We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Torquay Backpackers Hostel

119 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
3
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I been in this hostel and i want to say i no have regrets being there , nice and clean rooms plus a friendly staff and a friendly and full of life owner, many activities and many goods night i have there this hostel is a great place and really close to town , beach , and shops in town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

this place is not for everyone. It is place for people who are sociable, open minded, love partying and breaking the rules. It seems rules here are made to be broken. In one way it is an awesome place where you can meet people with various stories, people who will entertain you with their knowledge and this place is sort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I have been few times in the last 4 month at the backpackers in Torquay and I have to say that every-time it has been a pleasure. Great manager (Sean!) and friendly staff. Rooms are clean and downstairs there is always a lively atmosphere and someone to chat to! The hostel is close to all major shops,and only a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Great hostel. Staff are nice and helpful. The rooms are big and comfortable. There are big lockers in each room. The hostel is much nicer that the pictures you see on the website. I enjoyed my stay and definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking for a clean and also fun place to stay while in Torquay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I stayed one month here, I met such friendly people. The hostel is really great, the dinner and tv room, the kitchen and the pool area are really friendly, and usefull. I like a lot the decoration! Rooms are good, well cleaning. A good place to stay in Torquay :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to have you stay. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I stayed at Torquay Backpackers for almost 2 months and had an amazing time. Torquay itself is a great town with a beautiful harbour, great places to go out and stunning coastal walks in both directions. The hostel is only a short walk from Torquay's beach, mainstrip and harbour. Torquay is also a great base for visiting other coastal towns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, there was never a dull moment when you were here! Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you soon! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I stayed one night before an interview and had a great room - was next to the front door which is only annoying because they are all fire doors so make a Big Bang but that's unavoidable! Lovely people and very cool decoration, very homely and was made to feel very welcome! Great place! Stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to fire regulations all the doors must have door closers on them. Hope your interview went well! More 

roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Torquay backpackers in August 2014 and we had a very good experience. The hostel is centrally located, only 5 minutes walk from the main beach and the harbour area where you can find all the shops and the pubs. It has good facilites: a well equipped kitchen, a Tv lounge with plenty of dvds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon! More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hostel in August. I booked online a bunk bed in a 4 bed female dormitory and paid £20/night. Upon arrival, I was given the key to my room and was shown my bunk bed by a member of staff, which to my surprise was in a 6 bed dormitory. I insisted to be given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly can I apologise your stay here didn't meet your expectations. To clear up a few points, you did book a 4 bed female dorm but you were the only person who had booked this and as it was in August we were fully booked. Due to increased demand... More 

Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spend there with my boyfriend in a double room about two weeks in the first half of the year 2014. The location of the hostel was OK, it was on the hill, near the centre of Torquay – a smaller, picturesque and coastal town (with around 65 000 inhabitants). You could do all the near sightseeing simply on foot,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question