We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Torbay Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Torbay Hotel
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    74
    27
    35
See reviews for
62
192
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thank you for our weekend the rooms and entertainment were great but did have a few minor issues --- hotel cold ,food great on Friday and them got worst sat and Sunday and as we booked as a party of 14 it would have been nice to have sat together in resturant assure 3tables together not joined but didn't expect... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Torbay Hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly especially in the restaurant. Rooms were clean and comfortable and food good. The hotel has a pool where we enjoyed a swim although not many guests seemed aware of it . Entertainment every evening was enjoyable especially the soul singer who was brilliant! Value for money all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Bemaxs for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the Torbay and it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the hotel and what we have to offer. I agree and also believe that we offer great value for money here and at all our hotels. I am glad that you enjoyed the entertainment and swimming... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms 20 years overdue a refit. Food was tasteless and inedible. 'Xmas Dinner' Turkey swimming in thick gravy and a slice of stuffing which could have cut glass with. Supposed to have a glass of complimentary wine with dinner but ran out and we were told it was all gone. We checked out after two nights of a three night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read that you did not find your short stay to your liking, We do have a programmed refurbishment of our bedrooms with 13 rooms this side of Christmas being completed followed by another 20 in the New Year including our restaurant. As you can appreciate it is not possible to do everywhere at once but can... More 

Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. What a mistake. The room was dated but okay. On the first day we went down for dinner, when it came we took one look and left the dining room and went out for dinner elsewhere. It was awful. The chicken was a funny colour and should have been thrown out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and particularly the food, although I given it more than a night, I am sure, like other reviewers you would have found it appetising and to your liking. If you had brought your issue to our attention we would have also tried to have sorted them out to your satisfaction.... More 

bolton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

if want a good turkey n tinsel dont go to Torbay hotel , more like chicken n carbard , room 208 was realy dirty ,management came to inspect areed said she would enter comments, lift broke down , not in h/s book , staff not reported it , lots of tiles missing on swiming pool floor , George waiter good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We generally get very good comments from guests who stay with us, particularly with regards to the food but I can see here that you did not enjoy yourself. I will look into your room comments as this is not an often mentioned issue. On a positive... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Joe and Christine Phillips. Arrived 1st December 2014. We clicked on this holiday and laughed, it was so well priced, we figured it would be awful, but it’s close to Xmas and money is tight So we decided to "DO AWFULL" and make the best of it. We couldn't have been more wrong, Shearings know how to organise and produce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Joe P for your review of your stay with us at the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us and that your found everything to your liking. Its always gratifying to hear that the staff, who play a large part in the holiday experience were as friendly and efficient as ever. We do look forward... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A grand old hotel which could with a bit of tlc, service was good and breakfast was pretty good, the rooms are a bit tired and would benefit with some double glazing to keep the sounds of stag parties and boy racers out on the road , the shower was pretty poor in a very dated bathroom, but for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay wit us. We do have room refurbishments each year and while it is not possible to get to everywhere at one go, we are currently refurbishing 14 bedrooms with another 20 rooms being completed after the New year. We also have our restaurant being redecorated early in January. I hope that you... More 

kinver, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

why does a single room have to look out pn to a rubbish area or staff quarters ! room was adequate on the whole but the bathroom diabolical-- tiny and the shower almost impossible to get into- it has a "sliding door" so access is very restricted some of the staff were a little aloof (mainly the reception staff )... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carol W, I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy and I will look into the comments that you have made that dissatisfied you. our staff generally try their best to be professional and friendly and this is usually the opinion of our guests and am surprised that you felt that they... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, good food very good entertanment,with pleasant staff, near to the shops & marina It is an old hotel & has been referbed very nice, Only one lift ,buisy all the time. The only downside we had paid for a sea view which turned out to be a Tree view ! but this did not spoil our stay the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Julia S for your review of your recent girls trip away with us at the Torbay. its good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully we will see you again in the future More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE THIS HOTEL FOR TINSEL AND TURKEY!!!!!!!!!!!!! THEY DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS FUNCTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I Went To This Hotel With my mum on Friday 28/11/14 which was the start of CHRISTMAS!!! on entering it was an ordinary day? the foyer had no Christmas atmosphere the staff wore ordinary uniform.on entering the reception there was no tree or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry if you feel that the turkey and tinsel break was not as you expected. I am perplexed as to how you missed seeing the 12ft Christmas tree in the main reception area? I believe that the decoration of the hotel is tasteful and over the years has been decorated with a lot of though and is well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay