We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

107-113 Citadel Road West | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Hotel amenities
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #36 of 86 Plymouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    22
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
16
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rusty and his staff provide friendly and professional service. Perfect holiday spot for young and older couples. The breakfast is fantastic and doesn't hurt your pocket. all this including an early morning alarm provided by local bird life. Danny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Danny. We're all glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially after travelling so far, and it's good to know that our Full English breakfast can even satisfy an Australian's hunger! Although we can't compete with the sights and sounds of Brisbane, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us... More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here the night of MTV crashes literally 2 minutes from the hoe where the concert was at! Room ready for when we arrived and amazing staff who were very welcoming and lovely! All facilities are included highly recommend! Great stay for an amazing price!!! Lovely spacious rooms with a lovely en suite bathroom!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We are all glad that we were able to be the base you needed for the MTV concert on the Hoe; we are lucky to be so well placed in Plymouth. We all hope that your aching feet have recovered from all of the dancing that you did! It was lovely to meet you and we... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived it took us 30 minutes to even find the car park. By car park they mean 5 spaces surrounded by brick walls. Once you've parked don't expect to be able to get out until you leave. We woke up Friday morning to find our car completely blocked in, so we were unable to get the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Firstly, can I thank you for taking so much of your time to give us such a full review. It's nice to know that you have been thoughtful enough to let us know the things that you think we should improve upon. To answer some of your points, let me first start by apologising that your stay with us was... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this B and B ticked the right boxes for the price I paid: Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, powerful shower and good breakfast. It is very convenient for the hoe, barbican and waterfront and very friendly host. Car park at back fitted quite a number of cars in and plenty of on road parking should that be full. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We always hope that what we do here is appreciated; we're glad that we managed to be what you need for your stay. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were made very welcome at this expanding family run B & B, despite a late arrival, by Chris and John. We were able to park our car in the car park, but sometimes this is not possible as there is limited space. We were so impressed that we booked a return stay on our way back from France, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again, Linda. Although it's such a long way from Scotland to us here, we can't wait to see you again. maybe next time you'll stay here with us, rather than go abroad! More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good points: Free, reliable WiFi and very pleasant staff at the breakfast, which was also ok. The location is great, really close to both the main high street and sea front. Not so great: Very strange man on the phone beforehand who wouldn't confirm whether or not I'd be able to park there, so that I ended up getting the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow. It sounds as though you had a terrible time staying here with us, although we are a little concerned about some of your comments; we do have our own car park, but we do say that it is on a 'first come, first served' basis. If you had asked the staff member on the telephone for a definitive answer... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at Kynance B+B quite a few times now when I visit plymouth. The staff are great. Always make you feel very welcome. The rooms are great they have everything you need. The staff are always on hand to help you. If visiting Plymouth this is the best place to stay. I know when I go back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's always great to hear from our guests,especially our regulars. Thanks for the kind words, and we are all looking forward to seeing you for the International Firework Competition in August! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been meaning to review this place since we visited and only just got round to it! I was hesitant when booking this B&B online as there weren't many photos and the exterior looked rather worn down. However, when I arrived, the staff were lovely and the room was so nice I couldn't believe it. Everything was new and clean, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, it seems such a long time since you stayed here but, now the weather's changed for the better, hopefully you'll come back again and enjoy the summer here in Britain's wonderful Ocean City.. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We had planned to stay at Kynance house for two nights. Lots of silly things happened that were not worth mentioning, the guy that greeted us and checked us in had an amusing sense of humour. We found it funny that within 15 mins we could not get back in our room and he needed a hammer and chisel to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Here at Kynance House we have been operating for over 60 years and, in that time, we have undertaken refurbishment and repair because, sometimes, things break or fail, and need to be fixed. Obviously our main aim here is for our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay so we always try to get things put right immediately if... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Very clean, tidy and friendly staff .We stayed for five nights the only reason I haven't given top score was the shower doors were not hung properly and both us and my mother in law in a single room had similar issues .The staff couldn't of been more helpful .Booking taxis ,explaining the area and help with car parking .If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us as your base for such an important day for your family. It'd be lovely to have you all back again, and all of us here wish the happy couple all the best for the future. Hopefully see you all soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#11 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Phantele Guest House
The Phantele Guest House
#21 of 86 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#5 of 86 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#20 of 86 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay