We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Torquay hotels

The Cimon

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Abbey Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Cimon to your Saves list
The Cimon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
97%
Ranked #12 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Tony B Porvoo, Finland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (254)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    43
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
110
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great small hotel runned by a nice family. We stayed there five nights with our two children so the heated pool was a good extra to them, why not to us adults too :) The family room was cosy an there was a nice view to the sea. The breakfast was excellent! The playroom with its hundreds toys was allso... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thanks Tony for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us. Your singing in the bar was an extra bonus :) Hope to see you again sometime in the future! All the best from everyone at The Cimon! More

Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great small, family run hotel close to town, beach and restaurants. Swimming Pool was fab for our 11 and 8yr old boys, lovely and warm despite British weather! Fantastic breakfast and great to have the bar for an evening drink post dinner. We had the family room, which was lovely and spacious, my mother had a double on the ground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We really enjoy having families as the kids do make the most of our pool. Hope to see you back sometime in the future. All the best from everyone at the Cimon! More

CHESTER
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Cimon for a weekend for an Army Reunion. Could not fault it, Staff great food great, Very well Managed. Would recommend it without reservation. Room was quite small, but nothing can be done about that. Only a short walk into town. Thanks Adam and Family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thanks for writing the review. We really enjoyed having you all here and hope we will see you again in the near future. We will be happy to host your next reunion as well! All the best from everyone here at the Cimon! More

Lee-on-the-solent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights ,very clean and comfortable ,excellent breakfast with so much choice, even a little bar to relax with a drink and although they don't do evening meals it was easy to order a takeaway and eat it in the bar , our hosts even supplied us with plates and cutlery .Outside is a heated swimming pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad you had a great time and we do hope to see you again when you are in the area. All the best from everyone at The Cimon! More

birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stopped here for a long weekend we booked last minute the overall stay was very pleasurable. We could not have asked for any more Adam was very friendly and approachable at all times breakfast was excellent they catered for all likes. The location was brilliant just 5 minute walk down to the harbour and shops and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you David and Lorna to take the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you had a great weekend and hope to see you back soon! All the best from everyone at The Cimon! More

surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a few nights in what seemed a very good hotel according to trip advisor.no way as good as we thought it would be.very disappointed.room was not very clean.supposed to have been a supreme room.bar not very welcoming and closed far too early.grounds a bit unkempt.breakfast was just about ok.really annoyed as we could have stayed in a far far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I guess you stayed in one of our superior rooms. It would have been good if you had pointed out that you felt your room was not clean as I would have send up staff... More

Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel very friendly staff from the time of arrival to leaving; nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable room very relaxing and needed sleep. Ideal location with a short walk into the town or harbor. Belly busting breakfast, with a large variety of choice from fresh fruit, cereal, toast, full English. An extra bonus was the heated swimming pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to stay with us again in the future. From all at The Cimon. More

Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here April last year as a couple (I'm abit late with the review, but felt this place deserved a good review!) and would highly recommend it. Owner was friendly and welcoming and the room was clean with tea and coffee facillities and a lovely view of the pool (and sea!). My only (slight) gripe with this place would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear the bathroom was difficult for you to use due to the space, some of our bedrooms do have larger bathrooms. If you do come to visit us again in the future please call to ask about the bathroom/bedroom sizes... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great weekend with my group of friends. This was our second visit to The Cimon and no doubt we will be back. The rooms comfortable and there is tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Breakfast was excellent, as was the heated swimming pool at the end of the day. I Would definitely recommend The Cimon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at The Cimon. We hope to see you again in the future! More

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time I have ever reviewed, worlds number 1 procrastinator so apologies for the delay! We had a brilliant Easter break, Adam and his family were incredibly tolerant of our busy 3 children who frequented the private living quarters a lot! : / Clean spacious room, lovely breakfast, bonus pool (weather fab) and other very nice guests. Being able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Cimon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Rd, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay #6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay #13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay #17 Business Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach and town centre, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer