We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge

4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
The Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #107 of 153 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Michelle W
Rate this Hotel

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    6
    1
    14
See reviews for
2
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for a hen weekend of 6 and it was perfect, offering more than what we were expecting! Room was comfortable and clean with the added bonus of clean towels everyday! The owner was very welcoming and gave an entertaining yet informative welcome talk, he also printed off tickets for one of our events! The cleaner on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in February for a hen weekend, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting a great deal. But the room was clean, tidy and had plenty of space, which for 6 girls was a bonus, with free wifi and parking included. We had the best time EVER! Had a warm welcome, and after a helpful chat about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Me and my partner booked this last minute as our family were spending new year in Bournemouth and we wanted to join them. Now I wasn't expecting anything fancy, we only paid £50 for a room on New Year's Eve and I get that. However I would still expect the room to be clean. We found dirty socks and old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well sorry about this but I respond with the facts when I get reviews as they seem to get lost when someone is upset, in your case you are correct the room was not ready and should not have been let, my wife answered the door to you and I overheard the conversation, I checked and it was totally my... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Great value for money, ideal for a stag or hens night in Bournemouth. After the briefing from management they pretty much leave you alone to enjoy your weekend & all Bournemouth has to offer. Short walk to everything & train station. Definitely would bòok again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Mixed reviews online which is a shame for the owner... but for us looking at a messy weekend in bournemouth and only needing basic amenities such as showers, toilet and a clean bed it was perfect would stay again... its not 5 star but your not paying for 5 star... its clean, located well and did just the job we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to do this, We are always up front and honest about the Lodge it is built to do a job and it does it very well, not a 5star but clean with added bonus of the free wifi,parking,tea,coffe, etc Great value as you said, glad you had a good time see you again More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

me and my partner stayed here last weekend and were not happy with the room as blind was broken, wardrobe door nearly came off in hand and glass broken, and sharing toilet/shower room with 3 other rooms was bit inconvenient and unhygienic. we paid for breakfast as not included but do not think it was worth the money we paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well we were waiting for this one, let's start at the beginning you booked a building which does not offer breakfast, you then called 6 times after you booked online to complain that there was no breakfast, you then complained so much the agent you used offered to pay for breakfast, even when it was your fault. You then arrived... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I found this hotel last minute online for 9 people. The owner was nice enough to only ask for 50% upfront even though it was late booking. It had all the basic needs and a few more. Two bathrooms with hot showers and two tellys as well. I cannot believe he only charged what he did! Do not expect any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, we try to be fair and upfront and honest at all times with guests and it works, the weekend you stayed half of the guests had been before, at times the line is crossed and I act, thats when we get the bad review, but I will live with that, as after 30 years... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for a stag do the hotel is very safe and clean its ideal for stags or hens week end . We were made welcome and the rules explained to us the it was up to us then and left us alone . It's ideal location at top end of town for the clubs and railway station .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time, we do not pretend to be anything we are not, we want you to have a great time but also not to upset the neighbours hence the do's and dont's pubs and clubs speal But after that it's down to you just to enjoy yourselves. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed in the Lodge which is next door to the main hotel. The Lodge itself has several bedrooms, ours had 6 beds in and had a hostel feel to it. The building is very dated and the rooms could really do with redecorating and the beds were very poor quality. We paid £80 each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

I love responding to this type of review, let's start at the beginning the Lodge is not a hotel it is a building for groups only, and you were not good guests so much so I placed pictures on the Facebook site showing how your two cars blocked the whole car park for every other guest, you managed to take... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family and I stayed one night at this hotel and it made us as a family of 5 feel very uncomfortable. The room we had was room 2 on the ground floor and firstly, the room layout was wrong. The children had a large tv in tier room and two bunk beds=4 beds, leaving small space and blocking out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well I am sorry that the room layout was not to your taste but of course this is not a hotel, it is a building for groups that families can rent mid week at an attractive rate in your case £13.80 inclusive per person. To have a room split into two I feel is a bonus and on departure no... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question