We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
The Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodge to your Saves list
56%
Ranked #109 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
pdambrosi
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    1
    13
See reviews for
2
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value for money, ideal for a stag or hens night in Bournemouth. After the briefing from management they pretty much leave you alone to enjoy your weekend & all Bournemouth has to offer. Short walk to everything & train station. Definitely would bòok again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mixed reviews online which is a shame for the owner... but for us looking at a messy weekend in bournemouth and only needing basic amenities such as showers, toilet and a clean bed it was perfect would stay again... its not 5 star but your not paying for 5 star... its clean, located well and did just the job we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to do this, We are always up front and honest about the Lodge it is built to do a job and it does it very well, not a 5star but clean with added bonus of the free wifi,parking,tea,coffe, etc Great value as you said, glad you had a good time see you again More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

me and my partner stayed here last weekend and were not happy with the room as blind was broken, wardrobe door nearly came off in hand and glass broken, and sharing toilet/shower room with 3 other rooms was bit inconvenient and unhygienic. we paid for breakfast as not included but do not think it was worth the money we paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well we were waiting for this one, let's start at the beginning you booked a building which does not offer breakfast, you then called 6 times after you booked online to complain that there was no breakfast, you then complained so much the agent you used offered to pay for breakfast, even when it was your fault. You then arrived... More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I found this hotel last minute online for 9 people. The owner was nice enough to only ask for 50% upfront even though it was late booking. It had all the basic needs and a few more. Two bathrooms with hot showers and two tellys as well. I cannot believe he only charged what he did! Do not expect any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, we try to be fair and upfront and honest at all times with guests and it works, the weekend you stayed half of the guests had been before, at times the line is crossed and I act, thats when we get the bad review, but I will live with that, as after 30 years... More

Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a stag do the hotel is very safe and clean its ideal for stags or hens week end . We were made welcome and the rules explained to us the it was up to us then and left us alone . It's ideal location at top end of town for the clubs and railway station .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time, we do not pretend to be anything we are not, we want you to have a great time but also not to upset the neighbours hence the do's and dont's pubs and clubs speal But after that it's down to you just to enjoy yourselves. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed in the Lodge which is next door to the main hotel. The Lodge itself has several bedrooms, ours had 6 beds in and had a hostel feel to it. The building is very dated and the rooms could really do with redecorating and the beds were very poor quality. We paid £80 each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

I love responding to this type of review, let's start at the beginning the Lodge is not a hotel it is a building for groups only, and you were not good guests so much so I placed pictures on the Facebook site showing how your two cars blocked the whole car park for every other guest, you managed to take... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night at this hotel and it made us as a family of 5 feel very uncomfortable. The room we had was room 2 on the ground floor and firstly, the room layout was wrong. The children had a large tv in tier room and two bunk beds=4 beds, leaving small space and blocking out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well I am sorry that the room layout was not to your taste but of course this is not a hotel, it is a building for groups that families can rent mid week at an attractive rate in your case £13.80 inclusive per person. To have a room split into two I feel is a bonus and on departure no... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Organised a stag and this place was recommended, it was perfect for us, ideal location, nice easy going staff, clean basic room perfect for any hen or stag, would recommend again. The staff communication before the trip was great, very pleasant and upon arrival the gentleman who provided the talk for the rules and regs was very good firm but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time yes it is as we tell it no more no less and most groups have a great time, I have to step in on odd occasions but it is rare, but for sure I then get a bad review, I will live with that as most groups return so must be doing some thing... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and its excellent value for money. We go back as we know what to expect and are never dissapointed. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. The owners are friendly and once your checked in leave you to it. There's parking on site which is useful, not to far to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do this, we feel we offer great value to the groups and try very hard to let you have a good time. The Lodge is what it is, no more no less, in fact we get more trouble from families who do not read the description and think it is a 5* Hotel.... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I organsied a stag for 17 a few weeks ago. We found it to be all as expected and ideal for our needs. All the planning was helpful and they offered to tailor the weekend to whatever we wanted (we did make a few changes along the way which they were fine with). The briefing on arrival was top-notch entertainment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, the Lodge is built for groups and as long as groups do not upset the neighbours I leave them alone to have a good time and we try hard to see it that it all goes well. Groups tend not to leave reviews (unless they have an axe to grind if I had to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage The Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bournemouth

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay