We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bancourt Hotel

55 - 65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bancourt Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bancourt Hotel
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    25
    14
    23
See reviews for
28
45
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Kingston upon Hull
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and i have just arrived home after a most enjoyable few days break with National Holidays.They never seem to fail with their tours and would recommend them to anyone wishing to spend a cheap and cheerfull small holiday.So do not expect too much of this Hotel the staff work very hard to make your stay as comfortable as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly I would like to point out that this hotel is extremely dated and down-right ugly. The breakfast here really isn't nice and very basic considering it is meant to be a full english. The room that I stayed in was definitely not suitable for four adults and we didn't even have a shower, just a basic bath. I used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

The terms of your stay were agreed with the YF organisers, it was agreed that any damage to the hotel would be paid for and to the credit of the organisers this as adhered to. In general people were high spirited but quite well behaved. If you had an accident and injured yourself, you should have reported it to Reception,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

wales uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't put a homeless person in this establishment. Rude management, broken beds and generally an unpleasant place to stay. The whole place needs renovating to bring it up to a 1 star and the staff all need replacing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Did you stay at the Bancourt? Please let us know which room you were in so we can rectify the problem of the broken bed, as we have not had anything reported by guests or housekeeping. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed there at the end of April for five days. We had a room on the first floor at the back. It was quiet and had good wi fi. The hotel is a little bit run down, but as adequate. The room was very clean and had a bath and a shower. A flat screen tv,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Bancourt. We're glad you were happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to in my entire life. Rooms are poor with no wifi or mobile service - a real essential factor for a good life. The food is actually crap, like literally crap - I can't emphasise how much it's like putting excrete in your mouth. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

this place is just ok. its about 15/20 mins walk to the town through the park (nice walk) the hotel itself is tired and dated... but its clean and the bedding is clean. Bathroom has a nice shower, and sof towels. hairdrier and kettle, colour tv plenty of tea and coffee. bar downstairs... bit of parking. we did book a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Went on a 2 night break turkey and tinsel weekend.first impressions wasn't sure from outside but once through doors greeted by receptionist who was very friendly and helpfull,asked for top floor and that's what we got so pleased it was clean and very spacious.tea and coffee facilities iron and ironing board so very handy. Evening meal was lovely plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bancourt and thank you for your nice comments. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little dated but clean with all relevant facilities. Nice size ballroom, entertainment good, but the bar stocked limited brands of alcohol particularly beers & ciders-we popped to a local pub Good organised service in restaurant, food was good, when we arrived we had to write down all choices for our evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Great staff friendly but not in your face, barman second to none great food comfortable beds, clean rooms, nice outside space just far enough from torquay to enjoy the stroll to the seafront but nice and quiet at night a real relaxing 5 day break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for your nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

southport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I viewed previous reviews of this hotel and found it to be far superior to some of the comments The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the food was very well prepared and plentiful. The waitress service was excellent , the room we stayed in was twin beds with on suite. Room 21 and was very comfortable, usual facilities tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay at the Bancourt. Glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities