We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Seascape Hotel

8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (164)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #68 of 98 hotels in Torquay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
17
68
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived home on Friday after a four night break with National Holidays.We are a group of six friends who all really enjoyed our stay at the Seascape.The hotel is absolutely spotless ,our room was small as was the bathroom but plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.The towels and bedding were very clean ,faultless really.We had a sea view and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rated this hotel as excellent, because for value for money it could not be faulted, I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and believe me, have experience of more expensive hotels which were much inferior to the Seascape and mainly much more expensive. More recently my wife and I have experience of other hotels when on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your review and such a positive one at that! We are so pleased to read that you found the hotel be excellent based on value for money and also that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with great staff. We have received a few bad reviews of late that... More

Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Seascape whilst on a coach trip. The room we had was clean but we had to walk from the reception area down lots of small flights of stairs to the end of the property. Too much for us oldies! The advertisement said it was to be menus from a different country each night but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again. I would like to stress that there is a lift in the main building of the hotel, however not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, which is why we stress that all guests that require a low floor should request it whilst booking their holiday,... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before travelling we were concerned regarding the negative reviews however i am pleased to say we had no problems and enjoyed our stay very much. When travelling we have a bit of a checklist i.e. is the hotel clean - this hotel was spotlessly clean. Are the beds comfy - the beds are very comfy and we slept very well.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a number of staff that can multitask here but as you say we see it as good customer service not understaffing, in this trade you do find that most hotels have staff with these qualities.... More

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is understaffed and as such we found it dirty, the showers too small you had to struggle to get in ,and woe betide you if you dropped the soap,I admit I am not skinny but even a normal built human would find it tight, and if you wanted clean towels they cost 50p each per day. The beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer The hotel is by no means under staffed. This is the only review that says the hotel is unclean?! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and the staff work hard to ensure the standards are maintained. Bath mats just have to be requested, as stated in the blue folder within your room. The towel charge only gets charged... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very tired looking hotel,room 28,2nd floor,so small,you can't swing a cat! shower so small you can't move,food only adequate,Room so hot,window only opens about 2inches,on main road,casino 2 buildings away,never slept for 3days,the noise all night was unbearable,far too hot to shut window,awful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately I can not do a great deal about the position of the hotel in terms or road positioning or the other buildings that surround the hotel! The windows only have a small opening due to health and safety regulations that we have to... More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Seascape at Torquay. It was clean, the bedroom was adequate, the staff friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff and the food left a lot to be desired. The food was probably the worst quality and flavour I have ever had in my life and in my career I stayed at many hotels. The menus were the sort of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review, im sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food during your stay. The food we provide is based on the type of clientele the hotel attracts, it seems good old traditional food is the preferred dishes, we have changed the menus over the years but the call to revert back to... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was an exceptional holiday in as much as the coach driver, service staff,unseen cleaning staff and bar staff were each and every one a gem. Management were on the ball and all went well. Not being mobile uch it was great to use the lift. Great value holiday . My wife and I would recommend and wish a return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much, for your review and such a positive one at that. Thank you for comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the management. We always appreciate your kind comments and it makes our job worthwhile, its nice to know that the hard work the staff put in is appreciated. Kindest Regards... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was booked into via a coach holiday. When my daughter read the reviews here about the hotel she was very concerned about the quality and conditions. If you are after 5 star top end quality please do not book here, you will be disappointed. Yes there are “defects” with the hotel but it is an old building and if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you are very right if you want 5* then 5* prices will need to be paid. We do not profess to be a 5 star hotel but we do provide excellent quality and service for our standard of... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

lovely 3 nights stay ,food spot on am and pm .staff work hard looked after us thank you very much for the nights we stayed d day week end, ps the man who sing sat night was a bit dated. would we go back yes

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the food to the staff to be very good. We do hope that you will return. Many Thanks & Kindest Regards Michelle Lyons More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seascape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Seascape Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seascape Hotel to your Saves list