We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Wessex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
44%
Ranked #49 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Purple C Newport, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (30)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
9
25
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Arrived on Wednesday 27 Sept; dark-haired receptionist miserable; a contrast to the helpful and friendly young lady on-duty Friday 29 Sept. Public areas in and around Reception pleasant with comfortable seating - shame they leave main doors open whilst guests stand on steps smoking - smoke drifting into the building. Bar Manager refused to serve my husband a half-pint of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Only in Bournemouth for one night. We were initially put off, and to be frank, offended by mature female receptionist (straight black hair tied back)behind the reception desk moaning loudly about "foreigners travelling in groups" to another female member of staff, as we were being served by a very helpful young male male receptionist. We could not believe our ears!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having read some of the reviews we were a bit nervous at booking this hotel, but having left it a bit late to book a room for the airshow we had little alternative. However when we turned up, although the outside of the hotel looked in need of attention, the reception and bar area were both bright and welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Have to say we ate in the restaurant all the time because the food was excellent! The staff were attentive & helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Yes, the hotel needs renovating but this can't be done overnight. Our room was fine and the bed & pillows were new and so comfortable. Thank you - we would book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jan C, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your positive comments to the chef and his staff. I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked last minute to see Bournemouth air show. I now understand why this was the last hotel with a spare room! The hotel decor is extremely dated, the room was more like a broom cupboard and the bathroom was dreadful. The sink was cracked and the wall looked like there was damp. The room was like a furnace and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Carole R, Im sorry that the hotel was not to your liking, I would appreciate it if you could contact us and advise which room it was that you stayed in so we can look at correcting these issues. Regards More

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just finished a three day break at the Wessex. I never give poor reviews (lots of other people seem tto relish doing so, and anyone can have an off day) and won't be doing so this time. The hotel really is fine. It does need updating - and its difficult to see how that can be done to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review PhilosopherLondon, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Please also except my apologies for the delay you had in the Restaurant. Regards More

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A great location and ok for a short stay. We needed a room at short notice during the August peak season and The Wessex delivered. We had a few glitches which a very responsive management team sorted out quickly and without any fuss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sennokian, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in the Wessex Hotel on Saturday 23rd August 2014 in room 259 on the first floor. Firstly yes the rooms need updating, the furniture is dated and needs renewing BUT I could not fault the cleanliness of the room or the comfort of the bed. Tiny bugbear with the sheets not being ironed but were fresh and clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ashleigh_White26, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the hotel this bank holiday had a lovely stay. have been useing this hotel for the last few years. We are please to see it is under new management, and lots of renovation work is now being done. I have previously used the masseuse when we stayed last time but this time we used their beauty room. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jaxx H, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for the Aug bank holiday just gone and enjoyed our stay. The location is superb with only minutes walk to the beach or town center, bars, pubs and restaurants on the door step. Plenty of free parking with an Italian restaurant on the same site. A snooker table is available with both indoor and outdoor swimming pools... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review KevinAmiss74, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
109

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wessex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer