We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    280
    270
    103
    51
    53
See reviews for
138
358
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (757)
  • Mar-May only
    (249)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (183)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (189)
All months
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Our room was spacious and clean with a view only to the road. I am disabled and as they are not disable friendly they found me the most convenient room up about nine steps. Food was very good although menu is a little limited. The staff at this hotel are very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 3 nights here in August. Must say first of all that it wasn't my first choice as I would have preferred to stay at the Osborne or the Grand but I booked late and had very little choice. With that said, I was pleased with what I got and think in the end I made the right choice. Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff are an asset to the hotel; welcoming, friendly, helpful, hardworking and you are able to have a laugh with them. Food good, especially the a la carte menu, and with the deal, it's great value. We used the indoor pool and gym each day, which was helpful as the rain was never far away. The location is handy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having read previous reviews for the Grosvenor, I must say we were pleasantly surprised by our stay. Booked via Richardson Hotels and was offered 15% off a two night stay so cost was good for a family room. When we arrived we were shown to Room 42 which was at the top of the building with a side view to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Humiliated at breakfast by staff who don't know how to treat customers. Customer service does not come first at this hotel. Couldn't get out of there fast enough. Had to take 3 children to have their breakfast in wetherspoons. Spoilt what could have been a nice weekend in Torquay. All very disappointing 😞

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cormac O, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review, please accept my sincere apology that you were turned away from breakfast at 09.30. Having spoken to the team they had made a mistake on the closing time on the morning in question. I have taken steps to ensure that it does not happen again. I know that their intention would never... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Grand's 'poor relation' is a good way to describe this hotel. We stayed last week and returned yesterday. Upon our arrival, we were given Room 9, which was on the ground floor looking directly onto Belgrave Road. The room was 'cosy' but there was plenty of room for improvement: drawer space was extremely limited, the door to the dressing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cormac O, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay in Torquay. I'm sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not up to scratch but I appreciate the feedback and will take the necessary steps to put them right. We have over the last two years since joining... More 

Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and lovely restaurants. The staff that we did see were lovely and accommodating, although there were a lack of staff; mainly in the breakfast hall and restaurants. The cleanliness was adequate. The free wifi was pretty poor as the signal was so weak except the living area by the bar (possibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cormac O, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are delighted that in the main you enjoyed your stay and the team were really pleased with your comments about them. I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to the Diner, we have put a lot of effort into producing a new menu that appeals to a wider audience. I would really... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mother and I booked 4 nights here during our visit to England to attend a family wedding. We had high hopes for this reformed hotel, and were left highly disappointed. The parking was limited and overflow was difficult to maneuver, showers were intermittently hot and cold, with pressure dropping down to nearly nothing every five minutes. Furthermore, the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cormac O, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay I'm sorry that you were disappointed. Unlike many hotels in Torquay we offer free parking to our guests, I can only apologise that you found it difficult to use. I have checked the measurement of the spaces and they are normal size. I was disappointed that you experienced problems with... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a stay for a Sunday as a treat for Devon cream tea and dinner through Amazon destinations. Unfortunately, we are unable to stay on the date that we originally booked, so I rang the hotel to request a date change. They informed me that I needed to ring Amazon to make the alteration through them. I subsequently rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cormac O, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I'm sorry that you booked a non-refundable package and are upset that we will not refund you. As a Company we fully support Trip adviser, we advertise it on our front door, on our reception and in our rooms. It is a fantastic fountain of information for the worldly traveller. Where it sometimes falls... More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the end of a long journey when the whole world appeared to be heading towards the West Country. A warm welcome from Daniel at reception, parked the car and left it there for the whole of our stay. We were able to walk to the beach in about ten minutes and there is a bus stop almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (177)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#59 of 95 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#48 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay
#28 of 95 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#69 of 95 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#11 of 95 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay