We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Wessex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jacqueline O York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    30
    20
    14
See reviews for
12
55
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The en-suite is clean and well-serviced. Facilities include LCD televisions with digital channels, complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea makers. Not greatly impressed with the leisurely area as I noticed a cockroach when shown the Sauna area. I did not return to use it. Staff were pleasant. Breakfast is included in the price and was of decent quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jacqueline O, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the cockroach, people often mistake seeing these as a sign of poor cleanliness, however this is often not the case, there is a common problem with cockroaches on the West cliff in Bournemouth, but in general, we have a fairly low level of activity... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at a very quiet time - few rooms seemed occupied though there were quite a few Christmas functions on. We were upgraded to a premier room. Room was very large: OK cleanliness, bathroom functional rather than luxurious. Breakfast again OK without being anything special. Other reviewers comment that the place is a bit shabby away from the public... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Szymmy, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Im sorry about the smokers outside the hotel, we do provide several ash bins when we have events on but they seem reluctant to walk over to them, I get as frustrated as you with them. Our staff do clean the front steps and empty the ash... More 

Northants, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had a weekend away in this hotel staying in room 353 from Friday 12th December to Sunday 14th December. On arrival we were impressed with the inside of the hotel, reception area and bar area. Our room was adequate for our needs however it seemed quite shabby and old furniture, dirty carpet and the shower was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review MsLCS, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex. Im sorry you had to wait for service at the bar but im sure you can appreciate that this can be the norm in most venues this time of year. We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future and we... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel to relax in the facilities after Christmas shopping. We stayed on Tuesday 9th December, booking through Late Rooms. On arrival we were given Room 340, furthest away on the Eastern corner of the Hotel. Once past the reception, and the restaurant, the rest of the Hotel was very, very shabby and was probably last decorated in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Alec V, Clearly the hotel was not to your liking and for this, I can only apologise. The hotel has suffered from under investment from the previous 3 owners and we hope that moving forward, the new ownership will address this, in the mean time, we do the best we can with what we have,... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through buyagift, on arrival the hotel looked dated and in need of new decor throughout. Marked carpets and flaking paint, wallpaper pealing away from the wall in areas and a poorly layed out bathroom with a loo roll holder that could not be reached from the toilet. We then proceded to the bar area for an evening snack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Adambroadhead1985, Im sorry you did not find the wessex to your liking and in particular, the christmas parties that we were holding. It is to be expected that any medium/large hotel in December will be holding parties, especially on a weekend. But I can only apologise if this was to your dissatisfaction. Regards More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and took our baby. The facilities were good and we used the pool both days: the towels provided for use by the pool need changing as they didn't dry you at all! The restaurant and bar was lovely and we had a great meal. Customer service was excellent and the room was big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sarah H, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have just got back from a weekend at the Wessex. we had a great time .Our room was warm comfortable and clean. All staff we met were friendly,helpful and polite. The Wessex is a three star hotel and as such fits that bill well.We didn't eat at the hotel except for a sharer platter one lunchtime and that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review Jenny6052, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sharing platter (their nice arent they). I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future. Regards More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in October as a couple. We used a bed & breakfast + 1 meal on the first night voucher. The hotel looks tired from the outside but honestly, we stayed here for a relaxing weekend with my husband so it didn't bother us. Check in was quick and Wifi was free, which was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review Emendra, Im delighted you found your stay at the Wessex enjoyable and note all of your comments. I hope that you decide to use the wessex again in the future. Regards More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a conference in Bournemouth. Staff we dealt with at the reception desk were not all very approachable and appeared to be occupied with chatting in the back room of the reception desk. Rooms generally were quite a good size, bathroom attached was fine - some may say needs a touch up but all functional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review hd44, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We booked the hotel with a gift voucher we had for 2 nights stay, we chose this hotel due to its location in Bournemouth. Its on a road thats surrounded by other hotels, this hotel is a bit dated looking, but dont let that put you off. The check in was seamless, we handed over our voucher and they gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Geo614142, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay