We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lodge to your Saves list
The Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
56%
Ranked #116 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Vj C Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    1
    12
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found this hotel last minute online for 9 people. The owner was nice enough to only ask for 50% upfront even though it was late booking. It had all the basic needs and a few more. Two bathrooms with hot showers and two tellys as well. I cannot believe he only charged what he did! Do not expect any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, we try to be fair and upfront and honest at all times with guests and it works, the weekend you stayed half of the guests had been before, at times the line is crossed and I act, thats when we get the bad review, but I will live with that, as after 30 years... More

Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a stag do the hotel is very safe and clean its ideal for stags or hens week end . We were made welcome and the rules explained to us the it was up to us then and left us alone . It's ideal location at top end of town for the clubs and railway station .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time, we do not pretend to be anything we are not, we want you to have a great time but also not to upset the neighbours hence the do's and dont's pubs and clubs speal But after that it's down to you just to enjoy yourselves. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed in the Lodge which is next door to the main hotel. The Lodge itself has several bedrooms, ours had 6 beds in and had a hostel feel to it. The building is very dated and the rooms could really do with redecorating and the beds were very poor quality. We paid £80 each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

I love responding to this type of review, let's start at the beginning the Lodge is not a hotel it is a building for groups only, and you were not good guests so much so I placed pictures on the Facebook site showing how your two cars blocked the whole car park for every other guest, you managed to take... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night at this hotel and it made us as a family of 5 feel very uncomfortable. The room we had was room 2 on the ground floor and firstly, the room layout was wrong. The children had a large tv in tier room and two bunk beds=4 beds, leaving small space and blocking out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Well I am sorry that the room layout was not to your taste but of course this is not a hotel, it is a building for groups that families can rent mid week at an attractive rate in your case £13.80 inclusive per person. To have a room split into two I feel is a bonus and on departure no... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Organised a stag and this place was recommended, it was perfect for us, ideal location, nice easy going staff, clean basic room perfect for any hen or stag, would recommend again. The staff communication before the trip was great, very pleasant and upon arrival the gentleman who provided the talk for the rules and regs was very good firm but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time yes it is as we tell it no more no less and most groups have a great time, I have to step in on odd occasions but it is rare, but for sure I then get a bad review, I will live with that as most groups return so must be doing some thing... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and its excellent value for money. We go back as we know what to expect and are never dissapointed. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. The owners are friendly and once your checked in leave you to it. There's parking on site which is useful, not to far to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray B, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do this, we feel we offer great value to the groups and try very hard to let you have a good time. The Lodge is what it is, no more no less, in fact we get more trouble from families who do not read the description and think it is a 5* Hotel.... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I organsied a stag for 17 a few weeks ago. We found it to be all as expected and ideal for our needs. All the planning was helpful and they offered to tailor the weekend to whatever we wanted (we did make a few changes along the way which they were fine with). The briefing on arrival was top-notch entertainment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, the Lodge is built for groups and as long as groups do not upset the neighbours I leave them alone to have a good time and we try hard to see it that it all goes well. Groups tend not to leave reviews (unless they have an axe to grind if I had to... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at The Lodge last weekend for my stag do and absolutely loved it! The briefing we were given is worth the entrance money alone. Perfect for a weekend away with mates, in clean and comfy accommodation. Already planning our next beano to Bournemouth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving this review, it's normally only guests I have upset that try to get back via this forum, and groups like yours just return so again thank you for taking the time to do this More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently visited Bournemouth for my brothers stag do and The Lodge was fantastic. Excellent value for money, great location and we were left to our own devices. The people I dealt with throughout the booking process were also great. Especially on arrival when we were given a full briefing on what Bournemouth has to offer. I got the sense... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Again thank you for taking the time to leave this, it's going well so far this year ! With some good reviews left. Hope to see you again More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I originally booked for the Ashleigh B&B directly on the phone only to be told that I was booked for the lodge (next door) without breakfast. when I asked about breakfast I was told the lodge did not serve breakfast as the customers did not normally wake up in time for breakfast. As a 26 year old female who came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Once again a bogus review, please look at a map to see where the uni is and where we are! Getting some facts right might well let people have some doubts, but this I think is the worst planned bogus review we have had, thank you for the that. Out of interest we confirm all bookings made with us including... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bournemouth

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We specialise in group accommodation in Bournemouth. Discounted holiday family rooms Sunday Night to Thursday Night - families never in same building at same time as groups. Mid week bargain breaks for business people and contractors. At The Lodge Bournemouth, we specialise in hen and stag night accommodation. After 25 years' experience in the hotel trade we appreciate that finding accommodation for hen night and stag night parties, i.e. single-sex bookings for hen night and stag night parties, is a virtually impossible task in Bournemouth, so our intention is to make it easy and provide hotel accommodation for those wishing to travel for just that! Group Hotel Bookings in Bournemouth! The Lodge offers clean and comfortable accommodation, and is near to most of Bournemouth's main facilities and attractions, including the railway station & travel interchange, the town, all the pubs, clubs and restaurants, and most importantly the sea! In addition to hens & stags party nights, The Lodge is the ideal travel centre for educational and school trips to Dorset, and other groups of various sizes, including large families, or for that special party or occasion in Bournemouth when you need a little space. The Lodge is clean and comfortable, and it's in Bournemouth! Please remember this is not a 5* Hotel but great value accommodation for a group or family. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
63

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer