We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Richwood

2.5 of 5 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richwood
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Richwood
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    39
    16
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
94
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in an extremely small room where the on suite shower was very covered in black mould. The room felt damp and did smell damp. Hosts were welcoming but the decoration is in urgent need of updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

If this indeed is a bona-fida review, I wish to say to Julia that exaggerations are unnecessary and very damaging to a small business. The photo of the corner of the old shower tray is correct (mia culpa), but has now, already, been ripped out; the second photo is obviously from somewhere BUT CERTAINLY NOT FROM ONE OF OUR EN-SUITES.... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A repeat visit for two nights late September and received again a friendly and warm welcome. The room was tastefully decorated with more than adequate facilities. ideally situated for a short walk into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Dave, it was great seeing you again and we look forward to the next time! More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

from the moment my mother and i arrived we were made to feel very welcome food was very tasty and breakfast set you up for the day the hotel was very clean saida and veronica were excellent hosts.thank you both maggie and mum

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to the next time! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Never again ,outdated shabby and overpriced, watch out for the extra hidden charges Service without a smile,best part of stay was when we left .the location was OK breakfast was just ordinary nothing to shout home about best avoided .

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This is a fake review and must be removed. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Richwood for two nights, the owners were friendly & helpful. Our room was adequate & clean. Good atmosphere at breakfast. Good position, we walked into town & to the beach so no need to pay for parking & no clock watching! Great relaxing break. Carol R.

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to the next time! More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

had a great stay nothing to much trouble for saida & veronica food in the Beirut bistro was excellent and not to expensive rooms were clean thanks for a lovely stay anyone should try this hotel for w/end

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your fair review, great having you here! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had spent a few days in North Devon and thought it would make a good end to the break to spend the rest of the week in South Devon. What weather, Sunday in November was like a summers day. The hotel is well situated to walk into town and onto the beach. We arrived and booked in and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for your review. We are happy that you content and comfortable during your stay and hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

But careful of the supplements, card charges small print when you book. Breakfast, as I have known it in every hotel, should be cooked. Oh no, not here, you have to pay extra! Just cereal and toast. My son and I were the only people staying so I was told we had been upgraded. We wouldn't have fitted in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This gentleman bought a voucher through Amazon for two nights for two people. It is stated clearly on the voucher (copied and pasted here): What you get: FOR £69 (WORTH UP TO £120), ENJOY A TWO-NIGHT STAY FOR TWO WITH A BASIC ENGLISH BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. This gentleman made us feel guilty that we did not let him stay for... More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to stay at an amazing bed and breakfast then this is it. The food was excellent. The room very comfortable and welcoming as was the staff at the Richwood. Will stay here again when next in Torquay. They have a Lebonese bistro which serves delicious Lebonese food. Hopefully my next visit will be in season so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Paddy, for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoyed having you here and are looking forward to the next time! More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is an out of touch Bed & Breakfast. Our arrival was greeted by a locked front door and an unfriendly welcome. Our “Superior” room, for which we paid a supplement, was small, cold, dark and old fashioned. The entire hotel reeked of cigarettes (stale and new). The ground floor smelled of damp. Our heating was not on upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

My response to this review is exactly the same as my response from “resent Visitor”, also one of the same group of eight persons. One can see that this second review is from a particularly unpleasant individual whose obvious contempt for us is clear from every word. One’s right to express an opinion does not include the right to deliberately... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay