We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Torquay hotels

Bancourt Hotel

55 - 65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bancourt Hotel to your Saves list
Bancourt Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
64%
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jockfraebrig Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    23
    11
    20
See reviews for
25
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife & I stayed in this hotel in August 2014 whilst on a David Urquhart "Torquay 5 day Superdeal " holiday. We were allocated spacious family room (No.30 ) on 1st. floor which we found acceptable with lots of wardrobe & storage space. Paintwork & décor would benefit though from a bit of freshening up, and carpet cleaned. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here and from the start customer service was above and beyond. Menu and food service outstanding..Slightly tired decor but overall outstanding value and fabulous staff.Gardens and outside seating areas lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i stayed here in this hotel for a week and i have to say the staff are great but the hotel lets its self down this is not a star rated hotel and all decor is outdated if the owners put some time and money then they could achieve a star rating the food i found to be small potions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've seen a few bad reviews about this hotel, please do not believe them.....This hotel clearly isn't a 5*, but you know that when you book with them. The staff are absolutely fantastic, especially our waitress Nina. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and as a guest I was made to feel completely at home. The nightly entertainment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent stay, and for your many positive comments. I have displayed this review for the staff to see as it is great to know that our hard work is appreciated by the guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this last minute for following day. On arrival hotel looked great, really good location,the double room was very old fashioned but lovely & clean. A bit disappointed there was no food opportunity such as dinner or breakfast, no wifi neither.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay, however I am disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Breakfast and dinner is available on most evenings throughout the summer months, so it is unfortunate that it wasn't available on the night that you stayed. Is is advisable to check with us before booking if you were wanting... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found this establishment online with no availability to book, so telephoned to make an enquiry for a particular room . Was advised to call back the following day as the person I was speaking to was the night porter/receptionist who was unsure. Called as asked & was told they were fully booked but they would call me back should the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

I am shocked that you have left this review about your recent stay at the Bancourt Hotel. It was due to unfortunate reasons that the room you requested was not available for you during your stay, which we apologised for, and were given another suitable room. You left us a note on departure to ‘Thank us for the nice surprise,... More

Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the reviews about this Hotel before we went I was not sure what to expect.We have just returned after our few days on a leisuretime tour and have to say it was a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast was a perfect it was well presented and tasty, there was an extensive evening menu to choose from as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your numerous positive comments regarding your stay. I hope this will help other prospective guests to make a decision about booking with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bancourt for another enjoyable stay. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Review on behalf of my grandparents. Their words: Visited on a coach holiday. The hotel really skimped on every little thing they could. They didn't give tea or coffee with/after dinner. They charged for extra milk cartons if you wanted a drink in your room. The dinner service was slow. They couldn't cope with the number of customers. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your Grandparents expectations. As we are a hotel, having a walk in shower does not necessarily mean that there will be handrails, we do not advertise having disabled rooms. If the problem with the hot water had been mentioned during their stay, we could have rectified the issue. We... More

candolim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Did Mon-Fri with national coach holidays my friend and myself. We had a family room which was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was good and a varied menu although we didnt like the meal times. Breakfast 8.15-8.45 Dinner 7.00-7.30. Woo betide you if you was late. Entertainment Tues Wed & Thurs was passible. I thought the prices of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Bancourt. Unfortunately we had a major maintenance problem with the swimming pool which has taken longer than anticipated to repair. We're glad you enjoyed you stay and would return. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

we had my sons STAGG do in Torquay and were based from here . Yes the weather was very hot as was the room we were in . no air con . very tired hotel . Breakfast was at 9 till 9.30 (sat and sun 8.15 to 8.45 weekdays ).far to early and to short a time . staff though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. We're glad you were happy with some aspects of your stay and sorry that the hotel did not meet all of your expectations. As for not having air conditioning in the rooms, we could have provided you with a fan for the duration of your stay if you felt it... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bancourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Address: 55 - 65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities