We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Richwood

Hotel website
20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

I highly recommend the richwood.. me and carla really enjoyed our stay and was made to feel very welcome by the owner.. very helpful and everything was spot on.. would definitely stay again, hopefully with better weather and in the summertime...

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
richwoodtorquay, Manager at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review - it was great having you here! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

We would like to thank the richwood hotel for a great stay, we were made to feel so welcome, definitely by far the best hotel we have stayed in. They are so kind and caring, and cook an excellent breakfast! Would definatly recommend staying here as we had a fantastic stay and will definatly be going back in the summer!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany F
richwoodtorquay, Manager at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you both for the glowing review. It was a pleasure having you here! Roll on next summer! More 

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for the weekend,the rooms were clean with a lovely homely feel to it. breakfast of toast and cereals were Included in price but we chose to pay extra for cooked,we were told about the bar and dinner options but chose to go out - there was no pressure to buy which was good. The location... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dawnandgerald
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Dawn and Gerald - thank you so much for the great review. We are looking forward to the next time! More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

I would just like to thank Veronica, Sadia and Jo-Jo for a lovely stay,we where made to feel so welcome, the breakfast was lovely,we also had an evening meal and that was also lovely, rooms where very clean, don't listen to any negative feedback.

Helpful?
2 Thank Racheal B
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

I had previously booked at another B&B in Torquay but thought it would not be suitable for my mum, and booked The Richwood after seeing an advert. I stayed at The Richwood with my 89 year old mum, our room was on the top floor, a nice size room, clean and bright and very comfy with a view over the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jacqueline for saying it as it is! We look forward to the next visit! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Great place, staff are so friendly, could not do enough for you. The rooms are clean. Terrace is lovely. Breakfast is amazing. Close to all the tourist spots. My family and myself really enjoyed our weekend there. Thank you so much.

Helpful?
2 Thank Shereen P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

A great review from really great guests! Thank you , we enjoyed having you! More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

We checked in for three nights in September, the room we were given was so small,we had to upgrade, for this we had to pay an extra £23 per night, the net curtain was filthy and torn, 2 tea bags and 2 coffees,no biscuits, we asked for more but was told the charge was 50pence,for clean towels the charge was... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Pat19492014
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This person was on a VERY cheap deal. On booking she was given the opportunity to upgrade from our small standard rooms to a premiere room for £18 per night: she declined. On arrival she decided she did not like the small standard room and, having seen our "deluxe" room, upgraded. She seemed very happy to do so for an... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

We stayed here in June and got a good value for money 3 night stay. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was lovely. The venue also has an outdoor pool, which was a bit cold but ok once you got used to it. there is also a hot tub which is available to use at extra charge. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

I was super excited about staying at the Richwood, but I have to say it wasn't what I expected. The place was very old, it has a cold damp feeling to the place and smelt a bit unpleasant. The owners and staff were great, but I was disappointed. The room was big but very standard not great, we had one... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank H K
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt the £56 per night you payed was not worth the money. And yes! The Richwood IS old - it is over140 years old! We had had some torrential rain prior to your arrival and the humidity in Torquay was high - so maybe that was... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

I visited the richwood for 2 nights to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The owners are very lovely and really do go out of their way to make you feel very comfortable and welcome. The bedroom was dated. The bed was very comfortable and has been updated however the room is lacking the wow. Think they are doing it up room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tillymarshall
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you slept well. One small comment: £10 for a hot spa is really not expensive... we do not make a profit from this, just covering our costs. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 95 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#43 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#53 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#47 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#79 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#46 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay