We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Rainbow International Hotel

Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rainbow International Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
53%
Ranked #75 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mandy R Hull, East Yorkshire, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (485)
  • Photos (65)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (142)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    165
    92
    57
    87
See reviews for
77
195
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'll start with the positive, the food is excellent , so are the front of house staff. This in my opinion is a very shabby, outdated, ugly, poor cleanliness budget hotel. I'm not sure if they have a housekeeper but our room was not clean when we went in and poorly cleaned during our stay.this issue needs addressing asap, its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hull, East Yorkshire, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hotel with my partner during a National Holidays trip. We stayed for 5 nights. Yes, there is a maze of corridors and stairs to get to some of the rooms and I did get lost once or twice! Our bathroom just had a shower, basin & toilet all of which were cleaned daily, as was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Managed to get a few days away for our honeymoon and thought we'd chance it here. Torquay is beautiful but I wish I had stayed anywhere but here. We were given our room key, had to walk around a maze of stairs and corridors to find our pokey and dated room. There was barely room to swing a cat and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were part of a group booking. Checking in was fine but room was a good trek down corridors and stairs. The room was the worse for wear. Wallpaper was peeling, bathroom was in a good need of refurbishment; odd tiles that had been to replace others were cracked. No bath mat which made using it sloppy. Cups were dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Rainbow Hotel in Torquay and thought it was perfectly adequate as a base for exploring the English Riviera. The room was a bit shabby but clean and roomy and the beds were comfortable. The food was basic but there was plenty of choice on offer and the fact that they were serving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying for 3 nts but could only manage 2, this hotel is the worst hotel we have ever been to it smelt really bad, the bedroom was in a terrible state with old furniture, the window was almost out,the bed was made with old smelly blankets no light in toilet,the door shut like Slade prison,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Themanatthehotel, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne M Thank you for your review, firstly i have to say that my reception staff are not rude and are extremely helpful. It's obvious you didn't book a room requesting lift access and I imagine during the peak period we wouldn't have had other rooms available to change you to if you had asked. Our carpets are clean... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with National Holidays. Wasn't keen on the breakfast. Not good quality. Enjoyed the evening meals especially the soups and bread and butter pudding with custard. Appreciated the flexible hours (any time between 5:45pm-8:30pm) for the evening meals. Room was clean. Reception and restaurant staff very helpful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from a week at the rainbow, its the worst hotel I have stayed at. The bedroom was depressing, really in need of updating. The food was very boring no variety, veg all frozen and horrible. Lift in hotel out of action most of week, not good for less mobile. Water dripping on my head in night coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Themanatthehotel, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian D Many thanks for your review, as we don't have any information on your name or room occupied it would be very difficult to comment on the room. With regards to the water dripping onto your head, i can only assume it came from a shower in the room above as it obviously stopped and if we could... More

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my mum and 13 year old son staff at reception rude not helpful my mum struggled with all the stairs in this hotel. rooms weren't clean carpets dirty and smell around the room. breakfast awful I could stand my fork up in the egg. I would not recommend this hotel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Themanatthehotel, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne M Thank you for your review, firstly I must say that my reception staff are extremely helpful and are not rude. I am sorry your mum struggled with the stairs, i can only assume you did not request a lift access room when making your booking or request a change of room. Our rooms are refreshed and serviced... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveled with National Holidays on a 7 day coach trip from the Northwest... when we arrived our keys were available and no waiting which was good...but the lift wasn't working.. but they did get the porter to carry bags up to rooms ..which was great..our room was 503 very tiny ..outdated and very hot ..but was cleaned very well by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rainbow International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
139

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer