We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

3.0 of 5 West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
12
50
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights for a conference in Bournemouth. Staff we dealt with at the reception desk were not all very approachable and appeared to be occupied with chatting in the back room of the reception desk. Rooms generally were quite a good size, bathroom attached was fine - some may say needs a touch up but all functional.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the hotel with a gift voucher we had for 2 nights stay, we chose this hotel due to its location in Bournemouth. Its on a road thats surrounded by other hotels, this hotel is a bit dated looking, but dont let that put you off. The check in was seamless, we handed over our voucher and they gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Geo614142, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards More

Birmingham, England, United-Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking forward to spending two nights in the hotel where I worked 20 years ago. I was quite surprised to see nothing had changed! The whole place needs complete refurbishment but the worst area must be the leisure club. The changing rooms seemed to have been untouched for years. I felt sorry for the friendly and helpful members... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Christelle M, Im sorry that the hotel was not to your liking however I appreciate your feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On getting into room found the toilet seat on the floor. To be fair within seconds a guy came and fitted a new one. Most areas are in bad need of refurbishment. Lots of water marks on walls. Having said that. It's ideal for a short budget break if your going to the BIC Food was good and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review mickspur, Thank you for taking the time to leave the hotel feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our last night at the Wessex. Stayed for 2 nights with my family on a half term break. The hotel is tired but it's a lovely old building and has lots of potential. Some soft furnishings need replacing but it's clean and I must say I've stayed in a lot worse! Staff are polite and friendly. Breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Linzbaggie, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex Hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed with friends for 2 nights last weekend, the reception area and bar looked to have been updated so we thought after all the bad reviews the hotel might be improved. Our room was 354 it was very shabby. The chair had thread bare arms and must have been in that room many years. Both bed heads were stained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review DecerningLondon, Im sorry that the hotel was not to your liking however I appreciate your feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

Corby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a two night break at this hotel which we viewed with trepidation after reading reviews prior to our visit. What a pleasant surprise we had on our arrival on Sunday afternoon - the receptionist was great with a very good sense of humour, our room 147, was spacious as was the en suite and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review VALANcorby, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex Hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a ballroom dancing weekend and whilst some things about the hotel were fine others were disappointing. Reception was efficient and friendly which was a good start. Free wifi was also a plus point. We were in room 351 (which confusingly is on the 2nd floor) so we needed to take the lift. This was very small for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Linda D, I appreciate your feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

Cheshunt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff where friendly and helpful, But the hotel really does need a face lift bedrooms especially. Bed was awful , the room was leaning to left of building. It was cleanish, carpet really needs coming up and throwing, sheets well they really have seen there day and pillows

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mark W, Im sorry that the hotel was not to your liking however I appreciate your feedback, I hope that you would consider giving the hotel another try. Regards More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We read some unfavourable reviews before we stayed at the Wessex but found them to be untrue of our experience. We had a large, clean family room which was very nicely decorated and with an enormous bathroom with a separate shower and bath. The swimming pool water was a gorgeous warm temperature. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. We paid a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review NinaPanda, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex Hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay