We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
The Ashleigh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ashleigh to your Saves list
Ranked #89 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010
turnberrypro Bucks
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    15
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
48
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Ashleigh
See the most recent reviews
bprice
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

i stayed here in mid april, in room number 11 this was one of the more expensive rooms, i personally thought the bathroom was very small and worn, paint missing from the ceiling and pub toilet style ventilation in the window the room itself was ok bed was resonably comfortable, although it was 2 single beds put together. hardly the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kerandire, owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Well all I can say is look at the other reviews and make up your own mind. Did not mention the lovely gardens a 100 yards away or the sea less than half a mile away. Area is a non drink zone so do not know about drinking in the street. As for the breakfast comments , I could not... More

Bucks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Another great stay. Room really nice and spacious. Well decorated. Clean and smartly prepared. Breakfasts very good. Friendly staff. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
south west
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Hotel is clean, however that would be expected as it is under going a period of refurbishment. That to me sums it up...the cracks have been papered over!! The heating is in need of an upgrade. The room we stayed in had 2 external walls and it was cold, the bathroom was even colder and only had a very in-adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

It is always upsetting when guests do not enjoy their stay, but I feel it is only fair to respond to comments which I feel are not fair. Radiators in the rooms have a control to turn heating up and down; we find that if a guest is cold it is because the previous guest has been to hot and... More

Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

A definate MUST-STAY. We decided to pay a little extra and stay in the Superior room, I was so shocked to see how BEAUTIFUL the design and decor was of the room, so homely but yet so contemporary! P.S the TV was HUUUGE! Looked around 47-50"! Also an added bonus of being able to bring along your DVDs and play... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

If we ever visit bournemouth again,this is the place we will stay,its a beautiful place,very clean,everything there for you,and if there is anything you need,the friendly staff are more than happy to help. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis,the food was lovely,and plentiful,and the service was fantastic.all members of staff were both polite and courteous,and clearly their guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

The room was clean and value for money but we found the staff unfriendly and a little unhelpful. The location is okay but not central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

stayed here with my girlfriend and my dog,they were ok for me to leave him in the room whilst we went out for the night,helpful staff,clean hotel,parking out front and food was ok. i will stay here again as long as my dog can stay too. it is a bit of a walk to the town but you'd pay more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shropshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

First time visit to Bournemouth, little disappointed with the area of the hotel, seems to be in the location where there are a lot of students. Also location very close to main dual carriageway into Bournemouth, quite noisy during the weekdays, but quieter at the weekend. The room itself was lovely, clean and tidy. Flat screen TV in our room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

I am sorry that you was disappointed with the area, but this is one thing I can do nothing about, I would like to clarify a couple of points for anyone reading the review that the main dual carriageway is half a mile away as is the cliff top I have heard the waves breaking on the shore at night... More

England
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I did not actually visit this hotel, but booked a 3 night stay which due to family illness I had to cancel 4 weeks prior to our booked dates. I contacted the hotel to cancel our booking and the lady I spoke said I would be charged 55% of the booking fee, which would only be refunded if they managed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

This review is a little unfair, the booking was not via the Ashleigh Hotel but an online booking agent, and many of these online booking agents have a "no refund" policy which is clearly marked when guests use this service. Unfortunately guests then call the hotel and expect us to refund an online booking payment. This at times seems to... More

Cheslyn Hay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We arrived in Bournemouth fairly late on Tuesday evening after a long day sightseeing to a warm welcome.We hadn't booked but were greeted by the owners daughter and son in law as if we had. We were shown to a clean and smart "family room for all four of us which suited us fine as we were only staying one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ashleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashleigh

Address: 6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ashleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay