We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ashleigh

6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
The Ashleigh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #91 of 153 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015
smurf199
Share an Experience

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    16
    6
    12
See reviews for
19
49
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Me and my partner stayed this weekend was only for one night. Lovely welcome from the lady owner. Room was a nice size. Breakfast in the morning was nice. Got front door key to come In and out when you liked. Will be going back again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do this, we try to offer a good product and hope people enjoy their stay fail sometimes but not often. See you soon More 

Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The Good: Decent price. Nice bright room. WiFi worked well. They did let us check in early. Tea/coffee making equipment. Hair dryer. Iron and ironing board. Walking distance to train station. The Bad: Narrowest twin beds we've ever slept on and you could feel the springs. No late check-out allowed, but we were allowed to leave our bags in their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You did contact us asking for twin beds as your bed at home was 6ft 6in and you found UK beds too small, some of our doubles are 6ft so we emailed you and still you wanted twin beds, I am sorry but a single is a single I do... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Booked this "Hotel" last minute and stayed one night. On arrival after a 4.5 hour journey we were met by the rude male owner ,who stated that they were not taking bookings over Christmas and that the site I booked it through should not have booked us in. I had upgraded to a superior room on the phone and he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Let's fill the blanks shall we, the hotel was shut over Xmas and by mistake a company let you book a room. To avoid letting you down we did not cancel. You booked a deluxe room then cancelled for a cheaper room then called to change again and agreed cash on arrival as we had no payment details. We asked... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice weekend stay in the Ashleigh hotel. Had a superior room which was clean and welcoming. Nice up to date bathroom, only down point was the shower it's self was broken because the shower head kept sliding down so had to hold it in the end. Other than that a nice hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I've stayed in February 2014 and their treatment was very kind and flexible. When I arrived before check-in time I intented to just keep my luggedge but she said that the room was prepared so I could use it. And I forgot to bring my glasses and asked to mail to me, that was international mail, the glasses were carefully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed at the Ashleigh for two nights, with breakfast included. Good food, nice staff and lovely room, nice and modern. We had ground floor room with en-suite and access to the garden. Very quiet. Not far from beach and town. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in Bournemouth for a weekend to visit friends, and stayed in the Ashleigh for two nights. If tripadvisor would let me, I probably would have awarded a 3.5, but decided to round up! It was perfect for what we needed, in that it was very good value, clean and comfortable. There has clearly been some recent care and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the Ashleigh Fri and sat night weekend just gone and it was perfect for what we needed. Had booked the room before I new I was having a hip operation and when we arrived I was expecting stairs. The owners offered us a ground floor room as she could swap us if needed. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this, we try to help if we can and trust we will see you again More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at The Ashleigh with my partner for 2 nights between 25 - 27th July, having booked it through Hotels.Com. We arrived at approx 4.30pm and warmly greeted by one of the owners. We were informed how to get in to town (literally a 10 minute walk away) and also if we needed anything to just let them know.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do this, we will try to help if we can as it is better to get a good review and a returning customer rather than a bad review and a non returning customer. But at times ! I am sure you know what we mean, hope to see you again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked The Lodge next door (same owners and slightly cheaper price than the Ashleigh) but upon arrival I was unexpectedly upgraded to The Ashleigh as they had a room available. Very friendly staff who like a bit of banter (that's a plus in my eyes). The room was nicely decorated and very clean plus I had a superb nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the stay, if I have a room available I will upgrade guests depending on circumstances. You should have asked about the beach it is just behind us less than 1/2 a mile, if I knew which taxi firm I would be straight on the phone. Trust you will be back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question