We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Rainbow International Hotel

Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rainbow International Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #72 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Louise E Aldershot, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (467)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (135)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    85
    56
    82
See reviews for
74
189
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have just stayed at the Rainbow for two nights and after reading reviews before we went we were very worried and even thought about cancelling. What we found in reality was totally different, yes the rooms are slightly dated and do need air conditioning but we asked for a fan at reception and one soon arrived in our room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Title says it all. Rooms are in need of a refurb, but large and generally clean enough. Same goes for the bathrooms. Old and tired, but large and clean enough. Staff friendly, food mediocre but good location a stones throw from the seafront . At less than £70 for a double high season B & B you won't get the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rainbow was a lovely hotel all the staff were excellent, Craig at the desk was most helpfull ten out off ten for this young man. The food at this hotel was hot plenty off it and well cooked,Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Roger H, Operations Manager at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annie T Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Roger More

warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

hotel needs air conditioning and some tlc but rooms clean for a two star the food was plentiful and ok we went june 16th entertainment room too hot to sit in with no air at all so couldent sit in there such a shame don't think I would go back to this hotel this hotel is in need of an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed in this hotel back in april. we had a five night stay there. the entertainment wasnt to bad and hotel staff quite pleasant. our stay was bed breakfast and evening meal. on the fourth night i ordered the cheesecake which was green underneath. i did complain and they told me it was the berries that was making it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Roger H, Operations Manager at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marie R We are glad you enjoyed the entertainment and found the staff pleasant. As previously discussed, the berry cheesecake was perfectly fine, it was where the fruit had leaked through to the bottom of the cheesecake; we no longer use the cheesecake to help eliminate confusion. An alternative sweet/dessert was offered to you, however you refused this. 32... More

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

check the bed is sound as I fell out of a broken bed and broke my arm in three places and received no help whatsoever from the hotel staff. As all meals were buffet style it was very difficult trying to get food one handed and although plenty of staff stood around waiting to removed used dishes no-one seemed willing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week. Having read the reviews I was not expecting luxury! I found the hotel to be very average. It was rather shabby and not particularly clean, my bed cover had toothpaste marks on it and the floor and wood work in our room needed a good clean particularly behind the furniture.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornwall United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

No hot water in the hotel on arrival! One guest told me he hadn't had hot water for more than a day! However I mentioned it at the reception before going out for dinner and when we returned a couple of hours later the water was hot! Our room was very dated and the ensuite definitely needed some attention as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights to see a show and I was pleasantly surprised. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, room clean and tidy, food was of superb quality, lots of choice and catered for everybody. There could be a couple of little tweaks but these would only be minor e.g. Rental of fans for rooms because they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bristol
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have recently spent 2 nights with some girlfriends at this hotel. We booked a twin room and was kindly given a family room which was large, clean and spacious. There weren't many plug sockets for phone chargers/hair straightners etc and there was just a bath with a hose attached to the taps, no shower curatin, so the elderly might... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rainbow International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
139

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer