We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House

7 Westway | Hooe, Plymouth, England
Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House

18 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Disappointed by your comments Steve......... We had a nice weekend with you, despite the weather preventing us diving the wrecks we had hoped to dive, but your description of what was agreed is totally inaccurate. You have suggested that the 4 of us, who stayed with you, should refund the cancelled divers costs, but you were 100% clear on Friday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steve W, Owner at Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House, responded to this review

“Our recollection of this incident is quite different from how it is described here. We feel we acted reasonably under the circumstances, and while we wish the outcome had been different, we stand by the decision.” We also fail to see how you could possibly rate are accommodation and service as poor considering your last e-mail stated how much you... More 

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Steve and Sue were great hosts in there wonderful guest house which is immaculate. The dive boat was excellent and professionally skippered by Steve and Tony whom both had good knowledge... Looking forward to booking again very soon. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve W, Owner at Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve Thanks for the possitive review very nice to have met you all and that you all enjoyed a very nice weekend trip. Kevin has booked 2016 already hopefully see you on the next one. Regards Steve Sue More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

As a dive I have come to accept that diving in the uknis hit and miss affair. A group of us booked to dive specific wrecks over a two day period unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse on Thursday and was planned to blow out the weekend at least the Saturday various people communicated with the owner/skipper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steve W, Owner at Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House, responded to this review

Hi I would not normally respond to this kind of review as i do not believe Trip advisor should allow a review from people who could not be bothered to turned up and expect a full refund as the weather did not suit them. This person has never stayed at my property but was part of a group of fourteen... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This accommodation was booked as part of a dive charter that was blown out by the good old English Weather. Despite assurances of a full refund (less the deposit) the Skipper Steve ultimately refused to honour this agreement and refunded less than half of the monies paid over. Book with caution should your weather forecast look a bit dodgy...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve W, Owner at Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House, responded to this review

e-mail blackmail for further refund More 

Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

A group of us booked the house and boat for a weekend, the trip involved a 600 mile round trip. The weather deteriorated prior to arrival resulting in planned activities being unavailable. The owners, on 4 separate occasions to 3 different people, confirmed that full refunds, less the deposit, would be given to those that chose to cancel the weekend.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Steve W, Owner at Plymouth Mountbatten Guest House, responded to this review

e-mail Blackmail for further refund More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

After a number of years of diving with Steve & Tony, but not having stayed here, we loved our recent visit. Both Steve and Sue were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The B&B ensured we started and finished our days in luxury and the honesty beer fridge (at the bottom of the garden) was the perfect way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have arranged dive trips with this operative fro the last two years and are already looking to re book for next year. The accomodation is spotless, food gorgeous and Sue and Steve are very good hosts. Steve and Tony also operate dive charters. The diving is varied and wonderful from reef's to wreck's and Tony and Anna have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nuneaton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

enjoyed the whole experience from the guest house to the dive charter good food,good banter with sue n steve,good location,pub across the road for evening meals marina just up and down the road, just got back and going again in three weeks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found this on the net but decided to book with the hotel directly. We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed the homely delicious breakfasts. The hotel was very clean and well run and the owner, managers couldn't have been more helpful making suggestions for our sightseeing.the rooms weren't the biggest and the bathrooms were compact but they were well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay? Well look no further, you got great rooms and very welcoming owners! Rooms are spacious and clean with lots of bathrooms for guests to use. There is a good breakfast in the morning, and after your dives with the owners, a nice relaxing space at the back. There are a few good pubs within walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities