We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Torquay hotels

The Richwood

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
The Richwood

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
79%
Ranked #42 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Thuongnk Southampton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
61
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we love the stay here. everything was just perfect, the rooms and all the facilities were so comfortable. my friends even said that they wish they could spend few more days here, as just staying in the rooms is pleasant enough for a holiday. We traveled there as a group of 10 students, which might have caused a bit problems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. As I said when you left, you were the perfect guests and you all will be very welcome back anytime.All the best to all of you and stay as sweet as you are! More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I too was one of the 22 who stayed for two nights at the Richwood and I found my stay very pleasant. I shared a twin room which was very spacious and very clean and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it, lol. The cost for 2 nights was very good value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jackie, for this review, you will never know how much these good and kind words mean to us. We worked very hard for you reunion weekend, remained polite and friendly in the face of extreme thoughtless rudeness from some of your group and to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your deal is wonderful.... More

Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were part of a large group who stayed for two nights at The Richwood. Taking advantage of a 241 winter season offer, we paid £95 for our room, which was clean though the decor was dated. Some of our party had small rooms or en-suites, finding the showers impossible to get in as too small.There was also a smell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Meri, for your review. It is a review which puts constructive criticism and is politely and carefully worded. The smell of stale smoke may well be from people smoking at the front of the hotel: it all depends on the way the wind is blowing! We cannot change the room sizes and feel that the "dated decor" works... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a warm welcome the two lovely lady hosts provided a brilliant vegetarian Lebanese Mezzo with a couple of hours notice .Charming and quirky building ( you go downstairs to your room after going upstairs :0) ) we enjoyed a relaxing two day chill out thanks to our new found friends at The Richwood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your very fair review! Yes the Richwood is quirky as many converted Victorian buildings are... Your small standard room was the same room as used by the last reviewer who claimed it was cold and the bed damp... I remember you saying how warm and comfortable you were. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. More

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives - Clean, allowed for food allergies, waiting staff tried their best Negatives - Very dated, shelves in places that caused arm bruises galore, bed damp, room cold (even with radiator on full) Couldnt close toilet door once you were in the bathroom as room too small, barely enough room to move around the bed, went down for breakfast and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Sonia, you were also one of the group who took over the Richwood this weekend. Many things happened that weekend which we also found very difficult to respond to. Boundaries were crossed in a manner which I personally find distasteful and no respect for our property - or indeed our persons -was shown by this behavior… When people behave badly... More

Wirral
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was also a part of the 22 and, unfortunately, can't be as kind as Keith R. I think all that the owners wanted was to get as much money out of us for very little input. Our room was small and not bijou! And very cold. Decor was ancient. The food was distinctively average and overpriced (buffet and breakfast).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks, Kevin, for your very blunt review. I believe it have been more honest if you had just said that did not like us (a team of women) or the Richwood and left it at that. Firstly, your group was on a free night, non-profit deal, very reasonably priced. We had been looking forward to greeting you all, working hard... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at hotel as part of a larger group. Staff were welcoming and for the price it was very good value. However, if you are a larger size person you may struggle with the size of the bathrooms some are tiny. Not sure on the target market... but for a cheap weekend away with no frills it was good. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Audrey for your review. Yes, our standard rooms are small, but the premiere and deluxe rooms are not. The joys of an old Victorian building! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, you were very welcome. More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were part of a group of 22 who stayed here and effectively took over the place, so that has to be taken into consideration and provides the context. So firstly the plus points. They accommodated us as a group, and the girls who served us did their best and they laid on a buffet on the first night. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you, Keith, for this astounding review… We are very disappointed that you felt it necessary to post a review like this - had you given your critique to our faces I would be able to deal with it better... we can all learn from positive criticism, after all. As your group left this Sunday morning there were many words... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was bitterly disappionted with the decor of the rooms which did not seem to of been decorated in at least 30 years. The breakfast was do it yourself, and so not at all relaxing. And I found the hosts, standoffish, and not interested in constructive critisim. Thank goodness we had reservations from the of and only stayed one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This is ANOTHER fake review, written by someone who maliciously wishes us ill... and as such should be ignored. TripAdvisor should be ashamed to put reviews out ther, online, when they cannot prove that the critics has been to the venue they are critiquing. Shame. More

Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I wanted to say what a wonderful time my partner and I had at this Hotel, it was pouring with rain and Saida was so kind and welcoming, letting us check in early, chatted with us and showed us to our lovely cosy room, we met Veronica later and she was just as lovely, the breakfast was tasty and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

...and what wonderful guests! We look forward to seeing you again! More

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 12 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premier holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Freetobook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Richwood to your Saves list