We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Lynton B&Bs / inns

Gable Lodge Guest House

Save Saved
You added Gable Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #15 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very friendly and competent B&B and we had a great few days here. This is a great Victorian buiklding with large rooms and a great feel. We stayed in two different bedrooms during our stay which were just were both fine with en-suite shower rooms. The first room had a balcony which was very nice. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Qawra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a delightful weekend at the Gables Anne and Dave very welcoming and so helpful. The breakfast better than some 4 star Hotels and a good variety I loved the full English There was also the offer of evening meals the 2 course was yummy and large helpings as well. There was also games to play with in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Bed and Breakfast was nice enough, but nothing special. Both bedroom and ensuite bathroom clean, but small. Breakfast was okay. Well-located near the centre of Lynton. They offer evening meals and special lunches, but Lynton and Lynmouth have an abundance of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thanks for the review. For £70 you stayed in our largest room with a balcony which we believe offers good value for money. We are not sure what you mean when you say we do special lunches as we do not offer any lunches except packed lunches. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Anne and Dave really have it sussed .The overall ambiance calm and cool manner that operates at this idyllic guest house is truly worth experiencing.Apart from the outstanding food the willingness to make your stay the most comfortable and accommodating as they possibly can is not to much trouble for a couple who obviously love what they do . We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thanks you two. Lovely to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There seems to be a lot of good reviews of this hotel but I had a terrible night at this hotel in Lynton. The owners were very welcoming – but it went downhill from there. Whilst the room was clean, the shower temperature was impossible to control and I had to settle for a luke warm wash in a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that things were not up to standard. We know we have some firm mattresses, but we also have a mattress topper if it is too firm. We will investigate the shower, you are the first to mention the temperature was difficult to control. We did have... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This guest house is simply the nicest,cleanest & most welcoming guest house ive ever stayed in.The owners dave & Anne were so welcoming to us & very kind,they couldn't do enough for us during our stay. We have 2 young children & we stayed in the family room which was perfect for us & so clean & cosy. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for this lovely review. We are only glad to have helped make your stay a happy one. More

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had traveled thru Cornwall prior to arriving in Lynton. Gable House was a pleasant site at the end of the day. Host Dave welcomed us with coffee a nice chat and tips for dinner. About the house; comfortable, clean and bright room with the best bedding from our whole trip, tasty breakfast, lovely well kept historical house. The location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for this review. Good to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. More

Paekakariki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived at this bed and breakfast late in the afternoon, tired and concerned about finding a bed for the night. We were welcomed by Dave, and not only showed a clean, comfortable room, but we were also welcomed by the hot coffee and shortbread. Our room had a very small on suite, but we found that fine, and loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thanks for this, glad you enjoyed your stay and the marmalade! More

Hemyock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We all had a fantastic time, very welcoming arrival and beautifully comfortable rooms. Could not fault Gable Lodge at all. Thank you very much for such a lovely stay and for letting us use your fridge!! The perfect place to stay for the most beautiful wedding weekend! Read less Likes: Comfy bed, lovely bathroom, balcony, breakfast was fantastic and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thanks Holli, glad the weekend went so well. Lovely to be part of it. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The guest house was just excellent. As soon as we arrived David came down and helped us unload our car. He showed us to our room and explained about the keys, where things were and advised regarding best pubs, places to eat and visit etc. The B&B also do evening meals too. The room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gable Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lynton with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gable Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer