We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Richmond

27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel Richmond
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #72 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DaniHamiltonWitham Cornwall, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    58
    41
    25
    20
See reviews for
32
74
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We go to Torquay every year for our wedding anniversary and booked The Richmond via Late rooms. com . We got the most FAB room with a sea view it was stunning and made all the difference ! The room was spacious, clean with nice deco. Good size bathroom - with a bath ! We only had breakfast and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury Berkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel after attending a wedding in Torquay the staff were great and the room which was a family room was massive and very clean we would certainly stay here again we arrived after midnight due to the wedding we attended but the staff were great and greater us as if it was 15.00 in the afternoon they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 8 days at this hotel.We had comfortable rooms, they were kept clean,the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel needs a bit of tlc, the carpets are worn in places, but it is not too bad. The outside needs a paint soon as it is looking as many of the hotels on that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a standard double room no running hot water only slightly warm wasnt told you had to book you evening meal before 10am only got tolg when we went down to restruant area. couldnt even get a drink we had to go out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night as a stop off on our way to Newquay, thank god it was only one night. We could not get parking and had to park a long walk away, the hotel is very very dated and dirty, the only good part is the location as you can walk down the side of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed again for one night with our disabled grandaughter was given disabled room lots of space little patio to sit out side leading from room,very polite helpful people And a great price would definitely take grandaughter there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel in need of a revamp. You can only have dinner if you book it in the morning which you don't always want to do. Breakfast was good but the sausages were not a very good quality. The rooms are basic but clean. The distance from the town is not suitable for people with mobility problems. Best thing about this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a group for a Hen Night. Had a sea view room. Deffinalty better than the normal rooms, much bigger, brighter and had a balonany. The hotel itself is in need of a complete make over, its pretty run down. I wouldn't say it was 'dirty' but their were a fair few stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Firstly I agree with the previous reviews saying that the hotel is tired & needs upgrading. However we found the hotel to be just as good service wise as some of the big chains. Staff on reception were welcoming & friendly and we were able to check in a little earlier. The Scottish guy who covered the evening shift was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Thankfully only stopped for one night and that was too long. Room was filthy. No parking as they have about 6 car parking spaces (which they don't mention). Bed was awful, it sank in the middle. Pillows were dirty. A brown stain was in the bath and the toilet had not been cleaned from rooms previous visitors. Staff were rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#24 of 94 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#47 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#45 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#52 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#56 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay