We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grosvenor Plymouth

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
7 - 9 Elliot St | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    147
    49
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
196
45
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (488)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (128)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Sunny Coast Resort,Qawra,Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed here for two nights and what a lovely hotel this is. Completely and very tastefully refurbished, the rooms are lovely. Breakfast is great and most of all the staff are just so helpful,polite and all round lovely people, especially Sophie and Mickie who are just so lovely and helpful. Have already booked for later in year as cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my mum booked a double room for me and my boyfriend to stay for one night as it was my 18th birthday earlier in the week, this was our first time staying away from home together and our stay was lovely. our room was a nice size and it was immensely clean we didn't find any dust what so ever.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Dear Courtney H. Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that on the whole you had a really nice time at the Grosvenor recently. Really pleased you liked the decor of your room and also the 'friendly and smiley' comments made about the staff definitely bring a big smile to my face! We are really trying to make sure... More 

torquay
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed the one night with husband, booked a superior room expecting something a bit special.but was quite disappointed that the room was just standard. It was pleasant and clean..but lacked any 'superior' qualities.small towels .tiny bathroom and standard double bed. If I did stop again would not pay the extra but go for standard room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay and please accept my apologies that we didn't quite meet your expectations. It is inevitable that we will not live up to everyone's tastes and standards but I can assure you that the Grosvenor will always be 'work in progress' with improvements being made all the time. We have come a... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visit to Plymouth pavilions. Ideal location. value for money and excellent facilities and friendly staff. Parking available at rear of hotel. Second visit. This time in new part. Very clean. You need to be able to manage stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and I'm glad you appeared to have a good stay with us! Yes we are fortunate with our location for the Plymouth Pavilions, literally a 2/3 minute walk down the road from us - so thanks for mentioning it. Hope to see you again in the future. Paul Bennett Owner More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately, if you book a week at this hotel, it is classed as a 'large booking' and they will immediately take the first night's cost from your credit card. Always make the booking six nights or less to avoid this. The hotel loses out, and you will have to stay somewhere else for the last night, but it's much better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Dear Lorna F. Your review doesn't suggest that you have stayed at the Grosvenor? But thank you nevertheless for highlighting our 'large booking' policy to the many readers of Tripadvisor - it certainly isn't an intention for our booking policies to be hidden away so I thought I would respond just to make all future guests aware of exactly what... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely two night stay, in a economy sigle room. Was clean and says what it was. lovely on suite bathroom. The staff whrere all friendly and polite, especailly the afternoon / evening receptionist and the ladies who served breakfast. A hotel i would defantly use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Really kind of you to write such a positive review, so thank you very much. It's always nice to hear that our staff are putting smiles on faces! Hope to see you again soon. Paul Bennett Owner More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Color me unimpressed. True, I had a small, one person room; for one night, after a late arriving ferry. However, this doesn't mean that the shower should emit a high pitched scream when hot water runs or that the hot and cold individual faucets in the bathroom sink should force me to use the shower to wash my hands (lest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Ok, where do we start... I would like to think I am a very fair hotel owner and am the first to welcome constructive feedback. Yes, it is great to read that guests have had a lovely time. Equally, I will be the first to admit that I feel a little sick in my stomach every time I read that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After 5 hours of travel you can't beat a real warm and friendly welcome. A lovely clean, light and well decorated small hotel in a central location. The hotel staff go out of their way to make an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind review - always great to hear that our guests have received a warm and friendly reception! Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Paul Bennett Owner More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very good stay here. Brilliant staff happy to help. Hotel is done out very nice and comfortable and has some free car parking round the back. The only couple of negatives are the TVs in the rooms are quite small and the wifi has to be logged back on every time you come in and out or moving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's always particularly pleasing to hear our guests complimenting our fantastic staff here at the hotel. My job is certainly made a lot easier due to having a great team, so thank you for mentioning them! With reference to the TV's. All rooms have flat screens, but we are on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For some reason Plymouth hotels seem very expensive so we were glad to find The Grosvenor at a slightly cheaper price when we were visiting our daughter at Uni. However there was little else that was cheap about the hotel: our Standard Double room was comfortable and clean and we had a good night's sleep. The communal areas are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Many thanks for the complimentary and informative review - it's always nice to hear of our guests having an enjoyable experience. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Paul Bennett Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question