We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

The Richwood

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Richwood to your Saves list
The Richwood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
77%
Ranked #56 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Huwaida A
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (53)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    33
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My second summer vacation was well spent at the richwood.. Loved the re-decoration, and enjoyed my special Lebanese dinners..Great weather, spa was relaxing, pool was refreshing..My room smelled so cleann, slept like a babyy in those beds. Really i find it odd the way those people complain about fake things! I wish you all the best in your business veronica... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again Huwaida, you were the perfect guest... we can't wait for your next holiday! All the best with your studies and stay as sweet as you are! More

Lincs
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Richwood Date of stay 4th August 2014 Location 1 - Poor Cleanliness 1 - Poor Facilities 2 - Below Average Service / Staff 3 - Average Would you recommend us to other travellers? No Comments about us Veronica and Saidia are very nice people and it is a shame that their pride and joy hotel has deteriorated and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Reply to “Disappointment in Torquay” and “Do Not Book Here” We are very sorry that this family of grandparents and grand-daughter did not enjoy their stay. We thank them for their feedback on two points (and wonder why they did not complain when they were here?): The toilet brushes have been changed; under the beds: the cleaner has been told... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Richwood for two nights during August. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the owner who was happy to show us all the hotel had to offer and to our room. The double was compact but fine and everything was clean if the decor a little dated and the shower was basically a power shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay! More

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This 'B&B' hotel is appalling! This B&B has long since had its day, in the picture of the pool it looks to be a well presented family hotel but do NOT be fooled!!! around the pool is poorly maintained with debris and inside the pool there are many foreign objects. We were promised a super room but it turned out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Reply to “Disappointment in Torquay” and “Do Not Book Here” We are very sorry that this family of grandparents and grand-daughter did not enjoy their stay. We thank them for their feedback on two points (and wonder why they did not complain when they were here?): The toilet brushes have been changed; under the beds: the cleaner has been told... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I traveled from Phoenix, Arizona to London, then on to Brighton and spent the last 4 days of our 10 day holiday in Torquay. If we could do it all over again, we would have spent the entire 10 days at The Richwood. Other hotels were cramped, uninviting and the hosts cold and uninterested that we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Kris; we remember you and your partner well. We really enjoyed your stay with us and hope your journey home was uneventful and glad you arrived safely! Hope to see you again soon! More

Kiel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Richwood gets a resounding thumbs up from us. Approachable, friendly and helpful owners make this B&B hotel good value for money. My son and I spent five days here in July 2014 and greatly appreciated our clean and spacious room (number 15) - plenty of case/storage room and opportunity to spread our belongings What distinguishes is the number of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you are back in the UK. Liebe Gruesse an Deutschland! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as you're arrival at The Richwood begins, you beg the question why you hadn't discovered such a hospitable and welcoming accommodation before when travelling to Torquay! The pleasantly warm hoteliers not only welcome you with open arms but ensure your stay is one that's not only all one could possibly require but bespoke to particular requirements. Help was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for the great review. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Good hotel. Nice people. Excellent food. Wi-Fi works. TV works. Good location for those who travel differently than by car. The train station is in close distance from the hotel. The frequent local buses take you to the town center and the Seafront just in 5-7 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime! More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed for a Week at the end of May 2014, I had a teenager, 4y old & 8y old. I can honestly say it was a lovely week, the room was spacious (room 12), the service was exceptional and the kids loved the play room, If you want room service and servants to pick up after you every day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Sandy and Scot, Harley and Paige for your glowing review and your opinions about "the moaners"... We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again. A Super Review from even more Super Guests! More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is advertised as a four star, it's more like a two star. I've seen that in previous review responses the owner says that it's a four star B&B ... I think not. The owner was pleasant enough but the room was tiny, very cheap looking and was a bit smelly. Saggy beds, very small bathroom with old faded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

The Richwood, a Victorian B&B Hotel (bursting with facilities), is NOT advertised as 4 star, we are a 3 star accommodation with 4 star facilities! We are sorry that Kent 1967 was disappointed. Having bought a free night voucher through a deal agent for a SMALL STANDARD ROOM, he was given the choice on booking of an up-grade to a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#44 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 12 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premier holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer