We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bancourt Hotel

55 - 65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bancourt Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bancourt Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    49
    26
    15
    23
See reviews for
29
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble .the hotel is dated in places but excellent value for money,the food was of reasonable quality.the dreadful reviews I had read prior to my visit were certainly uncalled for.there was a varied choice of food offered at both breakfast and dinner including a vegetarian option.maybe certain people expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visited Bancourt Hotel 25th may ,we were on a short break coach trip. We had no problem with book in. The room we were given was tiny to say the least and the shower room was not set out too good as the loo was behind the door! but the room was clean and towels etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been coming here for about 5 years and I have loved every time we stayed. Yeah the decor is not up to scratch but it adds character....dinners were nice. ...breakfast was just enough...drinks are average prove and the entertainment was fab. The only problem was the last time we stayed they had foreign workers staying and the noise and smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I emailed this hotel to let them know we where coming on a coach tour and my wife has problems with stairs and did they have a swimming pool,they advised me,in their reply to get in touch with the coach company about the stairs,no mention of the pool,i looked at tripadvisor reviews that said there was a pool,after 9 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

My friend and i have just arrived home after a most enjoyable few days break with National Holidays.They never seem to fail with their tours and would recommend them to anyone wishing to spend a cheap and cheerfull small holiday.So do not expect too much of this Hotel the staff work very hard to make your stay as comfortable as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Firstly I would like to point out that this hotel is extremely dated and down-right ugly. The breakfast here really isn't nice and very basic considering it is meant to be a full english. The room that I stayed in was definitely not suitable for four adults and we didn't even have a shower, just a basic bath. I used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

The terms of your stay were agreed with the YF organisers, it was agreed that any damage to the hotel would be paid for and to the credit of the organisers this as adhered to. In general people were high spirited but quite well behaved. If you had an accident and injured yourself, you should have reported it to Reception,... More 

wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I wouldn't put a homeless person in this establishment. Rude management, broken beds and generally an unpleasant place to stay. The whole place needs renovating to bring it up to a 1 star and the staff all need replacing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Did you stay at the Bancourt? Please let us know which room you were in so we can rectify the problem of the broken bed, as we have not had anything reported by guests or housekeeping. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

My wife and I stayed there at the end of April for five days. We had a room on the first floor at the back. It was quiet and had good wi fi. The hotel is a little bit run down, but as adequate. The room was very clean and had a bath and a shower. A flat screen tv,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Bancourt. We're glad you were happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to in my entire life. Rooms are poor with no wifi or mobile service - a real essential factor for a good life. The food is actually crap, like literally crap - I can't emphasise how much it's like putting excrete in your mouth. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

this place is just ok. its about 15/20 mins walk to the town through the park (nice walk) the hotel itself is tired and dated... but its clean and the bedding is clean. Bathroom has a nice shower, and sof towels. hairdrier and kettle, colour tv plenty of tea and coffee. bar downstairs... bit of parking. we did book a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay