We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Torquay hotels

The Headland Hotel

Save
You added The Headland Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Hotel amenities
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    91
    30
    21
    14
See reviews for
77
190
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
burton latimer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

had a great time at this hotel,i changed my room when first got there,(single rooms can be a bit small),but was happy with second room choice. the girls on reception very helpfull and friendly,the food was great as were the staff in dining room,the only downside was the weather!!!,would deff go back and recomend this hotel. the only downside if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your useful feedback and complimentary comments. We hope the weather is good on your next visit to us, and we look forward to it. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having read Emily's L review i thought i would express my disappointment as well. Having prebooked i asked for a club room with a sea view and also mentioned it was for my partners birthday in advance and was assured my requests would be met ! On walking to our room , not on the lower ground floor but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry these guests were disapointed during their stay. It is difficult to respond to specific points when we do not know the name of the guests or their date of stay or their actual room. It may well be that we were full and could not offer them another room, but the other issues which they now mention,... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband booked us a 'club' room with a sea view as a treat for our 1st Anniversary. We were both really looking forward to it but were disappointed when we saw our room. The room was very small and, being on the basement level, was very dark and dingy. Our bed was smaller than a double and the matress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were dissapointed with your Club room during your recent stay, and only wish that you had made us aware, giving us the opportunity to address, to your satisfaction, the issues which you now raise. The room was on our garden level, and is in more shade at certain times of the day, than some others.... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have just returned from the Headland Hotel after an 11 night stay and felt compelled to write about this wonderful hotel. We went for an executive room and it was big enough to accommodate a double and 2 x single beds. The sea view was breathtaking. However, the biggest asset for the hotel is it's fantastic staff who simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us so much, and the positive feedback you have given will of course be passed on to the personnel concerned. Good to hear you enjoyed the coastal path and the fantastic views from there, and thank you for all your comments. It was our pleasure to look... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Headland Hotel in Torquay is a peaceful place for a holiday, the views are stunning, the food is great and the staff are very attentative and cannot do enough for you. The only downside was not enough parking spaces and a bit to far to walk into town however the hotel has arranged a courtesy taxi into Torquay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

We are grateful for you taking the time to send your favourable review, and are so glad that you enjoyed a peaceful break. Our location a short distance from the town centre does mean we can provide a quiet environment to relax in. The complimentary return taxi service which we offer, is very popular for guests that do not fancy... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Have spent many many visits to The Headland and previously The Overmead and have always been delighted with our stay. The staff in particular are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Food and service are always very good. The happy atmoshphere seems to spread to the other residents as we have made very many friends during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read your review as this is exactly what we are striving for. May you have many more happy stays with us. Now, the weather is an entirely different proposition, but we'll give it a go! More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our first visit to this hotel but will be back. Comfy room, good food and very good service, All areas very clean. Communal areas have lovely comfy sofas. Scenic location and the courtesy taxi in to Torquay was very useful and always on time. What more could we ask for?

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your first visit, many more to follow we hope. Thank you for your concise and lovely review. More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

we have just returned from a couple of nights away and can say we were very plesantly surprised.Can not believe the stanard of food for what we were charged and being in the tourist trade myself I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel,the staff were all friendly and the cleaniness was brilliant they have struck a really good balance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to get good feedback from another professional in the business, and we are delighted you so enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was our second May holiday break for two Mums with teenage daughters. Our welcome was friendly with complimentary tea and biscuits. We had asked for rooms with views and these certainly met our expectations - what a pity we were not staying for two nights! Dinner was satisfactory as one might expect from a 3 star hotel but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your welcome feedback, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to us. I am so sorry though that your waiter appeared rather grumpy, and seemed to rush you, neither of which is acceptable, and I have taken appropriate action. We strive to have a happy welcoming team, as previously remarked upon, and we want... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Despie Poor Weather, this was an enjoyable stay, First the good thing's, the food is first class, we stayed on a half board basis, but never felt the desire to eat -out. The "executive" room was a good size, and well equiped, if a little dated, but with good sea views, the staffe were good too , a small problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments, and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. I am pleased to report that mindful of your request to swim at one of our sister hotels, we now offer this, free of charge subject to availability, bookable via ourselves. With regard to parking we are currently moving forward with further spaces soon becoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torquay

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay