We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

107-113 Citadel Road West | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    24
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
19
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I did think twice about booking this hotel after reading some of the comments, but for £75 for 1 night in a great location I thought was very good value. We arrived before check in time but was still allowed into our room (were even given the choice of 2 rooms that were ready). Had no trouble parking and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank goodness you took a chance and stayed here with us! Everyone can get a bad review and, unfortunately, these do seem to carry more weight than positive reviews when people are making their choices on where to stay. Sadly, if people have enjoyed their stay, they seem less inclined to give a good review than if they've not enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Start by saying many thanks for our pleasant stay. We stayed here for 2nights in 3 rooms and we all loved our stay. Clean rooms, friendly staff. But: breakfast first morning service was first class, second morning what a joke, no idea what any staff were doing, missing food, food coming out different times no toast, but best of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we all look forward to seeing you again. Sorry that we couldn't give your wife a boiled egg - we cook our eggs on catering flat - topped hotplates and the beans we prepare in our microwaves. (This way we can get them nice and hot without... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here before in summer 2014 and really enjoyed our experience. At the time this was solely ran by a couple who are still there. When returning this time for 2 nights I can only describe it as poor service and chaos. This B&B seems to be run by teenagers who are untrained and don't know what they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's gratifying that you chose to return and stay here with us, we just wish that your last stay here was a lot better, it does seem that we dropped the ball in a couple of areas. I'm surprised that there was no-one at Reception, because it is manned between 6.45am and 10.30pm; although you shouldn't have had to wait,... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rusty and his staff provide friendly and professional service. Perfect holiday spot for young and older couples. The breakfast is fantastic and doesn't hurt your pocket. all this including an early morning alarm provided by local bird life. Danny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Danny. We're all glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially after travelling so far, and it's good to know that our Full English breakfast can even satisfy an Australian's hunger! Although we can't compete with the sights and sounds of Brisbane, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us... More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here the night of MTV crashes literally 2 minutes from the hoe where the concert was at! Room ready for when we arrived and amazing staff who were very welcoming and lovely! All facilities are included highly recommend! Great stay for an amazing price!!! Lovely spacious rooms with a lovely en suite bathroom!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We are all glad that we were able to be the base you needed for the MTV concert on the Hoe; we are lucky to be so well placed in Plymouth. We all hope that your aching feet have recovered from all of the dancing that you did! It was lovely to meet you and we... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

When we first arrived it took us 30 minutes to even find the car park. By car park they mean 5 spaces surrounded by brick walls. Once you've parked don't expect to be able to get out until you leave. We woke up Friday morning to find our car completely blocked in, so we were unable to get the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Firstly, can I thank you for taking so much of your time to give us such a full review. It's nice to know that you have been thoughtful enough to let us know the things that you think we should improve upon. To answer some of your points, let me first start by apologising that your stay with us was... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

this B and B ticked the right boxes for the price I paid: Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, powerful shower and good breakfast. It is very convenient for the hoe, barbican and waterfront and very friendly host. Car park at back fitted quite a number of cars in and plenty of on road parking should that be full. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We always hope that what we do here is appreciated; we're glad that we managed to be what you need for your stay. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We were made very welcome at this expanding family run B & B, despite a late arrival, by Chris and John. We were able to park our car in the car park, but sometimes this is not possible as there is limited space. We were so impressed that we booked a return stay on our way back from France, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again, Linda. Although it's such a long way from Scotland to us here, we can't wait to see you again. maybe next time you'll stay here with us, rather than go abroad! More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Good points: Free, reliable WiFi and very pleasant staff at the breakfast, which was also ok. The location is great, really close to both the main high street and sea front. Not so great: Very strange man on the phone beforehand who wouldn't confirm whether or not I'd be able to park there, so that I ended up getting the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow. It sounds as though you had a terrible time staying here with us, although we are a little concerned about some of your comments; we do have our own car park, but we do say that it is on a 'first come, first served' basis. If you had asked the staff member on the telephone for a definitive answer... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at Kynance B+B quite a few times now when I visit plymouth. The staff are great. Always make you feel very welcome. The rooms are great they have everything you need. The staff are always on hand to help you. If visiting Plymouth this is the best place to stay. I know when I go back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's always great to hear from our guests,especially our regulars. Thanks for the kind words, and we are all looking forward to seeing you for the International Firework Competition in August! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#10 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phantele Guest House
The Phantele Guest House
#17 of 86 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#22 of 86 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay