We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Torquay hotels

Bay Torbay Hotel

Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM ONLY £89
Save Saved
You added Bay Torbay Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Torbay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
67%
Ranked #62 of 98 hotels in Torquay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
mayahWigan wigan
  • Reviews (334)
  • Photos (75)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (141)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    136
    66
    25
    29
See reviews for
58
176
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

just come back from this hotel. we went with shearings coach holidays .first of all may we say get well soon to chris the driver who took us down who as gone in hospital for treatment. may we also say thanks to neil our stand in driver for his knowledge of the area . now this is the third time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is a Large Hotel in prime position next to Torquay harbour and the shops, it is 4 floors high so you may be walking up and down the stairs due to the lift in use, the food is good with plenty of variety for Breakfast and Dinner, the dining room could do with better lighting as can the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from a shearings coach holiday to the Torbay hotel we stayed 6 nights excellent days out with shearings and the driver Chris was excellent very informative , the hotel was excellent we had a room at the back not much of a view the room was lovely food was great will definitely go back already planning the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

requested a room low floor near lift took motorised scooter .had room 201 ,went to 2nd floor got out lift onto a small landing . 3steps hall way thro door across landing thro 2nd door up another hall way into a narrow passage way .complained to duty manager , he left a wheel chair wheel on the 2nd floor to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

We have a number of rooms near to or close to the lift and attempt to accommodate the many request for these rooms, the room you mention is one nearer to the lift as we could manage for the room type booked. The lift breakdown was unfortunate but rectified as quickly as was possible. I am glad that our staff... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights middle of August. Paid £50 extra for a harbour facing room. Requested a cot and a bath for our 4 month old baby. Got to our room only to look out the window and realise we had paid £50 to face 10 oak trees and their branches. Look around no bath or cot.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations and I will look into the comments you have made. The majority of reviews on here compliment us on the cleanliness and service we provide so I am disappointed to read that you were so unhappy with it. I believe we offer great value for money breaks to all our... More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned to the Torbay for a 3 night break. Our last visit was 5 years ago, and there has been a definate decline in standards. We stayed on the fourth floor in a front facing room, and although clean could do with up-dating and double glazing fitted due to traffic noise. Additionally, the only lift was out of action from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry if you did not find your stay as enjoyable as your one before. We have invested heavily in the public areas and bedrooms since then so am surprised at your comments about it being in decline! Life all machinery, lifts do break down but it was repaired as quickly as was possible on the Sunday by the... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to say that the Hotel was clean and tidy and the room had every thing that was listed how ever we where on the top floor and the heat was unbareable we was unable to sleep the indoor swimming pool was locked. The view at the back of the Hotel was rockface about 4ft from the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am pleased that you found the hotel satisfactory to your needs. We do have a coded lock on the swimming pool door for safety reasons but that code is available to our guests. The location is as you say one of the best around. More

Croydon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading several favourable reviews about this hotel, we booked for a weeks holiday. We were not as impressed as we expected......firstly they say you can pre book a car parking space in a 'car park 5 mins walk from hotel ' they do not say it is up either a very steep hill or steep narrow steps....and is nearer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt that the many positive reviews we receive were not as you expected, but we do get many satisfied customers as you have read. The car park is not at the hotel but is secure and is accessible to all. I am not sure what you mean about ramp access as we do have ramp... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Negatives with this hotel was the cleanliness of our room on arrival. The bathroom had not been cleaned as the sink had tea stains and soap marks. Neither did the toilet and bath been wiped cleaned. The hotel only has single glazed windows which means noisy rooms from traffic. We had a travel cot for our little boy and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on your brief stay with us and will of course look into your comments made. I am surprised that the food was not to your liking as we receive many favourable postings on here regarding the quality of what we offer. I am glad that our staff were... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I first stayed at this hotel in march for 5 days with Shearings. Myself and my 13 year old son enjoyed it so we decided to come back for a week, again with Shearings. Again we had a fantastic stay and couldn't fault the hotel. First visit we had a sea view room and this visit we didn't but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sharon H thank you for your review of your recent holiday with us and I am pleased that your second stay with us was as enjoyable as your first. I will pass on your kind words to Lazlo who will be pleased to know that he looked after you and we look forward to your third visit to us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Torbay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Torquay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, ‘grand features in warm surroundings,’ and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities – the Premier and Superior rooms with sea views are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka “Rock Walk”) has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
222

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer