We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Torquay hotels

The Richwood

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Richwood to your Saves list
The Richwood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
77%
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Acesome Torquay, United Kingdom
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    35
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
77
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loverly people brilliant food could not be more helpful only a short walk from Tor train station and shortish walk into the town and sea front car parking in the front family friendly highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Richwood Hotel in May and found it extremely great value for the money. The owners were more than friendly and although the breakfast was basic the Lebanese food was absolutely delicious and we certainly would if we could have taken the food back home with us if it was possible. If our travels took us back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay - and our Lebanese delights! More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

salida and veronica .made us feel so welcome we didn't want to leave ..wish we book another week ....room was clean .loved the pool area and pool very clean .breakfast was lovely ...thank you....l had a double room with my daughter ...rooms were checked everyday .l like the fact they also let owners of well behaved dogs there ..these rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! More

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Richwood for 4 nights and couldnt have picked a better place. Our arrival was late and not only were Saida and Veronica wonderfully accepting of this, we still got the warmest welcome despite how late it was and how exhausted they must have been! Saida and Veronica go out of their way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Your words have given us new wings! We are so happy that you enjoyed "The Richwood Experience" and we will be very happy to see you again! More

Manchester
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here over August Bank Holiday and had a lovely stay in this value guesthouse. Take time to talk to the owners, Veronica and Saida or have a drink at the bar with them; drinks are very reasonably priced. Comfy beds and great value breakfast. Despite being a little dated (the owners are trying to generate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jake and Gary for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Two comments to your review; we are not trying to generate more business - we have! We have increased our average occupancy from 0% in April 2011 to over 50% today. Not bad during a recession! To the "being a little dated": you should have seen the... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my husband stayed here for 3 nights in June for our first wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time! The service was better than some hotels we have stayed in and nothing was too much to ask. The Breakfast was lovely. The scrambled eggs are a must! The lebanese meze was fantastic, Salida and Veronica are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We remember you both well and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. One note, the pool was not heated as the weather was very warm; still, it shows that the water was not cold! Looking forward to the next time already! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hearing about how beautiful torquay is from my friends and about the Richwood made me hop on the nearest plane and go their! In fact that's exactly what I did! In which I regret I should have stayed longer,, I've booked a honeymoon room at the Richwood, and let me tell you we loved it! Champagne, chocolates, and flowers where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you, our guests from the land of 1001 nights! It was a pleasure having you here and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again! More

Medway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

FIRSTLY reading the reviews what a joke if a place is that bad complain about it while you are there don't choose the cowardly way by leaving comments on a website.....seriously how pathetic can people be! NOW THE TRUTH ABOUT THE RICHWOOD Myself any my better half returned here for the 2nd time for the bank holiday weekend. What more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you, Mel, for your review, and for stating the truth about us, and the Richwood. We have invested all our energy and resources into this business and your words give us back some energy and motivation to continue. We are happy - and thankful - to take constructive criticism and immediately implement changes when the critique is fair; we... More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as we had a terrible experience at the local caravan park, so was pleased we found a B&B that had a spare room for a family me,my wife and our 13year old son. The beds were comfortable and the rooms where warm which was a bonus for us at this time, the owners where polite and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Well, well, well! I've said it before and I’ll say it again, people either love us or hate us. I will leave it to the discerning reader to look at our bi-polar reviews and make up their own minds! The Richwood is clean and well-kept; we offer basic, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced 3* B&B accommodation and enjoy offering hospitality to... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My second summer vacation was well spent at the richwood.. Loved the re-decoration, and enjoyed my special Lebanese dinners..Great weather, spa was relaxing, pool was refreshing..My room smelled so cleann, slept like a babyy in those beds. Really i find it odd the way those people complain about fake things! I wish you all the best in your business veronica... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again Huwaida, you were the perfect guest... we can't wait for your next holiday! All the best with your studies and stay as sweet as you are! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities