We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TLH Derwent Hotel

Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
TLH Derwent Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I went to the Derwent for 4 nights, mainly to see Neil Graham as Terri Topaz (drag show) brilliant show, the Hotel was a bonus, food was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, nothing to much trouble, pool was large with a separate kids pool and another part that would be deep for kids but perfect if... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharonsmiff
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very poor visit having been here before we were very surprised at the noise levels of workmen moving furniture at 7 am with no respect for the guests. Creaking floors, rock solid beds. The staff in general are very polite and friendly but it seems the management have no thought for guests comfort anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Angela L
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise during your visit. I am not sure who would have been moving furniture at 7am as you have stated. I will look into your feedback to ensure we do not start such activity at this time in future. We are continuing our bedroom refurbishment and improvement program, as we... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the Derwent hotel. Food was great especially breakfasts and we even got the room that we requested as we have been many times before. Staff were all polite and helpful and entertainment was good both nights. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the Med bar overlooking the indoor pool. A very relaxing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst turkey and tinsel break we have ever been on. The entertainment brought in was ok although not Christmassy on most evenings. There was no atmosphere in the hotel, no interaction from any of the staff and the dance floor was empty every night..........even on "new years eve" Auld Lang Sign ----forget it. The best bit of the week... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your T&T break in the week prior to Christmas. I am also sorry that you have not had a response until now. I would have been available during your break to discuss any issues you may have had, I am sorry this was not the case. We have only just... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a 2 night break with Motown entertainment both nights. Breakfast and evening food was very good. Room was clean and well presented. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and associated facilities were very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank SusieC1961
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room, food and services all represented excellent value during our recent weekend break. However we got thoroughly cheesed off at having to run the gauntlet of smokers on the front entrance steps. Smokers need somewhere to smoke of course but The Derwent needs to find a better place for them.

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are looking at the options to discourage smokers from smoking directly outside. We do currently have several areas guests can smoke with shelter from the elements, but we are aware of the issue of guests standing outside our front doors. Kind regards More 

Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent Mon-Thurs break, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, rooms were clean and the amenities were fantastic. There was also a good variety of quality evening entertainment. I would highly recommend a holiday at this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kindest regards More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely! My husband and I went to the Derwent over New Year for 3 nights and had a great time. On arrival reception staff were very welcoming and informative,our room on the fourth floor was fine, beds clean, room a little dated but serviced everyday. Restaurant staff were very attentive and the food and service was first class, especially on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieb11
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Happy New Year ! More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed with a group of over 300 people for a dance weekend I work with group holidays around UK throughout the year. I was very impressed with the excellent standards of service in this Hotel. Reception Cleaning Restaurant Bars all great and especially considering the numbers. Well done all. Obviously a well managed business. The hotel rooms and facilities... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank janeysu
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. Kind regards, Jason More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel fantastic entertainment good food great staff and management ask for 1st floor we had 168 our friends had 169 both rooms have a double and 2single beds bus stop right outside hotel hope to be going back later this year

Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer1950
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you later in the year. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#40 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#33 of 95 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#55 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#47 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#45 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay