We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge

4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    19
    6
    1
    15
See reviews for
5
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a short stay at The Lodge and I was quite impressed. The place was clean and the room had everything we needed. Our beds were a bit creaky and the parking is a nightmare but if your looking for somewhere to stay reasonably priced and not expecting a 5 star hotel then I'd definitely recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this, yes we are great value and pride ourselves on this and that the premises is clean. We detail exactly what we offer and everyone who reads this is more than pleased, sometimes we have disgruntled guests we are expecting something totally different purely and simply as they did not read the description, this is not... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for two nights and ended up only staying one the room stank and felt dirty ,there were pubic hairs in the bathroom and stains on the beds .We had lads outside smoking drugs and banging on our window and being with children just felt unsafe.Also not liking the door locks over all would never stay here again in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

tripadvisor is for genuine guests posting genuine reviews Blatant lies breaches tripadvisors terms and conditions Please remove More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

As group organiser I was nervous - we had 17 of us booked in for 2 nights and didn't know what to expect. The place was great - clean, tidy, tea/coffee and so close to town. We all had a great time! The owner was friendly but at the same time left us too it. Works both ways - respect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, we try to make sure you do. Thanks for leaving the review More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Myself and 6 others stayed here over the weekend for our friends birthday. We wanted to have a fun night out in Bournemouth and for any girl, the best part is getting ready and pre-drinking together - The Lodge was perfect for this because we were all in a giant 11 bed room which had 2 bathrooms in (each with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

We try to ensure that groups have a good time and 99.9% do so we are happy about that. Thank you for taking the time to leave the review. More 

UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Not the Ritz that's for sure. Not even a Travelodge. But then it isn't pretending to be. Read the website, read the tripadvisor reviews judiciously, and be prepared for it being accommodation aimed at single sex groups on stag and hen weekends. Is it clean? Yes. Bedding clean, carpet hoovered, shower tired but also clean. There was a fairly stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave this, the Lodge is built for the groups and does the job well, but also midweek is great as cheap accommodation for large families as we do not mix groups and families. yes the speech is a chore for some, but with large groups everyone needs to know the limits and it works,... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We had a need to find accommodation for a Stag Party of 10 at fairly short notice, we wanted somewhere fairly close to the night life, and a reasonable price. After a while searching and reading some horrendous reviews of other hotels on TripAdvisor we discovered The Lodge. The Ritz it is not, but it doesn't claim to be. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Yes the Lodge is accurately described on or site, we are up front and honest about the purpose of the building and the job it was built for works well, sometimes we have problems with guests who do not read the description and are expecting double beds and a restaurant they are disappointed but what more could we do? .... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

The place is easy to get to with off road parking and the owner is fantastic!!! We had a large group for a stag do! We were never bothered and we had a hassle free brilliant time. The rooms have everything you need and are fantastic value for money. A big thanks to Ray the owner for having us!!! Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Yes the building is built to a purpose and does the job well, after nearly 30 years we have some idea of how to let the groups have a good time, and hope we see you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Recently stayed here for a hen weekend of 6 and it was perfect, offering more than what we were expecting! Room was comfortable and clean with the added bonus of clean towels everyday! The owner was very welcoming and gave an entertaining yet informative welcome talk, he also printed off tickets for one of our events! The cleaner on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

You had a great time and thank you for taking the time to leave a review hope to see you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Stayed here in February for a hen weekend, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting a great deal. But the room was clean, tidy and had plenty of space, which for 6 girls was a bonus, with free wifi and parking included. We had the best time EVER! Had a warm welcome, and after a helpful chat about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, most do and we see many back here again, so can't be all bad. See you soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#91 of 147 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#15 of 147 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#71 of 147 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boscombe Reef Hotel
Boscombe Reef Hotel
#111 of 147 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#65 of 147 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#29 of 147 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay