We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Court Hotel

Hotel website
Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Abbey Court Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Bob M Nantyglo, null, United Kingdom
Add Photo

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    16
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Nantyglo, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed hear for 2 nights half bourd good food good service very clean hotel only misgiving was the tv was on the bedside cabinate just a little to close to the bed bit out of town but bus stops outside hotel plenty of taxis about £5.00 each way

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our second coach trip visit to this hotel.Staff friendly. Food homecooked and very good. Nice location. Outdoor pool and garden very welcoming in the sunshine.No complaints whatsoever, but to the complainers - if you want 5 star accommodation then you have to pay for it! John and Lorna Aherne

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The Hotel is in a great location, near the train station, in front of the bus stop and 20 minutes away from the center. The bulding shows its years and lacks of proper maintenance. The room was outdated and the lamp bulb near my bed was out of order. The shower was the worst part, not enough water and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I note your disappointment; but would mention that the Abbey Court Hotel is a Victorian building and has been operating now for nearly ninety years; it can't have survived all this time without having proper maintenance regime. However, I am aware that on some occasions shower pressure does fluctuate during the day making it difficult to control its... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Worst place I have ever stayed by a mile. We stayed as part of a group coach break, the cost was very low, but the hotel spoiled the whole break. The hotel is like something from the 1970s, very dated and worn and not particularly clean. My room had grubby carpets, plus the skirting boards and Tv remote were dirty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your disappointed stay at the Abbey Court; alas! we were also not aware of your concerns whilst you were with us. I would assure you that we always like to do our best to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable as we can. I regret that your stay was not to your... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My parents stayed at Abbey Court Hotel as part of a Leisuretime coach break. They cannot speak highly enough of the fabulous service they received whilst staying there. The owners and staff went out of their way to make them feel welcome. They loved their room and thoroughly enjoyed all the meals provided. They will definitely be returning in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity of offering you our hospitality in Torquay. Thank you for coming to us and we look forward to your return visit soon. More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This hotel is very dated, and in desperate need of updating and a good clean. We returned today from a 4 day break with leisure time which I can only say was a shambles from the start. The room we had was no 29, the shower didn't work we did complain and when we returned from our trip to Plymouth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I regret to note your disappointment with your stay at the Abbey Court and would mention that I am aware that all your concerns were attended to by the staff. You were also given extra milks & tea bags free of charge over & above the normal practice of complimentary top ups of these items every day in... More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Hotel staff are very welcoming. The rooms are tidy but outdated. There was a good selection of meals on the menu and Chris the cook was always happy to please guests - nothing was too much for the staff. The location of the Hotel is good. Overall the Hotel is rated as a 2Star and it is a "GOOD" 2Star.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind reflections on your stay at the hotel and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you here. More 

Maerdy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We went on an organised short break, 2 nights, 3 days. We did not pay a great deal, so we did not expect too much. What a shock !! Our room was spotless. It was very warm. We had a sea view. Chris the chef works wonders on what must be a very limited budget. The food was plentiful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your kind words and look forward to your return visit to Abbey Court. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Our five day break at Christmas was excellent value for money. Chris the chef produced an unbelievably high standard of food - extrea snacks available during the day, sherry and superb mince pies on arrival, Christmas Dinner exceptional. Chris is an outstandingly good chef. Good entertainment in the evenings, although the dance floor was a little small. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your encouraging review. We enjoyed having you at the Abbey Court and we are very pleased that you found us excellent value for money. I will pass on your compliments to our Chef Chris and we look forward to your return visit. Once again, thank you for coming to us. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Thanks for a great Christmas. Food and entertainment were first class. All the staff were helpful and friendly. My only grumble was that showers needed updating, this did not detract from our enjoyment. Chris the chef was amazing!! Thank you all very much. Regards Babs smith.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments and kind words. I note your grumble in connection with the shower and we will do our best to resolve this situation. With all good wishes. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay