We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Headland Hotel

#22 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Headland Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Headland Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    311
    105
    32
    22
    15
See reviews for
99
223
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (485)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just spent a really enjoyable 3 night break at The Headland Hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, room and facilities. The restaurant is first class. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I fully intend to return. Joan Carpenter (Surch)

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited The Headland for a number of years for family holidays. Personally I always enjoy every second of my stay. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. There are wonderful views of the sea, and nearby towns, Paignton & Brixham. The food is fantastic and overseen by the excellent Tomask (Restaurant Manager). If you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we had great expectations of this hotel. However unfortunately the hotel was simply not up to scratch. The check in staff were not welcoming and the décor was old fashioned which added to the already uninviting welcome at check in. We had booked two rooms, one was located in the basement and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Readers, I am truly saddened by reading such a horrible review for such a lovely hotel. We are sincerely sorry that we seem to have let this person down, if only they would have told us while they were still here and we would have done everything in our power to make their holiday an enjoyable experience. After a... More 

Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the staff were very attentive, the food was pretty dreadful. We have never been served food so quickly and which was obviously waiting to be thrown out of the kitchen. The garlic mushrooms were in a stodgy thick sauce that was awful, followed by plastic beef and my husbands hake was grey with a tomato sauce that was indescribable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Readers, We try not to serve our food too quickly, however, when we serve 140 people who may all arrive in the restaurant at the same time, we must have a certain amount of food ready to be served at once, which would be the same situation as any hotel in the world with this volume of restaurant guests... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had two lovely nights at the hotel. As we are both in the hospitality trade ourself and only live 40 minutes away we find this a fabulous place to visit. The food is nice and the hotel all very clean. They have a lovely team of people working at the hotel.Who all work really hard and are always polite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa & Scotty, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Our new 'Gallery Bar' has recently opened and we have received some fabulous feedback about it. It's fabulous views are the perfect setting for drinks, cocktails or lunch. I... More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Headland hotel in June with a coach party from Cumbria. We received a warm welcome from a highly efficient and attentive staff. Our bedroom overlooked the extensive well kept gardens and a lovely sea view. The bathroom was modern with a walk in shower. Each evening we had a six course menu which included cheese, biscuits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RozCumbria, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here. We are very fortunate to have an excellent kitchen team led by a very innovative chef who has achieved an AA rosette for our Romanov Restaurant. The theatre show is an excellent night out... More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel in a good situation with sea views.All rooms spotlessly clean. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.The menu is excellent.A new terrace has added to the hotel. Note that not all rooms are serviced by the lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SoniaandTony, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We offer a nightly changing 6 course menu in our Romanov restaurant. Also, in our newly opened Gallery lounge, we offer a fantastic selection of freshly prepared hot and cold items for lunch. This is... More 

Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The Headland with my wife for a long weekend returning Tuesday 14th July. Torquay is very hilly but in this case it is a great advantage because the views are spectacular. As the name implies, it sits on a headland overlooking Torbay. We had an upgrade 'Superior Room' we requested and paid a premium but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AmbrosiaMidlands_UK, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. How lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. We have worked extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests have an excellent experience and I am so happy to see that we have exceeded your expectations in all areas. Our... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Headland for 3 nights. The room was great, the food was great, the service was brilliant. All in all much better than we expected. The entertainment was aimed at the elderly and that was fine as most people there were just that! The manager and staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marc L, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your great stay with us. I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations! We pride ourselves on having great members of our team and I will be passing on your lovely comments. We have a beautiful new sun terrace outside our Gallery Lounge and there will... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a great history and is also situated in a beautiful position for viewing Torbay, but unless you are wonderfully fit be aware that your own transport or local taxis are the only option for getting down to sea level. Staff are very attentive but are mostly of foreign origins ( I am not racist) but some have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Readers We appreciate all feedback – both good and bad. The hotel does have a wonderful history as it was the holiday home for the Romanov family. It is also in a beautiful location in Torbay overlooking a glistening sea – hence the name Headland. It also prides itself on having a National Trust costal path on its doorstep... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (81)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#45 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#56 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#11 of 94 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#1 of 94 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#42 of 94 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay