We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Bay Trecarn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Trecarn Hotel to your Saves list
Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BAY INCLUSIVE DEALS
  • Overview
  • Reviews (577)
  • Photos (158)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (210)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Trecarn Hotel
Ranked #75 of 98 hotels in Torquay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    118
    74
    63
See reviews for
83
323
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for two nights...Friday and Saturday! Was a bit concerned after reading other reviews on here. Was pleasantly surprised, the room was clean, the bed linen was fresh and clean, the food was very nice and plenty of choice, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only fault is, the rooms have paper thin walls,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was not too bad , although at first it was a disappointment it was in a side street Not easy to find , and the car park held about four cars so very difficult to find a space, If you wanted to use the antiquated lift to our room it only held three people , and although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel whilst on a National Holiday break. The single room I was allocated was tatty. The carpet was so filthy I had to lay towels from the bed to the bathroom to walk on. The tv only had 1 working channel. If this hotel is being refurbed the rooms that haven't been decorated should not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

We are in the process of refurbishing a number of rooms so my apologies that the room you stayed in was not to your liking. It is a lengthy process with 126 bedrooms and we are doing our best to get rooms all to the same standard. So sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. More

City of Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just come back from an holiday at this hotel, I will not go again or recommend it to anyone. There are too many steps, no good for the elderly or disabled. Room was damp with black mould on wall and ceiling. Radio did not work, plumbing was faulty. No proper smoking area, not enough seating in entertainment lounge and loose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. There are areas outside clearly marked for smoking and ash trays provided. We did have a leak near the ladies toilets, but I am sure you can understand that leaks can and do happen from time to time. Apologies once again for any inconvenience you experienced More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first holiday in the UK and was very disappointed. The hotel is in need of some serious care and attention. My first impression on arriving was that it did not fully comply with the DDA. The lift is too small for wheelchair users, and if there was every a fire and you are not mobile you would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

We have total compliance with the DDA, including specially adapted ground floor room, ramps to access the hotel from two different entrances, reserved parking, ground floor public toilets and we always try to assist where possible, right from when a guest makes a booking. It is a shame I was not made aware of your concerns in this area during... More

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the trecarn bay hotel in July. We arrived in the morning and was not able to go into the hotel until early afternoon. The hotel reception staff was helpful and friendly, thats where it ended. We had a room that was suppose to be refurbished it was very basic. The En Suite was terrible it looked ok but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

Having just read your review it would appear that we did not fulfill your expectations for which I am truly sorry. With 230 customers staying when we are full it is very busy and that is the number we cater for on our restaurant. We offer a table d'hote menu, the majority of our guests certainly seem happy with. Perhaps... More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Trecarn Hotel is situated in Babbacombe on the outskirts of Torquay. First impressions are impressive. After a speedy check in we set off for our room, as it is a spread out hotel, this is a fair distance. Our room was very large, with plenty of room to move around. It had twin beds, t.v. with multi channels, wardrobe,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased to read that you had a great stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to read five star reviews. Hopefully you will consider a return and we can give you another excellent break with us. Thank you for taking the time to post More

hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a stay at the Trecarn with National Holidays. Although the hotel in need of a little care and attention, the staff certainly made up for any faults. Our waitress was Vivien, and she could not have been friendlier or more helpful, any thing we wanted, we only had to ask and it was there. The reception staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fair and honest review of your recent stay with us. We are working hard on the upkeep of the hotel with a team of maintenance men and a gardener! It is always nice to read that people enjoy their holiday and we hope you return to visit us again soon More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Faulty towers mark 2. Spent the night listening to coaches unload. Room looks like it was built in 1930 and not been touched since. Bathroom is mouldy and has a sliding door with no lock. TV doesn't work, bed is uncomfortable, won't be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read your review and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We certainly do not have coaches arriving in the middle of the night so I am slightly baffled by what that noise could have been. Apologies once again More

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Too many steps in hotel . Up & down steps to get anywhere in hotel other than ground floor . One lift taking two people at a time with manual gates. From bedroom to bathroom two steps , not very nice in middle of night . No ramp at entrance to hotel just steps. In dining room we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that your experience was not as you would have liked. We do have ramps at both sides of the hotel for wheelchair access, together with a number of ground floor rooms, one of which is especially adapted for disabled use. We would have been happy to look at getting you a table for two if you had asked us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Trecarn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay
Bay Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
126

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Bay Trecarn Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Trecarn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer