We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore Hotel

Overcliffe Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TD, England
Hotel amenities
Commodore Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #91 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
llinos0001 Cardiff, United Kingdom
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
21
127
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a good location over-looking the sea and is about half-way between Bournemouth centre and Chistchurch so best of both worlds. Pros: Location. Views, if you have a sea-view room. Well-priced considering you get breakfast. Comfortable room. Wi-fi. Helpful staff. Breakfast was nice. Cons: Getting a bit old and decor is dated now but I can live with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review, we appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments with our Team, Kind regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at here for 1 night on April 24th. We found the staff to be very helpful and their service was excellent.. The food was typical pub grub but good value and new Speing menu looks good. The room was clean and tidy and overall a nice experience. They are closing for a refurb soon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Commodore, Our New Spring menu is live and is being received well, We look forward in welcoming you back soon, Kind regards More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This well positioned hotel ideally situated for the seafront, once again offered a warm welcome. The manager and staff were very helpful at all times. The breakfast was served speedily and set one up for the day ahead. The lounge area has had a makeover in recent months making it more airy and inviting. The breakfast is served in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to visit Trip Advisor, We are so happy to read that you both enjoyed your experience at the Commodore, feedback is very important to us and I will ensure that the team are aware that you have taken time to post your lovely review for them, Kind regards More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The exterior has never been inviting but the interior has had an inviting minimalist makeover and the staff were smartly uniformed so we hoped to be pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately not so ! Potatoes cooked black, carrots unwashed, cabbage boiled to oblivion, beef like leather - gravy was good. Did our best to eat as much as possible but complained at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted with the quality of the food served with the management team at The Commodore, Kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Great location, great staff. Snackage is appalling. Mr Filbert's "terminally dull snacks" provide the same taste sensation as eating cardboard. Mind you the Commode could generate extra revenue by providing finance packages to assist in their purchase. Only someone who has recently sustained a substantial head injury would even contemplate paying £1.80 for some stale peanuts. PS Alex has an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we will certainly consider your comments at our next team meeting, Kind regards More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Well situated small hotel, ideally situated for the seafront, and a short car ride to the centre of town. Old fashioned, but clean and reasonable value for money. We had a sea view. Our family room was well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, but it would have been useful to have a door to the adjoining room ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Commodore and we will share your comments with the Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed for one night in a twin room number 10. Room was clean and very spacious. Bedroom view was amazing overlooking the sea and nature reserve.Great wifi connection and a large screen tv to watch the football.Dinner was nice tasting , cooked well and pleasantly served . Hotel looks just a little tired but don't be put off - all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to learn that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful throughout the hotel. More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

An excellent value hotel with friendly staff and reasonably priced food. Room was adequate, if a little tired but clean and had a good view. Good breakfast cooked to order. Parking on site. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit and for your lovely review. More 

Herne Bay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Having stayed at the Commodore once again we were not disappointed. I did mention to the manager that it was a shame that they were let down by Old English Inns on there once again very tired decor, to my surprise he informed us that at long last they were to get a refurbishment in May of this year. (hurrah!!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

The team and I are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially our excellent breakfast, I will pass your comments on to the team, we look forward to welcome you both back next year, kind regards More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

needs decorating and some TLC. Dogs allowed in the bar /dining area which is ok unless you are allergic to them. People are eating in the same area. Food was served on hot plates which is good and was reasonably priced

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review, we appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments with our Team, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities