We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Templestowe Hotel

#14 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Templestowe Hotel
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    67
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
98
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great weekend. Our sea view room was superb, very large with gorgeous windows looking out over the swimming pool and beyond to the sea. We were very impressed with the food and service. Excellent entertainment. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a couple of nights break. We'll meet again. Every thing was faultless. Rooms were spotless. Food was excellent nothing fancy just good home cooking. Brilliant staff. The entertainment was top class. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best short break in a long time, food was great, accomodation was great, beer was great, staff were great, and to cap it off the entertainment was super! 1940,s theme break is brilliant! and i would highly recommend this venue to those who have not been YET!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear everything was “GREAT” and you enjoyed the 40’s themed break! We have various breaks throughout the year including Turkey and Tinsel and also our free bar breaks but this is one of the themes the staff and guest love. Once again thank you for taking the time to write such kind words and we... More 

pontypool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

what can I say about this hotel that hasn't been said before?. the public areas have a certain old world charm about them but the rooms are bright, modern, comfortable and well equipped. the staff are all friendly, helpful. and easy to deal with.the food? well there was six of us and on a four day visit this equates to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear such kind words, I have passed your comments regarding the food on to our kitchen staff who are pleased to hear your group enjoyed the meals. Its nice to read you are already planning your next stay with us and with that we look forward to once again having you back. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (my wife Jenny and myself) do a lot of trips and there aren't many we would give a 5 ***** rating. We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Templestowe, Torquay. It was part of a coach/hotel break with Majestic Tours. From the moment we got on the coach to the moment we arrived back, everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We came back for just 2 days this time. Staff were just wonderful and the food as always was very good. I do not know of anywhere else you can get the quality of staff to serve and entertain you at the price that you pay !!! You do need to arrive early to get a parking space, but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, We pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

Had a two night stay for £49.99, our room was on the top floor, it was not spacious but comfortable enough. The one criticism I have is although the bathroom had a bath there was a pathetic shower which ran off mixer tap, it was'nt high on the wall and when you stood up the water came out in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments regarding your stay with us, I have passed on your concerns with the shower to our maintenance team who will look into this. Once again as mentioned in previous comments about the car parking situation, These breaks were sold on a self drive basis so the car park would have been full but this does not... More 

wells
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Went on a special 1940s theme couple of days. Exellent all round not a single complaint a little bit of trouble Parking Food Brill,We had a happy hr £1/ pint. Room we had was room No1 very spacious room and on suite was good double shower. Patio door on to outside pool area a walk across passage to dinening room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, We are glad you had a great few days with us. The parking issue was due to this short break being all self drive and does not occur very often. We hope this does not stop you from visiting us again soon. More 

Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Two nights bargain break on Magestic self drive holiday. It was a forties break, the decorations were really good, and so was the entertainment. We had a nice room,nice and warm with a double bed and two singles, so plenty of room, nice big shower too, 112. The food was good and the service fast. We got the last parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We can only apologise for your car parking experience, as you may or may not be aware we are predominantly a coaching hotel and situation does not arise on a regular basis. We hope this has not put you off making further visits to the hotel. More 

Somerset U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Our short self-drive break was an absolute treat. Our 4th visit over a few years gave us a real winter tonic. The room, a sea view, was large but cosy and kept lovely and warm, though outside was freezing. The highlight was the entertainment...you'll not see better. One night was a very accomplished singer/keyboard player plus the fabulous "Stagedoor Johnnies".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We are pleased that your stay here was enjoyable. We pride ourselves on being Torquay’s number one hotel for entertainment. We will pass on your kind comments to the artists mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question