We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elfordleigh Hotel

Colebrook, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elfordleigh Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I got taken to the hotel for my birthday, the whole service was brilliant from start to finish. Used the facilities and had an evening meal which was amazing and delicious. Our waitress Clare was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and had service with a smile. Breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning and all staff were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey R
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband had some work in Plympton, so i booked this hotel for myself and 2 boys age 8 and 9. I had read the reviews from Tripadviser, and at the cost it was very reasonable. As others have stated, the hotel is a bit dated and tired in places. But having said that, the facilities are great, we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrsredmoid
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review the Elfordleigh. I am very pleased to read that you had a relaxing weekend away with your family. We are in the process of refurbishment which hopefully does not detract from the service and facilities we offer our guests which is why some areas of the hotel are closed off.... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the reviews I was sceptical about staying here but I needant of worried. The staff are friendly,accommodating and make you feel welcome. The rooms have recently been refurbished and the room we had had amazing views. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening even though the restaurant was quite busy the waitresses did there upmost best... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michealspudy
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at the Elfordleigh. I will certainly ensure my team are congratulated. We are at present starting our refurbishment programme on the ground floor and reception area so your next visit will be even more pleasant. We do indeed have a new kitchen brigade and will be launching our new... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed over the new year period, we found the hotel to be quiet and the room to be spacious, breakfast was good and the bar food good value. Unfortunately I had some bad news and had to leave early due to my father being unexpectedly seriously ill in hospital however we had paid for the full stay including the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Evoque2016
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept my apologies for not getting back to you sooner, I was having a few days off to recover from a very busy Christmas period. I do hope that the outcome of our telephone call... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Hotel was OK, neither here nor there. The Receptionists deserve a mention, most of them were always very friendly. The Kitchen leaves much to desire, and to an extent also the service. Ordered a Bacon and Brie Croissant for Breakfast, after about 15 Minutes waiting I enquired again, the waitress then run into the kitchen, I knew from her expression,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo W
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry to hear that all elements of your stay with us was not to your satisfaction ,please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you for your kind comments about our receptionists. I will ensure the chef is informed so he can retrain the chef who was on duty. I do hope this incident will not deter you... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

4th time at Elfordleigh and we never get bored of the hotel. We are a family of 5 and always have a family room, lots of space even with a huge kingsize bed, 2 singles & a camp bed. Huge bathroom with separate shower & bath. Has its own spa with a pool, tennis courts & 18 hole golf course.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 19BeachBum75
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to review us. I will ensure all the team are informed. We are about to start on the next phase of our refurbishment which will include the reception area and bedrooms so your next stay with us will be even more pleasant. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I stayed at this hotel two weeks ago,was comfortable, service was good, also had Sunday lunch, which was exceptional, I was a tad cold in the room though , that wouldn't put me off staying here again,

Helpful?
1 Thank Danny F
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danny, Thank you for your kind review, next time you stay please let us know if you are cold as we can supply a portable heater. I pleased to read that you were happy with the rest of our services. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Mike Lee General Manager More 

Devon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

We booked this as a mature Hen party for a group of 8 and after reading some reviews we were a tad concerned...we need not have wasted our energy as we couldn't fault anything from our welcoming receptionist, afternoon cream tea and the dinner and breakfast were amazing! Yes it's an old property in lovely grounds and could do with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SandieDevon
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandie, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are all pleased that you enjoyed all the elements of your stay with us. The next phase of our refurbishment will commence on Jan 14th which will include the lounge reception area and ground floor bedrooms. I will ensure that my team are informed of your compliments. Take care... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Gorgeous hotel with huge rooms and stunning grounds. The staff were courteous and polite however the receptionist on arrival was very rude and looked plainly bored. Great Spa & pool facilities. Unfortunately though they seem to be used as a local sports centre- It was packed! I was expecting a bit of luxury and ended up surrounded by infants learning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Under_Blue_Skies
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review. I do apologise with regards to the childrens swimming lessons disturbing your visit to the Oasis Centre, we do have policy in place that no children are allowed after 6pm. (As for butt naked older women I really cant educate them on what to watch on TV haha)( IJest) We are all... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Went as part of a golf society the course was great but the meal afterwards was awful, mash potatoes with a pork chop on top and no veg. It was quite disgusting for the price we paid. As a society we will not be booking a meal there again, but will play the course.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry A
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal, please accept my sincere apologies. The Chef has been informed on which dishes to serve to golfers in the future. When you book your society next year please contact me personally so I can reassure you that the meal will be no less than perfect. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel
Boringdon Hall Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
2.0 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#1 of 2 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Plympton
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay