We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Hotel amenities
Wessex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
suzyelkins Oxford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    18
    17
    13
See reviews for
10
37
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and partner arrived on the 25th and left on the 27th, we did not have any meals at the hotel during that time. We were on a "voucher" - not mentioning which one but I have to say I was not impressed in terms of value for money and I will be writing another review direct to them shortly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't read reviews before I booked it because I thought for the price, it would be fine. I have to say, I don't think I have ever stayed in a place like this before. When we arrived, we could see the outside was a bit run down, then the reception was quite nice, so things were looking up. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst we had a good stay, the hotel is really in need of renovation! The staff were all nice and friendly and the position of the hotel is great. Breakfast was ok, however we were seated in a dungeon like room with the filthiest carpet I have ever seen(it would not cost that much to clean or replace it!) first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

In response, I do accept your comments as constructive and wish that we could have met your expectations. Best Wishes, Richard More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fawlty Towers springs to mind. We stayed here for one night only (thankfully). The hotel is so tired and shabby looking. The décor is so outdated. Our room had several marks / scuffs on the wallpaper. The shower had a constant drip all night as it couldn't be turned off properly. The bed was rock solid and uncomfortable (appreciate though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Modern_13 I am sorry you were so disappointed by the Hotel and the buffet breakfast, we do not put out the meat and cheese on the buffet but have a sign advising of this. We are aware that the Hotel is overdue for refurbishment in parts and are in a process of constant improvement. Best Wishes, Richard More

Darlington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It may be that we were given the worst room in the hotel - if so then why because the hotel seemed far from full given the empty spaces in the car park. It is a huge, rather ugly, I guess late 19th or early 20th century pile. The public areas seem to be fine (although to be frank we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review robthedoc, I'm sorry that you didn't find the Wessex to your liking, the hotel has suffered from under-investment for many years under the previous ownership but we hope to correct this in the future. The nights that you stayed, the hotel was in fact full, the reason the car park was fairly empty was that... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Wessex on the weekend of 12 to 14 September 14 as a member of the Rock n Roll party (Begbrook Rock and Roll Club). Our room was at the front on the ground floor (142), we did not find the noise levels as described by other reviewers (except when the Canadian Lancaster flew past on Saturday afternoon),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jiveman, Thank you for your review of the Wessex, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Bournemouth with your Dance group or independently. Best wishes, Richard More

england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you read through the reviews of this hotel before you book, it is fairly clear that this hotel is a little dated and in need of refurbishment. We booked a 3 night stay for this week on that understanding, and I have to say that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EnglandMikeb, Thank you for your extensive and in my view very fair assessment of the Wessex Hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable break and we look forward to welcoming you back, Best Wishes, Richard More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned after spending 3 nights at this hotel. The decor is very tired. The whole place needs a lot of money to be spent on it - threadbare carpets, dirty headboard, un-ironed bedding and tablecloths. Shower which was either scalding or freezing. Breakfast menu showed cheese and meats but were not available. Staff were friendly. Location good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine J, I am sorry that you found the Hotel tired and in need of attention. We have been tackling problems inherited from the previous owner and whilst this process continues have adjusted the rates charged to reflect the fact that the Hotel has not been recently re-furbished. We do not display meats and cheese on our breakfast buffet... More

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night midweek and had a premier room which was excellent, large, comfortable and with a splendid bathroom that had both a bath and a walk in shower. Had to close the windows at night due to noise from and adjacent hotel. Breakfast was adequate with a good range of cooked items and limited cereals, just white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have noted your comments regarding the choice at breakfast and will review this with the team. I am glad that you liked the room and am of course disappointed that the night was spoilt by noise from a neighbour. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best Wishes Richard More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had a two day stay here bought for us as a Christmas gift {They are no longer on our list} after arriving and having to wait to check in while the receptionist was on the phone and the other person did not seen to want to get off his butt in the office we were allocated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ammo321, Im sorry that you did not find the Wessex to your liking. St James hotels took over the hotel in March this year and are aware of the tired decor within the building. We currently use our own linen but negotiations are in place to replace the hotel linen stock and im sorry you... More

Do you own or manage Wessex Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Wessex Hotel