We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red House Hotel

2.5 of 5 Rousdown Road, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
38
35
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

We had an amazing time today at my grandsons 2nd Birthday. Our swim was lovely, and so nice to be able to relax with two of our party being on the Autistic Spectrum its a rare occurrence! The food was amazing too, the roast was lush and such good value I would highly recommend. Thank you Red House Hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Interested in Torquay?
Get deals, advice and ideas on what to do.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have used the leisure club at The Red House Hotel for a good number of years, in fact our two Children have grown up with it. It is a hotel which manages to provide services usually found in much bigger & more expensive hotels. I have not left a review before, but yesterday I was treated so well I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived we were welcomed by lovely staff at reception, check in was a breeze and the room was in a great location, the room was spotlessly clean fresh towels and additional touches which made it a more personal experience. The hotel has a lovely warm indoor pool with a Jacuzzi sauna and a gym, also outdoor but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the Red House Hotel for one night after a days hard coastal path walking. We were greeted by the receptionist who took us on a personal tour of the hotel facilities. Are room had everything in it we required the beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and in full working condition. We use the hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms one for my son and partner who was celebrating her 21st birthday, and one for my husband and I , the hotel offered bed and breakfast, the facilities included where swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and small gym, we even stayed for an evening meal, the staff were very friendly, the food was superb, we enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback,I am on the case with the TLC ,in total agreement that there are areas of the hotel that are tired ,but it sounds as if that did not detract greatly from your stay ,with the staff and leisure facilities popular .Best wishes . More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed here for New Year 2014. First visit in 15 years. Unfortunately the hotel has gone down hill. They really need to address their cleanliness levels (it looked like our room hadn't been vacuumed) and the hot water issue - each time we had a bath there was limited hot water and on one occasion the shower was cold.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your feedback,there are valid points ,some of which have been addressed ,others ,such as the noise levels of New Years Eve unfortunately I cannot rectify retrospectively .We take guests opinions seriously and aim to improve our facilities,to the best of our ability ,time and financial constraints permitting .It is unfortunate you did not fully enjoy... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We had a swimming party here for our son's 6th birthday today. A one hour swim with exclusive use of the pool and hot tub, then a choice of either hot or cold buffet, and jugs of soft drinks. The owners and staff are lovely and really helpful and overall we felt it was great value for money. Those visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We visited The Red House Hotel for a party this weekend, and it was brilliant! My son is 11 this week, and after some really bad experiences over the last decade with parties at home and at various venues I decided not to bother this year and didn't book anything. Then, a couple of weeks ago I had a change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Children loved the party and adults as well lots of food lovely really friendly staff very clean very happy children. Had a pool table in party room and had floats in the pool and a lovely warm jacuzzi. My daughter really loved her party and would definitely recommend it and also would definitely book again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Came here with family for my oldest daughters bday. Never been here before but was told it was nice. Must say i had a fantastic time swimming pool party was awesome maybe cause im a big kid at heart. They also put on a nice spread for all the kids. Had pool all to ourselfs really was fun kids had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay