We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Torquay hotels

BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles to your Saves list
68%
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lyn P Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    164
    101
    49
    27
See reviews for
69
252
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (519)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel with Tesco Clubcard vouchers & were very impressed with the easy process. The hotel is well-located, although it's about a mile to the seafront & if you're walking, remember it's uphill on the way back! The room had a lovely sea view, with a balcony large enough to enjoy it & was very clean & tidy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

£12.50 for a 3 course meal with coffee in the lounge afterwards! Now, i can't say the food was brilliant it was ok. The service was really good and we ate in the conservatory with lovely views of the garden and the sea beyond. Very limited menu so would only recommend for Sunday lunch. To start i had the stuffed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We do offer a very substantial Sunday lunch menu with locally sourced produce and is exceptional value for money. Do hope you re-visit us again in the future. Trevor Cornish General Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel I have no complaints really. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean. Good choice for breakfast full English and continental. Sea view room is quite far away. Floor boards were noisy in room and walls are thin. Need the bus or car to town its steep hill with walking difficulties. Limited car spaces but managed to park on car park. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed it overall . Please come back and see us again soon Trevor Cornish General Manager More

West Country
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had seen mixed reviews of this hotel on tripadvisor, so wasn't expecting too much. The location was quiet and handy for Torquay (good choice of buses nearby). There is an excellent local pub for food within easy walking distance. (We didn't eat in the hotel, except for breakfast, which was good without being exceptional and in an excellent seating area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased overall with your stay, Did you mention to reception any of your concerns at the time had you done so there may have been an opportunity to move rooms .We do pride ourselves on all our locally sourced produce for all our meals.The breakfast buffet is a great variety to choose from more than... More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After having a really bad experience in another BW in Torquay, it was hoped that this would be a better experience. We had an upgraded room with a sea view. Sorrento. This put me in a good mood as we honeymooned there!!!! View was excellent. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was tired and in need of major refresh. We had afternoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased overall with your stay, Did you mention to reception any of your concerns at the time had you done so there may have been an opportunity to move rooms . Please hope that you will return in the future. Trevor Cornish General Manager More

Rainham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose BW as have had good experience in other areas, downstairs excellent condition rooms are so out dated , was told i had an upgrade room (thank goodness) useless shower stained carpet and walls, very poor value for money, stayed in Premier inn night before for half the price and was so much better will not be returning on next... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We are of 3 star standard as are all our rooms . Did you in fact ask at the desk to view another room? We may have been able to change rooms for you at this time . Trevor Cornish General Manager More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is modern (sixties) in style. Reasonable amount of onsite parking but layout can be a bit awkward due to a large tree and flowerbed in the middle. Buffet breakfast with a good selection (cereals, toast, juices and full English) available. Guests mostly eat in conservatory at the rear with good sea views. Staff attentive and polite. There is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us do hope that you will be returning in the future for a short break. Trevor Cornish General Manager More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrive to a nice’ish looking hotel and inside was pleasant, I got upstairs to my room which was not as expected, very small with no dressing table, carpet was full of Stains and when I opened the bathroom door the smell was horrid and non to clean, the balcony was so dirty you couldn't use it. I was given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thank you for your somewhat negative review. We were obviously not the place for you. All rooms are are of a good 3 star standard with every room having a balcony an added bonus. As for the menu we have plenty of choices on each course 4 starter 8 main and a least 4 desserts all of which change daily.... More

Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are some breathtaking sea views from some of the rooms at the Gleneagles; we were fortunate enough to stay in room 23 'Cascade', a corner room with large picture windows. The staff are great, breakfasts are generous and tasty, and the bar and restaurant areas are really far more stylish than you might reasonably expect. We ate dinner in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerGleneagles, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. So pleased you once again enjoyed your stay. Glad you enjoyed our locally sourced produce this is what we are passionate about. Do hope to see you again in the future. Trevor Cornish General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles

Address: Asheldon Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gleneagles
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gleneagles Torquay, Devon

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (90)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay