We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    30
    20
    14
See reviews for
13
57
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stated 1 night.super large room.bar food good.breakfast very good.staff all friendly and helpful.the bar area is decent sized .good sized hotel.central location for those wanting the beach and the town

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Peter M, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was recently taken over and is doing much better. The bedding has been upgraded and they appear to be redoing a lot of the rooms. We stayed over and had breakfast. The wifi works which is wonderful. There is a lot of faded glory for this hotel owner to get over and it isn't completed yet but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Marianna M, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are slowly making progress but we are aware we still have a long way to go. I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

Bromsgrove
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

had a lovely 2 night stay between Christmas and New year. Great break and chose the hotel so we could take our dogs. Staff very helpful and friendly, room large and very clean. Had drinks in the bar and well looked after, only complaint was they ran out of pizza. Lovely location close to beach and town. Would stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Joan L, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apologies that we ran out of pizza. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The en-suite is clean and well-serviced. Facilities include LCD televisions with digital channels, complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea makers. Not greatly impressed with the leisurely area as I noticed a cockroach when shown the Sauna area. I did not return to use it. Staff were pleasant. Breakfast is included in the price and was of decent quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jacqueline O, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the cockroach, people often mistake seeing these as a sign of poor cleanliness, however this is often not the case, there is a common problem with cockroaches on the West cliff in Bournemouth, but in general, we have a fairly low level of activity... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed at a very quiet time - few rooms seemed occupied though there were quite a few Christmas functions on. We were upgraded to a premier room. Room was very large: OK cleanliness, bathroom functional rather than luxurious. Breakfast again OK without being anything special. Other reviewers comment that the place is a bit shabby away from the public... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Szymmy, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Im sorry about the smokers outside the hotel, we do provide several ash bins when we have events on but they seem reluctant to walk over to them, I get as frustrated as you with them. Our staff do clean the front steps and empty the ash... More 

Northants, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We have just had a weekend away in this hotel staying in room 353 from Friday 12th December to Sunday 14th December. On arrival we were impressed with the inside of the hotel, reception area and bar area. Our room was adequate for our needs however it seemed quite shabby and old furniture, dirty carpet and the shower was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review MsLCS, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex. Im sorry you had to wait for service at the bar but im sure you can appreciate that this can be the norm in most venues this time of year. We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future and we... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We booked this hotel to relax in the facilities after Christmas shopping. We stayed on Tuesday 9th December, booking through Late Rooms. On arrival we were given Room 340, furthest away on the Eastern corner of the Hotel. Once past the reception, and the restaurant, the rest of the Hotel was very, very shabby and was probably last decorated in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Alec V, Clearly the hotel was not to your liking and for this, I can only apologise. The hotel has suffered from under investment from the previous 3 owners and we hope that moving forward, the new ownership will address this, in the mean time, we do the best we can with what we have,... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked through buyagift, on arrival the hotel looked dated and in need of new decor throughout. Marked carpets and flaking paint, wallpaper pealing away from the wall in areas and a poorly layed out bathroom with a loo roll holder that could not be reached from the toilet. We then proceded to the bar area for an evening snack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Adambroadhead1985, Im sorry you did not find the wessex to your liking and in particular, the christmas parties that we were holding. It is to be expected that any medium/large hotel in December will be holding parties, especially on a weekend. But I can only apologise if this was to your dissatisfaction. Regards More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and took our baby. The facilities were good and we used the pool both days: the towels provided for use by the pool need changing as they didn't dry you at all! The restaurant and bar was lovely and we had a great meal. Customer service was excellent and the room was big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sarah H, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards More 

Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We have just got back from a weekend at the Wessex. we had a great time .Our room was warm comfortable and clean. All staff we met were friendly,helpful and polite. The Wessex is a three star hotel and as such fits that bill well.We didn't eat at the hotel except for a sharer platter one lunchtime and that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review Jenny6052, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sharing platter (their nice arent they). I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay