We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Torquay hotels

Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grosvenor Hotel Torquay to your Saves list
72%
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
AngiePEngland England
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    199
    67
    40
    46
See reviews for
104
246
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (552)
  • Mar-May only
    (184)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
England
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We were greeted well and room was very nice, clean and well furnished on the whole. Food good but restaurant staff not trained. Hotel ran out of red wine Merlot on a Friday night and also ran out of extra tea and milk for the room and failed to advise when we asked about booking another night as the weather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

having lived previously in torquay I sort of knew what to expect from the hotel i arrived and after being greeted by a nice young man who made us feel welcome went to our room which was ok settee was past its sell by date and didnt match the obvious effort that had been made to update the bedroom shame... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Only booked Friday afternoon 26/9/14 for Saturday 27/9/14 as not many places accept animals. Amazing customer service on arrival until check out. Will defiantly book this hotel again. Room 4 was huge over looking the sea. Jamie (Swansea)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cannock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I have returned from a 2 night stay at the Grosvenor and we enjoyed every moment of it. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and contained everything we could want and more from tea and coffee making to fridge. The en-suite was also spotless with bath and shower. The staff couldn't do enough for us and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear Judy842, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you here and I am so pleased that you liked your room, food and great customer service that we always strive to offer. I will pass on your fabulous comments to all the relevant departments. We all... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I have just returned from the Grosvenor Hotel in Torquay. We would like to thank the staff for helping to make this a memorable birthday for my wife. When we arrived in our room, there was a large bouquet of flowers, a tray of chocolate coated strawberries and a bottle of champagne, waiting for my wife. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear heavisidesmith, Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. I am so pleased that yourself and your wife enjoyed your stay and that it was both memorable and enjoyable. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for New Year and we look forward to meeting you once again. Kind Regards Lucy &... More

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited another Richardson hotel in Padstow and expected a similar quality. How disappointed we were! The whole hotel had a grubby feel to it, paint was peeling off the walls and it was just downright shabby. The bedroom was large but smelled musty, the bed was lumpy and breakfast wasn't freshly cooked. I took my swimming costume but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear Lippylu, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. As you have probably seen in my previous responses, The Grosvenor was taken over in 2012 and is the most recent acquisition for the Richardson Group. We are aware that in some areas of the hotel we need to renovate and this... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is a little run down but cant complain at all about our room, it was modern ,smelled fresh and most of all clean.the staff were happy to help with any questions and friendly. evening entertainment was a little dated for young people so instead we decided to go out.the full English breakfast was served on a help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear daniel s, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are still modernising areas of the hotel and we have almost completed guest rooms and have now moved onto public areas. We have already started with our reception area and the exterior of the... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel 10 years ago, it was so much nicer then, this visit it was tired, smelt damp, the breakfast was horrid, greasy served by a grubby teenage girl with a dirty apron. The pool was awful, with green mould on the grouting, didn't even want to risk the jacuzzi as it was cloudy and had a scum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear suzie31, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have noticed that you mentioned your date of visit was actually in October 2013 yet the review was only received on 16th September 2014 I assure you that things have certainly changed over the last year!... More

Freetown, Sierra Leone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here just for one night, a Saturday, on a quick break away. We had booked to stay at the Grand Hotel, but put booking was transferred to this hotel, I don't know why. All staff that we encountered we friendly. The room was very nice and quite roomy with a balcony looking out to sea. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear Alison H, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I'm extremely pleased to see that you had a nice stay. Thank you for mentioning the point about the shower, I will get out team to look into this. I do hope you will be returning to visit us very soon. Kind Regards Lucy &... More

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been before and enjoyed it however, this time when we got into our room the light wasn't working, the lamps weren't working and there was a tampon wrapper left on the bathroom floor. This can only lead me to believe that the room was not cleaned properly. I told reception and 'Ben' was full of apologies and asked his manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review

Dear nisha5678, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay with us. I am very sorry to see that we did not live up to your expectations. Concerning the lights and lamps in your room, they were all in perfect working order but the plug switch on your wall was switched off which we turned... More

Do you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel Torquay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very good(21)
  • Happy Hour(4)
  • First class(4)

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Grosvenor Hotel Torquay