We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

The Richwood

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Richwood to your Saves list
The Richwood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
77%
Ranked #50 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
sharenjo London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (53)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    34
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
75
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Richwood Hotel in May and found it extremely great value for the money. The owners were more than friendly and although the breakfast was basic the Lebanese food was absolutely delicious and we certainly would if we could have taken the food back home with us if it was possible. If our travels took us back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay - and our Lebanese delights! More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

salida and veronica .made us feel so welcome we didn't want to leave ..wish we book another week ....room was clean .loved the pool area and pool very clean .breakfast was lovely ...thank you....l had a double room with my daughter ...rooms were checked everyday .l like the fact they also let owners of well behaved dogs there ..these rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Myself and my husband stayed here for 3 nights in June for our first wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time! The service was better than some hotels we have stayed in and nothing was too much to ask. The Breakfast was lovely. The scrambled eggs are a must! The lebanese meze was fantastic, Salida and Veronica are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We remember you both well and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. One note, the pool was not heated as the weather was very warm; still, it shows that the water was not cold! Looking forward to the next time already! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hearing about how beautiful torquay is from my friends and about the Richwood made me hop on the nearest plane and go their! In fact that's exactly what I did! In which I regret I should have stayed longer,, I've booked a honeymoon room at the Richwood, and let me tell you we loved it! Champagne, chocolates, and flowers where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you, our guests from the land of 1001 nights! It was a pleasure having you here and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again! More

Medway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

FIRSTLY reading the reviews what a joke if a place is that bad complain about it while you are there don't choose the cowardly way by leaving comments on a website.....seriously how pathetic can people be! NOW THE TRUTH ABOUT THE RICHWOOD Myself any my better half returned here for the 2nd time for the bank holiday weekend. What more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you, Mel, for your review, and for stating the truth about us, and the Richwood. We have invested all our energy and resources into this business and your words give us back some energy and motivation to continue. We are happy - and thankful - to take constructive criticism and immediately implement changes when the critique is fair; we... More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as we had a terrible experience at the local caravan park, so was pleased we found a B&B that had a spare room for a family me,my wife and our 13year old son. The beds were comfortable and the rooms where warm which was a bonus for us at this time, the owners where polite and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Well, well, well! I've said it before and I’ll say it again, people either love us or hate us. I will leave it to the discerning reader to look at our bi-polar reviews and make up their own minds! The Richwood is clean and well-kept; we offer basic, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced 3* B&B accommodation and enjoy offering hospitality to... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My second summer vacation was well spent at the richwood.. Loved the re-decoration, and enjoyed my special Lebanese dinners..Great weather, spa was relaxing, pool was refreshing..My room smelled so cleann, slept like a babyy in those beds. Really i find it odd the way those people complain about fake things! I wish you all the best in your business veronica... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again Huwaida, you were the perfect guest... we can't wait for your next holiday! All the best with your studies and stay as sweet as you are! More

Lincs
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Richwood Date of stay 4th August 2014 Location 1 - Poor Cleanliness 1 - Poor Facilities 2 - Below Average Service / Staff 3 - Average Would you recommend us to other travellers? No Comments about us Veronica and Saidia are very nice people and it is a shame that their pride and joy hotel has deteriorated and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Reply to “Disappointment in Torquay” and “Do Not Book Here” We are very sorry that this family of grandparents and grand-daughter did not enjoy their stay. We thank them for their feedback on two points (and wonder why they did not complain when they were here?): The toilet brushes have been changed; under the beds: the cleaner has been told... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Richwood for two nights during August. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the owner who was happy to show us all the hotel had to offer and to our room. The double was compact but fine and everything was clean if the decor a little dated and the shower was basically a power shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay! More

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This 'B&B' hotel is appalling! This B&B has long since had its day, in the picture of the pool it looks to be a well presented family hotel but do NOT be fooled!!! around the pool is poorly maintained with debris and inside the pool there are many foreign objects. We were promised a super room but it turned out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Reply to “Disappointment in Torquay” and “Do Not Book Here” We are very sorry that this family of grandparents and grand-daughter did not enjoy their stay. We thank them for their feedback on two points (and wonder why they did not complain when they were here?): The toilet brushes have been changed; under the beds: the cleaner has been told... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Richwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20, Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#39 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 12 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premier holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer