We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cavendish Hotel

3.0 of 5 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cavendish Hotel
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    61
    33
    67
See reviews for
76
121
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (339)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
dronfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked this hotel for a five day Tinsel & Mistletoe holiday. the room décor was looking quite jaded. My bed was awful I put the top quilt, folded into four to sleep on, next day they had put on a topper which was adequate. Food mostly okay, although on Wednesday, due to my Sister not being well we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

First of all thank you for bringing this to my attention and I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you had hoped. Of course you are correct that you could have gone in to breakfast any time before 9.30 and that Alex's response was inappropriate. He has been with us for a... More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well where do i begin? The hotel is shabby and in desperate need of decoration, the room was tiny and smelly, the staff were actually quite nice apart from 1 member who worked behind the bar and spent most of his time drinking behind the bar as well, Torquay has far better hotels than this to stay at for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beccles, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was with my husband and we were part of a large group. Reviews weren't too good when we looked but I was pleasantly surprised. Although the building and decor is a bit tired our room was clean and the welcome was friendly. There's a lovely indoor pool and friendly bar with with good entertainment. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We understand that there are negative comments on here but we work hard to anticipate and address issues and we see every poor comment as an opportunity to improve. I am very pleased that you came and that you enjoyed yourselves and I am glad that you felt it was good value for... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are friendly and helpful, but I was assured it would be quiet. It's not. It's 11.30pm and I have been unable to get to sleep because I can hear the following from my room: someone on a phone in the lounge outside my room, snoring, people laughing at the bar, music, an alarm clock, people moving about in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sleepless and Angry, Thank you very much for your review and your detailed description of the noises you can hear. I am a little confused as to why you decided to write a review rather than tell us. If you had telephoned down to reception we could have done something at the time and made sure future guests don't... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have stayed here several times before, finding it average. We went back again simply because Mark Jenkins was filming The Hotel series. The atmosphere Mark created was great and made the holiday. As for the hotel, it's ok and staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Hayley - you're clearly a fan! It was great to have Mark here for the summer and we're looking forward to the new series being aired from December 28th. More 

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

38 members of a bowls team had a wonderful time with good entertainment and so well happy we did not have to venture out at any time. Done everything we asked for and certain to go back. We had the 4 poster room for my wife's birthday and really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and I'm delighted you had such a good time. It really was a wonderful summer, the hotel was full all the time and there was a great atmosphere. I'm particularly pleased that you enjoyed all the things not directly related to the filming - food, facilities, bedroom etc and that you enjoyed exploring the... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We booked this hotel when we heard that Channel 4 were filming another series of the "Hotel" the idea of meeting Mark Jenkins in person was quite interesting! On arrival we checked in, then greeted by Mark, which was a nice beginning to our holiday! Our room had a lovely view, and much better than anticipated, after reading other traveller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Seven of us went for a week 13th September till 20th September and we all had a great time The hotel staff were all a credit to the business with their willingness to please everybody and their natural friendliness toward the guests In my opinion anybody complaining about this hotel at the prices they charge should think before they give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review - amen to all the above! We very much hope to see you again soon. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

on arrival pleasant reception, was moved to first floor to improve access with guide dog. room adequate, but disturbed be another guest opening our room door(102) with his room key breakfast, cheaper quality but cooked well hotel needs T L C.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the cavendish could not wait to get away. 90%of the guests was complaining 1 new guest was given a key to her room only to find it did not have a door on!!!! Management a waste of time. Hotel dirty,food is a joke that bad we went out for some meals.we was told Chanel 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Richard B, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We do read and take action on all comments so your feedback is very useful to us. I accept that there were problems with service on the first morning of your stay. The issue we had was that all four coaches were making early starts, so the kitchen was swamped with 160 orders... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay