We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Torquay accommodations

Torquay Backpackers Hostel

119 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Hotel amenities
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Torquay Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #20 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Julia O Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
2
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Torquay Backpackers for almost 2 months and had an amazing time. Torquay itself is a great town with a beautiful harbour, great places to go out and stunning coastal walks in both directions. The hostel is only a short walk from Torquay's beach, mainstrip and harbour. Torquay is also a great base for visiting other coastal towns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, there was never a dull moment when you were here! Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you soon! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed one night before an interview and had a great room - was next to the front door which is only annoying because they are all fire doors so make a Big Bang but that's unavoidable! Lovely people and very cool decoration, very homely and was made to feel very welcome! Great place! Stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to fire regulations all the doors must have door closers on them. Hope your interview went well! More

roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Torquay backpackers in August 2014 and we had a very good experience. The hostel is centrally located, only 5 minutes walk from the main beach and the harbour area where you can find all the shops and the pubs. It has good facilites: a well equipped kitchen, a Tv lounge with plenty of dvds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon! More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hostel in August. I booked online a bunk bed in a 4 bed female dormitory and paid £20/night. Upon arrival, I was given the key to my room and was shown my bunk bed by a member of staff, which to my surprise was in a 6 bed dormitory. I insisted to be given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly can I apologise your stay here didn't meet your expectations. To clear up a few points, you did book a 4 bed female dorm but you were the only person who had booked this and as it was in August we were fully booked. Due to increased demand... More

Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spend there with my boyfriend in a double room about two weeks in the first half of the year 2014. The location of the hostel was OK, it was on the hill, near the centre of Torquay – a smaller, picturesque and coastal town (with around 65 000 inhabitants). You could do all the near sightseeing simply on foot,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again! More

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed at this place for 2 weeks and I really liked. The staff is very cool making a good environment. I felt at home. Great space to make friendship. Lots of backpackers from all around the world. location is also a good thing. It's just 10 minutes or less from the bay and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a positive review! More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I checked in for a couple nights but extended my stay as I enjoyed it so much, the staff and residents were so friendly, it has a great sense of community and it feels like home. The staff were really accommodating and everything was clean and comfortable. great facilities with large dining room, lounge and a pool table outside! brilliant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Amy for your kind review. Hope to see you soon! More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I love Torquay Backpackers and have stayed several times, for stays between 1 night to 6 weeks! Sean (owner) goes out of his way to make sure everyone has a good stay. I once phoned him after reception closed when I was stuck in Exeter, (Exeter backpackers wouldn't let me stay because I didn't have ID) and he came to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review! Hope to see you during the summer for a few mojitos :-) More

Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A fantastic hostel with friendly staff and a homey atmosphere. It was fun and easy to meet other travellers or long term people staying at the hostel. The kitchen was usually very clean too, so you can cook happily.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived a few hours earlier than we had anticipated and were told by the person at reception that this was not a problem, we could check into our room early. As there were four of us travelling together we had booked a private room with an en-suite. We left all of our belongings in the room, locked up, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Firstly can I apologise that you had a negative experience with us. We do our best to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay here. Unfortunately this situation occurred from a very simple misunderstanding and snowballed into something of a fiasco! The review is surprisingly accurate and I don't question anything the reviewer has said, but there are two... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Torquay Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torquay Backpackers Hostel

Address: 119 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Torquay Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Backpackers Hostel Devon

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay