We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TLH Toorak Hotel

Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
TLH Toorak Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel from January 29th to Feburary 1st 2016. I had no problems parking my car. My single ensuite room was of a very acceptable standard with tv wardrobe chest of draws and desk. The wifi signal was exceptionally good throughout the 3 hotel complex. Food,breakfast and dinner were of a high standard as was the service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I was here for a dance break hosted by Gerald and Margaret Thompson. It's the second time we have been and will probably come again next year. Gerald and Margaret are great hosts and have helped us a lot with our dancing. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food is good however, there were a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobPavitt
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone was made very welcome and the mixed standards of the dancers were all well catered for. Useful tuition and a sense of humour made this break most enjoyable. We hope to return next year. Davine, Weston-super-Mare

Helpful?
Thank davine2016
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first stay in the Toorak Hotel but our overall 7th visit to the TLH Leisure Resort. We normally stay at the Carlton in the same complex. I bring a group of lovely, happy, up for a good time people along for the Zumba Weekends. The feedback from the guests has been brilliant saying how much they always... More 

Helpful?
Thank beverley n
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bev, Thank you so much for your kind review and it was great to have you here with us at the Toorak this time for your Zumba break. The staff all commented on how nice it was to look after your group and it looked as though all had a good time. I will pass your kind words onto... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bad choice on our behalf, bad hotel. Terrible room, and hotel is dated. Though I was taken back to 1975! Food was not good either. The owners need to inject some money into the place and bring the hotel up to 2016.

Helpful?
2 Thank Graz M
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graz, Thank you for your review and I am really sorry that you left the hotel with such a bad impression. If you had come to us with your concerns then we could have addressed your issues while you were here. We do have some older style rooms in the hotel and have a programme in place to update... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at TLH Leisure before but first time at Toorak. There was 4 of us in 3 rooms Each room was Basic But VERY clean hot water & clean bedding & towels every day. Breakfast & Evening meal was excellent Kamil our waiter was very good hope he will be there next year. Sarah had the Bowling well organised &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bowls1960
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are really glad that you had such an enjoyable bowls break. I will pass your excellent feedback onto Kamil the team here at the Toorak and also Sarah and her team over at the bowls arena. We look forward to seeing you again next year for more of... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We upgraded to a riviera terrace room, which while large was not overly warm with only single glazed Windows so the wind and rain woke us most nights. and had a very small and shabby bathroom. We had to run the hot tap and often there was no hot water the shower however was good. Whilst we had been told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqy3
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqy, Thank you for your feedback I will pass this onto the team here at the Toorak. I am really sorry that some of your stay was not up to our usual high standards. In future if you are not happy with some of the aspects of your stay then please inform us at reception and we will look... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Toorak in August with my family and really our mini break, food more than enough and great for the kids as they have there own buffet if needed. Rooms basic but clean and changed towels every day if needed. I used to stay here on business as friendly staff on reception and restaurant. Great facilities and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JackRuby41
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review it is really nice to hear feedback from our regular guests about how much you enjoy the hotel and that you return to stay with us frequently. I will pass your feedback onto the team to improve what we offer and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent New Year here with friends and we were not disappointed so much so we have re-booked for next New Year. The food was excellent so please don't let your chef go before we return. The choice of entertainment was excellent and as we love to dance we spent a lot of the time with Sid and Roz dancing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laine29
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and it is great to hear that you had a fantastic time celebrating the new year with us. I will pass your lovely feedback onto the head chef and the team and I can assure you we will makes sure he doesn't... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Recently went to the Toorak Hotel to have our Christmas staff night out. Food was OK but the service was really miserable. After we had our main course staff no longer served us and other tables so that could reset the room for breakfast. If we wanted desert or our coffee that we paid for we had to ask and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jas0n1981
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your recent Christmas party. I am really sorry that you felt that the staff serving you were not attentive enough and I can assure that this is not the norm. On the whole we have had excellent feedback for each party night and it is a real... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#40 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#34 of 95 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#37 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#48 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#11 of 95 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#60 of 95 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay