We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elfordleigh Hotel

Colebrook, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Hotel amenities
Elfordleigh Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Al_Busby Brighton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    48
    34
    18
See reviews for
44
79
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having cause to visit Devon on Fri 22nd due to a relatives funeral, choosing where to stay for the evening, was a no brainer for myself and my wife and we managed to secure rooms at the Elfordleigh, with ease, only a couple of days before. We decided to pay £140 for the bridal suite which is a nice size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived tired after a wedding, expecting reasonably luxurious surrounds, so was disappointed by clean but slightly seedy and tired hotel, 2* quality with airs and prices of a 4*. Group event bookings made for noisy corridors at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A family Christening - wonderful, back home in my childhood manor of Plympton, in Plymouth. Well, the Christening was in town, but that is of no matter - I am not from in town, so I tried to find a place for us to stay near my mother's house, in Plympton - that idyllic semi-rural suburbia that to be frank,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited this Hotel at least 7 times. Wonderful Staff, great Directors - people who really care about their guests. Room 28 is the one for us - superb views of the Golf Course which is a real joy. My the hotel go from strength to strength. We will be there again as soon as we can. Great food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Its always a pleasure to welcome back frequent users of our facilities, we know that we must be doing something right. Whether its our leisure club, golf course, restaurant or just the superb views from our premier rooms its nice to know we are appreciated. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all the team, and... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived 8.30 pm Sam Receptionist greeted me very friendly and smiles ,ate in Restaurant 8.45 before closing at 9 pm asparagus strawberry salad starter porc medallion new potatoes raspberry trifle with honey comb, Beautiful large room overlooking the golf course huge bed very clean couldn't fault breakfast good apart from having to make own toast, the only disappointing part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to hear how welcome you were made to feel on arrival, Samantha now wants a pay rise!!! We always aim to give complete satisfaction to all our guests whether staying on business or indeed on holiday. Our team really like to ensure our reviews are positive and appreciate your kind comments. Please let me know... More 

Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a meeting in Plymouth, just needed a place to lay my head, turned out to be a little more then that, upgraded to a suite. The exterior might be a little tried, but it was raining when I arrived. Service & food could not be faulted, going back there in a weeks time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to your return. I would be delighted to join you for a coffee on your next visit. Once again on behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind comments. Take Care... More 

Swansea
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Found this little gem last minute whilst getting caught short in Plymouth. If you play golf, enjoy a spa, enjoy really good food, the pleasure of a traditional decorated property or just piece and quiet look no further this. Hotel ticks all of them and it is cheap as chip considering what I would've been prepared to pay. I'm definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, On behalf of all the team at the Elfordleigh I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. We all work very hard together to ensure all our visitors receive the best of hospitality. I do hope on your next visit you will choose to stay with us again. Take Care Michael Lee... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

What fantastic value the afternoon tea is. And you can only have one between two so do not order one each. You get 2 sandwiches, 2 tray bakes and 2 slices of tart.... Not to mention 2 scones with jam and clotted cream. With a big pot of tea. Fantastic value at just under £11. Sit outside on a sunny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review our very popular afternoon tea, I must agree the view from our terrace is beautiful, the food delicious and a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in pure bliss. Thank you from all the team at the Elfordleigh. Michael Lee General Manager More 

Plymouth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

I recently visited to plan a birthday celebration. The Elfordleigh holds special memories as its where I got married 24 years ago! I have to say it's not changed much! It has lost its sparkle and does not seem to of kept up a good appearance. The dining room looked very dated. We had a look around and the toilets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michele, Thank you for taking the time to write a review although a little harsh. I would like to point out that we do not have security staff and wonder if you could enlighten me further. I also feel that giving us a rating worse than Macdonalds and KFC is somewhat strange. We do realise that yes we are... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Disappointed about my stay here in light of good reviews, but may depend on why you are staying. I arrived relatively late in the evening, prior to business the following day. Parking was good, and checkin efficient. The room was quite large, but functional, despite it's golf course name. Wifi didn't work unless you sat in the corridor outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Please accept my apologies for our poor internet service. We are always upgrading our system to obtain the best results we can, unfortunately we are in the country and our signal can be affected with various conditions. Hopefully in the future we will be able to offer a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities