We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Torquay hotels

Bancourt Hotel

Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bancourt Hotel to your Saves list
Bancourt Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #75 of 97 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
frankie060 Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (127)
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
22
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was reading reviews about this Hotel before we went &didn't know what to expect.We have just returned after our few days on aDavid Urquhart tour & have to say it was a very enjoyable stay.The breakfast was a little sparse but it was well presented & tasty,there was an extensive evening menu to choose from as well as an a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel, not really impressed.The breakfast was a liitle sparse with chef's special each day one day tomatoes, another black pudding, enough said. Twice we were ignored at reception while waiting for our room key. I personally would not stay here again.The best parts were the day trips ( Thankyou Gee-Vee) they were brilliant with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were not happy with your stay with us. The full English breakfast each day consists of bacon, sausage, fried bread, beans and egg. Chef puts on an extra each morning and this changes daily. Also there is fruit, cereal, porridge and toast available. Unfortunately the reception staff can be called away from the desk to deal with other... More

shirebrook
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here 26th to 30th May 2014 we enjoyed our stay here booked with travelstyle,food was good with a good choice, but please see I haven't give top Mark's because at dinner the only drink was water you had to pay for any other drink but aside from that staff in dining area were very attentive our waitress was SUE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive review for the Bancourt Hotel. We're glad you have enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the service you received. I will make sure Sue sees your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

hull england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just come home after staying at the bancourt for 4 nights with national holidays ,I have to say myself husband and two children had a lovely time ,we had evening meals with our package and I can say we was spoilt for choice every night the staff where very efficient and attended to all our needs at evening dinner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

You’re welcome! Thank you for taking time to review us and for your positive comments. We’re pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Last year we sought out a venue for our wedding reception and after contacting several venues and getting very worried by the prices we were being quoted we finally spoke to a kind gentleman at the Babbacombe Inn who highly recommended Bancourt Hotel. We contacted them right away and were instantly hooked in by the quoted price. Like many things,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review us and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to host and arrange your wedding reception and glad that you both enjoyed your day so much. I would just like to mention that the DJ was asked a couple of times to announce the speeches and... More

Sanshurst
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had a wonderful stay here back in the 70's. I was in the area on business and stayed for 3 weeks. I have always held strong memories of the place as back then, it was a very good place to stay. Fast forward over 40 years and how disappointing to return and see such a dramatic drop in standards.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

yes WOW wot a fantastic hotel spent the week here from 5th May till the 9th May and i loved it shame on people who say different so wot bout the pool 10mins away u ave the beach and a leisure centre but wot the hell there was 2 much 2 do food was great the rooms were brill i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your enthusiastic praise we are glad you had such a good time. we look forward to seeing you again. More

wales
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and i stayed in room 35 over the Easter weekend.Nice staff, cozy room and very clean shame about the swimming pool not working. Most of the meals served up cold and cooked in microwave ? Good job the weather was nice!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately the pool is not proving easy to bring back on line without major reconstruction. The food is homemade and then chilled in our own kitchen. If it was cold when it reached you, I apologise and hope that you made the restaurant staff aware so they could remedy it... More

Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

as said before the drinks were expensive £3 73 for pint of lager way above our price range.rooms were ok tea and coffee tray plenty of hot water nice towels, the only thing was the pool was out of order it would have been an asset but nobody said why it wasnt open. all in all it was ok...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

The price of a pint of lager and bitter is £3.50. Unfortunately the swimming pool had to be closed due to maintenance problems. We're pleased that you were happy with the rooms and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bancourt in the future. More

Bracknell
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Room 32 with a Group from 14th to 16th Feb 2014.Our Room was reasonable campared with our friend in Room 17 whose heating was very poor,shower not working and the ceiling light fitting fell! Cooked food not to my taste Service was very good and friendly.I felt uncomfortable and not to be trusted having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry that your friend experienced some difficulty whilst at the hotel. Room 17 is on the same central heating/hot water system as room 32 and no one has reported the shower not working, but the ceiling light has been repaired. We have a £10 deposit for remote controls to ensure the next guest in the room has the correct... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bancourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#36 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms
52

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer