We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge

4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
The Lodge
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #102 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
HA_DAN Exeter, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    17
    6
    1
    15
See reviews for
3
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for two nights and ended up only staying one the room stank and felt dirty ,there were pubic hairs in the bathroom and stains on the beds .We had lads outside smoking drugs and banging on our window and being with children just felt unsafe.Also not liking the door locks over all would never stay here again in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As group organiser I was nervous - we had 17 of us booked in for 2 nights and didn't know what to expect. The place was great - clean, tidy, tea/coffee and so close to town. We all had a great time! The owner was friendly but at the same time left us too it. Works both ways - respect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Myself and 6 others stayed here over the weekend for our friends birthday. We wanted to have a fun night out in Bournemouth and for any girl, the best part is getting ready and pre-drinking together - The Lodge was perfect for this because we were all in a giant 11 bed room which had 2 bathrooms in (each with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Not the Ritz that's for sure. Not even a Travelodge. But then it isn't pretending to be. Read the website, read the tripadvisor reviews judiciously, and be prepared for it being accommodation aimed at single sex groups on stag and hen weekends. Is it clean? Yes. Bedding clean, carpet hoovered, shower tired but also clean. There was a fairly stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave this, the Lodge is built for the groups and does the job well, but also midweek is great as cheap accommodation for large families as we do not mix groups and families. yes the speech is a chore for some, but with large groups everyone needs to know the limits and it works,... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We had a need to find accommodation for a Stag Party of 10 at fairly short notice, we wanted somewhere fairly close to the night life, and a reasonable price. After a while searching and reading some horrendous reviews of other hotels on TripAdvisor we discovered The Lodge. The Ritz it is not, but it doesn't claim to be. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Yes the Lodge is accurately described on or site, we are up front and honest about the purpose of the building and the job it was built for works well, sometimes we have problems with guests who do not read the description and are expecting double beds and a restaurant they are disappointed but what more could we do? .... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

The place is easy to get to with off road parking and the owner is fantastic!!! We had a large group for a stag do! We were never bothered and we had a hassle free brilliant time. The rooms have everything you need and are fantastic value for money. A big thanks to Ray the owner for having us!!! Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Yes the building is built to a purpose and does the job well, after nearly 30 years we have some idea of how to let the groups have a good time, and hope we see you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Recently stayed here for a hen weekend of 6 and it was perfect, offering more than what we were expecting! Room was comfortable and clean with the added bonus of clean towels everyday! The owner was very welcoming and gave an entertaining yet informative welcome talk, he also printed off tickets for one of our events! The cleaner on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

You had a great time and thank you for taking the time to leave a review hope to see you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Stayed here in February for a hen weekend, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting a great deal. But the room was clean, tidy and had plenty of space, which for 6 girls was a bonus, with free wifi and parking included. We had the best time EVER! Had a warm welcome, and after a helpful chat about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, most do and we see many back here again, so can't be all bad. See you soon More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Me and my partner booked this last minute as our family were spending new year in Bournemouth and we wanted to join them. Now I wasn't expecting anything fancy, we only paid £50 for a room on New Year's Eve and I get that. However I would still expect the room to be clean. We found dirty socks and old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well sorry about this but I respond with the facts when I get reviews as they seem to get lost when someone is upset, in your case you are correct the room was not ready and should not have been let, my wife answered the door to you and I overheard the conversation, I checked and it was totally my... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Great value for money, ideal for a stag or hens night in Bournemouth. After the briefing from management they pretty much leave you alone to enjoy your weekend & all Bournemouth has to offer. Short walk to everything & train station. Definitely would bòok again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelrest Bournemouth
Travelrest Bournemouth
#45 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffeside
The Cliffeside
#36 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay