 night stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jules-Walsh, I'm sorry you did not find the Wessex to your liking, should you consider using the Wessex again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me beforehand. Regards More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never seen such a flea ridden, hell hole that has claimed to be a hotel. Filthy, thread bare, damp, mould, NO customer service from the rudest receptionists ever! The smell of damp flows around the disorganised layout of rooms. After trekking along several floors of torn carpeted landings, to find your room you are met with dusty, dark and dank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L G, I am sorry that you clearly did not find the Wessex to your liking, we are dealing directly with the agency that made the room bookings for your conference regarding your complaint. I would have to completely disagree with your border line slanderess comments that the hotel is 'a hell hole' or 'flea ridden' or 'filthy', just... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay