We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Torquay hotels

The Headland Hotel

Save
You added The Headland Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Hotel amenities
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    93
    30
    21
    14
See reviews for
79
192
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (414)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

just stayed 2 nights at the headland hotel, 20-21st jan. what a fantastic place to stay, the staff are all very helpfull, the food is very good indeed,the restaurant staff are on the ball serving the tables as and when. we had room 159 spotless clean as was the hotel. if you are thinking of going to TORQUAY head to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first family stay of 2015, and our 15th year visiting this hotel. We have had many great stays at the Headland but this years stay was faultless, a perfect hotel in all respects. My family and I have stayed at other Duchy hotels and although the Headland is our personal favourite the standards at each are equal. Steve, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time of staying at the hotel for a 'turkey and tinsel' 4 night break. On the first occassion we were travelled as part of a coach trip, but this time we went independently by car. An indication of the hotel's 'attitude' was their telephone call to us, two days before departure. It was a 'courtesy' call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a brilliant review of the Headland. I am pleased that you found the Restaurant to be outstanding, our chefs and restaurant staff work very hard to try to make sure that everybody has a fantastic experience so to hear such positive feedback makes it all worthwhile. I am also... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a couple days at this Hotel between Christmas and new year, hotel generally good, however the room left something to desire it was small no view out of the window ( a wall opposite the window ) so this was a disappointment. However the restaurant was excellent and the evening entertainment was very good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be generally good however I am disappointed to hear that you did not like your bedroom. The hotel has different grades of bedrooms and the standard bedrooms do not have any sea views but are still a good size and... More 

wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a fabulous Christmas at the Headlands Hotel Torquay, everything you could think of was provided the hotel was beautifully decorated and put you in the Christmas spirt the moment you arrived, all your meals in fact 'to much food' were provided and served by our lovely caring waitress Cristina the rooms were all spotlessly clean and we could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your Christmas break at the hotel. The hotel has had award winning decorations for the last 4 years and we have our fingers crossed for this year as well. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the food and I have passed your kind words onto Cristina who is delighted. We have... More 

Bristol
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Stayed at the Headland for a weekend Turkey and Tinsel weekend.Wonderful views from our room and found the staff from the manager to the cleaning staff to be very friendly and helpful.The room was warm kept and clean and food very good.The entertainment was o.k. But excellent on the last evening.The only downside is that the location is right at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I am particularly pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly and the food to be very good. The hotel has a fantastic location with stunning Sea Views, about 15 minutes away from the main town centre. We do operate a complimentary taxi... More 

wales u.k.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

First to the bad bit.Our shower was the smallest i have ever seen,this includes shower cubicles at sea.Requested room change but hotel was full.The only thing that would fit in it would be a short flamingo.No handles or rails in bathroom,shower mat dangerous.Apart from that the weekend was very pleasant,food good as always,good entertainment.We were on a turkey and tinsel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our bathrooms all have at least standard sized shower cubicles and all contain a rubber bath mat and a material bath mat and I do not understand how these could be seen as dangerous. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the holiday, including the food... More 

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to which we have been coming to for the traditional Turkey & Tinsel weekend many times. The view from our favourite room 143 is fantastic. The hotel has a nice feel to it, the rooms are warm, the food and the service is good and the evening entertainment is enjoyable. However, our visit this time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lee C, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, this guest is absolutely right. The manager has been told to host a gala dinner in the restaurant with entertainment continuing into the evening in the dining room, which is normally an excellent night for our guests. On this occasion it was erroneously decided that the festive dinner function was to be held in the Hydro Bar meaning... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
23 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Whilst staying locally in a self catering apartment we decided to dine one night at this hotel where we have stayed before and found everything to be excellent. Unfortunately on this occasion we were unlucky. My wife ordered pate and toasted brioche, she received pate and a dry slice of brown bread straight from the packet and not even toasted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Readers We normally have excellent feedback about our Restaurant and especially the standard of food for which we have recently been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. Due to an act of laziness from one of our chefs, there was a problem with the Brioche with the starter, however believe me when I tell you he has learnt... More 

bridgend
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We went with Edwards coaches and had a wonderful time from start to finish the driver couldn't do enough for us even at the hotel I waS lucky enough to have room no 123 which was at garden level the grounds are beautiful and well kept it was overlooking the sea which was an amazing view the food was top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidMorrishGM, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and that you had a wonderful time. We have a lift in the hotel that goes to most floors, however we have some rooms that require using stairs to get to them. I am confused by the comment about not having a banister as there is a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay