We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frognel Hall Hotel

#38 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Hotel amenities
Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jim B Dorchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
47
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time here and another enjoyable stay, great proprietors and good actors. Let down due to musty smelling room and damp mattress, rooms need a good airing before guests arrive. Stephen and Amanda are really friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Vodafone Roaming Pre-Install

Was this review helpful? Yes
alfreton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

back to Frognel again for christmas and new year. This was our 7th christmas and new year break and it just gets better. stephen and Amanda do everything possible to ensure a superb holiday. All the food is prepared on the premises from fesh local produce and is excellent. a good choice is offered and Stephen includes some interesting options,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I went hear with my partner , we had a lovely welcome as we rang the bell, Stephen gave us the key and went up the lift as my partner is in a wheel chair ,the room was lovely and big ,we were made very welcome by the guests , the food was good ,the best room is the lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We returned to Frognel Hall for Christmas knowing that we would have a restful time. Stephen and Amanda looked after us very well. The food was good, the atmosphere relaxing, and the lounge a nice place to sit on a wet day. In addition we met some old friends who tend to congregate at certain times of year. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My partner and I travelled here for a bank holiday break. The hotel is lovely with lots of character, french windows and big rooms. The bathroom is not modern but I love the old style. The place has a lot of history and the owners are super friendly and helpful. There is a little path that takes you down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was our second time staying at Frognel Hall and this time was even more enjoyable than last. Frognel Hall is in a lovely area which is so peaceful, but it's also very easy to get to, being only 5 minutes from Torquay Harbour/Marina and the same to the beach. Stephen and Amanda were so easy to talk to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

It was a late booking And after reading reviews booked up . People very friendly and good facilities and other guests very very happy .Breakfast excellent and a nice bar ,recommend Bays beer . However the bed had seen better days and needs replacing .in Master Richards room ..it was a shame as I think a comfortable good night's sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotelier, his wife and mother were very pleasant but the hotel is not up to the standard that is indicated on its web-site. On arriving, we said that we’d like to book a table in the restaurant for the evening. Impossible; the table needs to be booked in the morning, which was disappointing. As a blue badge holder, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frognel, Owner at Frognel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We look at all reviews and examine the content to see how we can improve what we offer and to learn for the future, so your review is of value to us. We were obviously disappointed with it, however, as the vast majority of our guests... More 

Frankland, Western Australia.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Reading the reports from others on their experiences at Frognel Hall Hotel, helped me to make up my mind as to which hotel I should book into in Torquey. Sadly, by experience wasn't as good as it was for others who have stayed there. I'm beginning to think that all rooms are not equal. In one report someone mentioned the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frognel, Owner at Frognel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We were obviously disappointed with your review of us, as the vast majority of our guests have a very nice time. We offer a warm informal and relaxed environment and strive very hard to make our guests feel comfortable, which is one reason we get the positive reviews we do. Our web site has the Visit Britain 3 Star guest... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

On what has now become an annual holiday,we returned to Frognel hall and the Master`s Room. Wonderful views and a welcome through breeze and the usual warm welcome from Stephen and Amanda. the decor may be a bit dated but the quality of the food and room servicing were as high as ever.The breakfasts are promptly cooked to order and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question