We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Colindale Guest House

20 Rathmore Rd | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Colindale Guest House to your Saves list
Colindale Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
91%
Ranked #45 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014
KarenP2109 Faversham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were welcomed by Barry who immediately made us a pot of tea even though we arrived earlier than the check in time. When he realised we were sharing a bottle of wine in the evening he started to leave out some wine glasses for us too. Breakfast was fantastic - perfectly cooked and an interesting set of choices. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at the Colindale Hotel for 4 days, from the 2nd of May to the 5th of May. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. We arrived in the afternoon, and we were immediately greeted by Barry . He kindly took our luggage and provide tea for us in his elegant drawing room which contains a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We felt very unwelcome at Colindale guest house. From the other reviews I can see when Barry is nice he is very nice, but when he is not in a good mood, he is horrid. The only person in over 50 places, we stayed on our trip, that we found to be so rude and very nasty. The room we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

I find it rather strange that you have waited 5 months before posting your review.I feel I was justified to tell you that you had arrived in my breakfast room 30 minutes early.During your stay with us you constantly found fault with everything and we found it difficult to please you.Your personal attack on me and my establishment will be... More

Moira, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I were very lucky in getting a room due to a late cancellation, and what a find for the Bank Holiday weekend. Barry, the proprietor is an absolute gentleman, ably assisted by the lovely Cara! The house is clean, airy & bright. Our room (No 3) had comfortable twin beds, en suite shower room with plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have you both here as guests.Cara and I hope to see you again one day.By the way the photo was great ...thank you. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Oh Dear spring to mind. I stayed at the Colindale. The first morning as i was going down for breakfast a grey cat was walking over the kitchen top.There also got a small dog. The dog was running around the dining room which i don`t think is very nice. The room was in need of a bit of cleaning. as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

My rooms are clean see previous many reviews.You don't like animals.Too bad.Go elsewhere then. More

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed with Barry whilst in Torquay, the house is nicey located in Torquay close to the train station if you do not have your own vehicle. Within 15 -20 minutes walk to the central area with shops and restaurants etc along the waterfront, a very pleasant walk. The room was spacious and well equipped with free wifi and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First class host with first class breakfast. Quiet but near to main road train station buses and beach. Room at a glance very bright and clean. Twin beds were not very comfortable they creek and wobble, on suite rather small but serviceable. Shower very gentle, toilet paper stuck round the bristles of the toilet brush. Bin in bathroom not emptied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

During your stay with me here,you were probably unaware that I was running this big house single handed as I had been badly let down by my chambermaid/ assistant. Firstly let me apologise that your bed linen was not changed on the 4th day of your stay as is my usual practice.The hand towels and shower mat which you placed... More

Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Barry the proprietor could not be more helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were great, perfectly served with a good choice, but no pancakes. Unfortunately our room (blue room), one of only four, was quite small, the en-suite very small and poorly maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zürich
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed here twice so far and recommend it to all my friends in Switzerland. Barry is a lovely host who looks after his guests and makes sure you have the best of stays in the area. Actually I can't wait to find another excuse to go back. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the breakfasts plentiful and delicious.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First class from start to finish. Barry greeted us as though we were old friends and this set the tone for our break. Room 5 was spotless, all mod cons, en-suite and a few little extras which was a nice touch. Breakfast is top draw. Great selection from start to finish, all cooked fresh to order. Great location for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Colindale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Colindale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Address: 20 Rathmore Rd | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Colindale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Colindale Guest House Torquay, Devon

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colindale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer