We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    30
    80
    58
    26
    23
See reviews for
30
110
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had 4 rooms, 2 doubles and 2 singles. My husband and I had a large room which was clean and bed comfortable . BUT toilet falling apart..taps hardly worked and no blind at bathroom window. Despite asking at reception no tissues replaced and no toilet roll..we were left with roughly 6 squares on the roll We had a faulty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review Jill W, I'm sorry you did not find the Wessex to your liking, the main lift is currently out of order due to it requiring a new motor coil and this is due to be repaired by next week. Should you wish to stay at the Wessex again in the future, please do not hesitate... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in urgent need of a refurb and some of the staff need to attend a customer care course.my room smelt fusty there was mild in the shower and around the window near my bed . Someone had written clean me in the dust on the table in the main enterance which after our 4 night stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jules-Walsh, I'm sorry you did not find the Wessex to your liking, should you consider using the Wessex again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me beforehand. Regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Never seen such a flea ridden, hell hole that has claimed to be a hotel. Filthy, thread bare, damp, mould, NO customer service from the rudest receptionists ever! The smell of damp flows around the disorganised layout of rooms. After trekking along several floors of torn carpeted landings, to find your room you are met with dusty, dark and dank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grays Essex England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I have just returned from a 2 nights special deal to this hotel. Our twin room was spotless, with good beds and pillows, tea making tray,& en suite bathroom with free toiletries. Free wifi. Dinner on the 1st night was included and staff, food choice and quality were all excellent. So much so we returned the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akelacookie, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Wessex, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you go in the reception of this hotel it seems fine but that's about it. Only one lift on one side of the hotel, dirty, tired, dreadful plumbing, one day I couldn't switch the bath tap (which works the shower) off then after being reported and supposedly fixed, it wouldn't switch on so I had to have a cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jayne G, I'm sorry that you did not find the Wessex to your liking, we do not hide the fact that the building is tired, we are working on this and in the mean time, most guests agree that the hotel is priced correctly when considering the overall offering for our price which includes free... More 

Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a short stay in Bournemouth not having visited before. Yes the hotel is dated but for the price it is OK. The pluses are the free parking, very near to the front with nice walks, and the food is fine particularly the breakfasts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nasp, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Wessex, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entrance fools you into thinking this hotel is good. Plus points, my room was large and the bed was very comfortable; the breakfast buffet was varied. Minus points, there was no air coming in from either window due to the positioning and i had to close the curtains anyway as those guests in rooms around the corner could see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Whitedee, I am sorry that you did not find the Wessex to your liking, I have passed your comments regarding the milk and bread onto my Restaurant manager and chef. Regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by a long way not the worst hotel in Bournemouth ... It is however living on its past reputation . You can tell that this was once a well invested in hotel , whilst the room is clean and tidy the decor is very dated and tired. The floor plan is mis-leading .... and I would strongly advise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Matthew H, I think its a fair assessment that some areas of the hotel are tired but I would have to disagree that the hotel is living on its past reputation, had you stayed at the hotel 18 months ago, you would agree with this assessment, sadly, the hotel has have several different owners/operators over... More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 1 night in June on a business trip, and I have to say it's OK. Yes it's dated and could do with a lot of work but the room I had was spacious it could have been cleaned better but it wasn't dirty just a bit dusty! Breakfast was great a buffet. Staff all very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mark B, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Wessex, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future. Regards More 

wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for two nights in June On first impression the building looks tired But on a plus note there's plenty of free parking And All the staff are really friendly The breakfast is help yourself buffet But not the nicest

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review mtx7x, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel despite it being tired in areas, the hotel has sadly gone through a number of owners over the last half decade, we are now with Bespoke hotels and have begun working on the tired areas of the building, I hope that you will visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay