We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    90
    69
    28
    28
See reviews for
32
131
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Makati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Despite the Wessex being a bit tired with the exterior look definitely in need of some TLC, our 3 night stay went without a hitch. Our standard double room on the 4th floor was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice of options both cooked and/or continental. The hotel's amenities included a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a really lovely stay at this hotel, we had a room on the ground floor which was massive with a lovely feature fireplace. The bathroom had a bath and walk in shower with really nice complimentary toiletries. Even though the breakfast was self service it was good. On our first night we had an evening meal which was lovely.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Joan L, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

London, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights with breakfast and an evening meal. Reception were polite and efficient apart from getting our very small drinks bill wrong on departure explaining that the machines were not working properly but glad we checked! Our room on the first floor was old fashioned and shabby but with high ceilings and quite spacious. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ilovetotravel21, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good staff, free parking, good location. We had an Amazon local deal, that included breakfast which provided a wide choice of hot or cold food and an evening meal that was reasonable. Overall our stay was excellent the leisure facilities are a welcome addition. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the room huge. Our only real complaint if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Denise8282, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex. Apologies about the tape on the carpet, this is there to avoid causing a trip hazard. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. We did stay at the hotel some time ago when it was part of the Forestdale group so we were expecting the same quality and service that we have received before, big mistake. We checked in and went to our room, the room was beyond shabby with wallpaper hanging off and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review unknown user, I am sorry you did not find the Wessex to your liking and apologise that the hotel holds functions and events although I would point out that we advise of this online. More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The majority of the hotel guests were pensioners and with me being 27 I was a bit worried about what sort of hotel I had booked into. However the staff were all so attentive, helpful and happy. I was really impressed with the two swimming pools (indoor and out), steam room, sauna, gym and free wi-fii- all included in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rachael T, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Took mother away for a short break went with her to help with partner as mother is not fully able bodied. Chair lift at front not working on arrival also for the entire day painting and decorating equipment left on the entrance stairs. The hotel is at least 50%old very tired in places with quite a few defects loike second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review pepsiboy, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex. Apologies for the lift breakdown, its unfortunate that it has happened over the peak season but it was unavoidable, we are now waiting for the new motor and gear box to arrive so that it can be installed. I am shocked that you... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel with another couple for a four night 'Great Little Breaks' B&B + evening meals. The decent sized room was basic and a bit tired looking, but clean and with comfortable bed, colour TV, bath with shower, tea/coffee making facilities. Smart reception with adjacent lounge and bar area serving a good selection of snacks/light meals. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review philandval2015, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Bournemouth for one night and chose The Wessex Hotel..and what a good choice. Friendly staff and clean rooms. We went out for a meal and afer had a relaxing drink in the bar, which was hosted by 2 very helpful chaps. Excellent breakfast ..would definatly stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Andrewgrafton, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

Risborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute switch to The Wessex as a booking we made at another hotel was cancelled as they had an issue. However, we were more than happy with room, service and food. One word of caution, the function room was virtually under our room and the live band was playing until 12.40 Sunday morning. We tried to contact the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management1, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Williams D, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#31 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#32 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay