We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Torquay hotels

Templestowe Hotel

Save
You added Templestowe Hotel to your Saves list
Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Hotel amenities
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    67
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
96
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came back for just 2 days this time. Staff were just wonderful and the food as always was very good. I do not know of anywhere else you can get the quality of staff to serve and entertain you at the price that you pay !!! You do need to arrive early to get a parking space, but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a two night stay for £49.99, our room was on the top floor, it was not spacious but comfortable enough. The one criticism I have is although the bathroom had a bath there was a pathetic shower which ran off mixer tap, it was'nt high on the wall and when you stood up the water came out in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wells
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went on a special 1940s theme couple of days. Exellent all round not a single complaint a little bit of trouble Parking Food Brill,We had a happy hr £1/ pint. Room we had was room No1 very spacious room and on suite was good double shower. Patio door on to outside pool area a walk across passage to dinening room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, We are glad you had a great few days with us. The parking issue was due to this short break being all self drive and does not occur very often. We hope this does not stop you from visiting us again soon. More 

Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two nights bargain break on Magestic self drive holiday. It was a forties break, the decorations were really good, and so was the entertainment. We had a nice room,nice and warm with a double bed and two singles, so plenty of room, nice big shower too, 112. The food was good and the service fast. We got the last parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We can only apologise for your car parking experience, as you may or may not be aware we are predominantly a coaching hotel and situation does not arise on a regular basis. We hope this has not put you off making further visits to the hotel. More 

Somerset U.K.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our short self-drive break was an absolute treat. Our 4th visit over a few years gave us a real winter tonic. The room, a sea view, was large but cosy and kept lovely and warm, though outside was freezing. The highlight was the entertainment...you'll not see better. One night was a very accomplished singer/keyboard player plus the fabulous "Stagedoor Johnnies".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We are pleased that your stay here was enjoyable. We pride ourselves on being Torquay’s number one hotel for entertainment. We will pass on your kind comments to the artists mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had a great time on the recent "40s" 2 night break--first visit and was really impressed--the room was clean and tidy,food very good and entertainment spot on--so what went wrong--just a couple of annoying things that let us down but did not affect other people this is a coach holiday destination but this break was drive yourself and on arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we thank you for taking time out to leave a review and we are pleased that you stay with was comfortable and you enjoyed our entertainment. We are sorry to hear that a few slight faults dampened your stay. As you may or may not be aware, Our hotel is predominantly a coaching hotel and this problem does not... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel 🏨 I definitely recommend as soon as you go through the doors the staff is so helpful and friendly,entertainment great,rooms ace and clean and shower very spacious hoping. To go back loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for kind comments regarding your stay at the Templestowe hotel, We are pleased that your stay with was very satisfactory and we welcome your return. More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from our second visit Carry on Christmas?Beautifully decorated food very good always hot and our waiter was extremely efficient and polite nothing too much trouble.The entertainment was excellent especially Simon Rees.Our room 210 was very clean and warm..Will definitely be returning in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your break with us. Simon is a new cabaret here at the hotel so its good to hear you enjoyed him. On behalf of all the staff and management we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

hi Wife stayed for 3 nights--she uses a rolator to get about--could you please arrange for ramps to be available into the restaurant and also in the bar area as negotiating steps was difficult--also would be impossible for someone using a wheelchair. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever--food accommodation--entertainment first class Thanks Robet

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your wife’s recent stay with us. We currently have a ramp leading into the restaurant which the hotel staff are happy to assist with however our future refurbishment plans do include redesigning the entrance of the restaurant to make it much more accessible. I am so pleased she enjoyed her stay and... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Our sixth visit to the Templestow and it gets better and better.From the group booking team Eiron and Clair to hotel staff all are excellent The same staff have been here since our first visit four years ago which say's a lot about the Hotel management. Rooms are of a high standard with walk in showers and kept clean by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review and kind words, I am so pleased that you enjoyed another stay with us. All of the team work incredibly hard and it is always lovely for our staff to get a special mention; they work tirelessly to ensure that all our guests have a great time whilst on holiday. I look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay