We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 152 Torquay B&Bs / inns

Hotel De La Mer

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Mer to your Saves list
16 Babbacombe Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel De La Mer
Ranked #107 of 152 Torquay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed as a group of 5 with a 8month old baby a few weeks back and must say it was excellent all round,staff were so helpful and the food was superb. Our room was spacious as we had the fire escape room so could open the door to let some fresh air in,the other room we had was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel twice this year . The staff are extremely friendly and helpful . The food is excellent, locally sourced , and there is always plenty of it available - second portions of breakfast and dinner are always available . . Great evening entertainment to suit all ages. Great location , 2 minutes to model village... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kent
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just returned from a 5 day break at this Hotel..We understand the coach company has never used this Hotel before. In my opinion, they should not ever use in again. Our room was very small and there was also a problem with the key when trying to open the door. A bag of coffee,sugar and milk was provided with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luke T, Owner at Hotel De La Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we welcome all feedback; positive and negative. However I must contest some of your statement, the coach company in question has previously run 2 very successful tours to our hotel. When you complained about your bedroom key, you were advised that there was no need for you to use your... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned from a stay at this Hotel.. The whole Hotel is in need of a good clean. There is dust on all the furniture and it has been there for quite a while. The tea trolley is disgusting and in need of cleaning and sterilising. The Staff wear the same overalls no matter which job they are doing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Luke T, Owner at Hotel De La Mer, responded to this review

In response to your review of our hotel: You made it very clear from your arrival that you were not happy with the level of accommodation offered at our establishment. We did our very best to make you welcome, but you sadly rebuffed all of our efforts to satisfy you. You were rude to all of our staff and other... More

West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a great break here with a coach party. Great food, always piping hot and 'seconds' always available. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The owners love their hotel and it shows. Entertainment superb - don't miss Peter Baffles! Room was small but spotlessly clean. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Well done to all of you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

excellent hotel, great food, friendly staff, good entertainment, rooms small but adequate ,even catered for my wifes diabetic diet, first hotel ever to offer this facility . we were part of a seniors coach party ,will be using this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very warm welcome from all the staff. Loved having a hairdryer in the room Meals my compliments to the chef. Diabetics catered for. Nothing too much trouble. Good luck to the staff who did the run for memory makers the charity supported by the hotel. Entertainment good and they even made us sandwiches for the return journey. They support the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thanks to Kaydeigh, Jade, Luke, Suzanne, Helen and John for yet another wonderful stay. We went Monday to Friday had wonderful food, great company and could not better this. It ranks top with just one other of our favourite UK hotels. Keep up the good work and the charity work - and don't stop doing what you are doing. Can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from coach trip to Hotel de la mer. Staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean.The food is good home cooking.The choice is limited but as this is a small hotel more options might prove uneconomic. Always seconds available. The evening entertainment on Sunday and Tuesday was very good. On Monday there was bingo and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

On Friday 7th March 2014 I took a coach group of 35 senior citizens to Hotel De La Mer. This was our first visit, so really didn't know what to expect. On arrival we were welcomed by Luke the proprietor. Our expectations were exceeded by a fabulous hotel and fantastic friendly staff. The hotel from top to bottom was beautifully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel De La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Mer

Address: 16 Babbacombe Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer Torquay, Devon

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay