We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newton House

31 Newton Road | Torre, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My sister and I had to come to Torbay Hospital as our mother had suffered a heart attack while on holiday. John and Ani were perfect hosts room was spotless as also bathroom! Breakfast was superb even though l changed my mind about what to have every day, from full English to poached eggs. I have already recommended to friends.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am working two days a week nearby so was looking for a regular place to stay having stayed in a couple of places in the last few weeks I was drawn to Newton House by the good reviews. To be blunt this is by far the best b and b i have ever stayed I am very fortunate to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great night there, ani got me into a room and even suggested were to get bit to eat, I even walked down to harbour front, met john in morning who was from my neck of woods Leith, he was asking if there were any changes ie Duncan Kilpatrick school were he worked as a teacher and I told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Mr P. Thanks for your good review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Newton House B&B. Personally, I enjoyed chatting with you, about old times in Edinburgh, when I was a student there and a young teacher in Leith. It makes running a B&B very pleasant, when we can meet folks like you. I was staggered... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed for 2 nights at Newton House, we really enjoyed. Quite charming House. Thank you Mr.& Mrs Williams for made our first time in the area very pleasant. we'll back again.The collection of porcelain dolls.... You don't see that in this days anymore. But, still make Newton House quite unique. : )

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Massa B, thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you describe Newton House is "Charming", (even including the dolls).There are others (in these reviews) who do not appreciate them, so it is nice to hear from one who does. Personally I must admit to not being a particular fan of the dolls.... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

A very warm welcome. Free parking. Room was very nice, ensuite. We had superior double. Only had breakfast which was full English. Only one complaint and that it was smokey bacon, but then that's my taste. A little bit of walk too the shops and bars. Ideally situated for trains and bus stop two doors away. All in all a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks Brian M for your good comments. We're glad you had a good stay in Newton House. If you stay more than one night, or tell us in advance, we are happy to serve you unsmoked bacon, next time. (We have only been asked for it once in the last 2 to 3 years, so we do not stock it... More 

UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We recently stayed at this B&B and enjoyed a very clean bedroom and bathroom. The whole house was beautifully warm. The B&B was, however, quite dated in its furnishings and carpets and there was a very chintzy feel to the place. Bizarrely, the house was chock a block with porcelain dolls!! They were everywhere! We counted 14 of them in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Lollypop0197, thanks for taking time to make your review. Sorry your breakfast was not 'boilinghot'. That is very unusual, as the plates and cooked food are stored in a hot cupboard until the point of plating and serving. We have taken this to heart and we are watching out for any delays, in future. You found the furnishings and... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed just the one night at Newton House while in the area on business. Large car parking area right in front of the house. Made welcome by Ani and shown to a good sized en-suite room. Huge shower room! Very generous supply of coffee and biscuits in the room. Decent breakfast in a pleasant dining room next morning served by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Florian59, Thanks for your nice review. We are very glad that you felt safe and at ease in Newton House. We do try to get to know our guests and help them with their stay, especially when their visit is not for leisure, and sometimes on sad business. It also gives us pleasure to know that guests are enjoying their... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Really been so pleased with my stay at Newton House. Nice Garden, transport accessibility (train and bus stops) right in front, beach and shops nearby, massive parking space, not to forget that they offer Filipino breakfast (indeed taste like home), etc... One holiday that I wouldn't forget! Keep up the good job, John and Ani!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks "ELP" for your nice comments. We really aim to please and it is gratifying when we succeed. Glad you enjoyed our authentic Filipino breakfast, as an alternative to the traditional English Breakfast. We hope you will also try the English Breakfast next time, along with our Continental Breakfast , Fish course and our "Light Bites". Welcome back anytime. More 

Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Quite happy to come across Newton House who can accommodate all their guests cars on their massive car park. Their rooms are reasonably priced and very clean. Breakfasts are varied depends on your appetite. First day we opted for their continental & next day we tried their english breakfast , both was delish. Their is guests dedicated luonge with comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks Jenny K for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Newton House. You and your friends were very happy and lively. It was a treat for us to meet you. Please come again when you are in this area. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

You'll see from my other reviews from around the globe I feel I'm an honest reviewer. If u want a reasonably priced place to stay, in a good area close to Torre train station and walkable into the harbour then this is the place for you. My only grip...no wifi. Oops. There is!! You have to ask the owner to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Matthew, Thanks for your review. Our internet system has radically changed, since you were here. NOW IT IS 24 HOURS * NO TIME RESTRICTION * AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. However, your comments are unnecessarily harsh, even for the previous situation. In June this year, our guest internet usage WAS time-restricted ONLY for FREE USE. (That was because we were on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities