We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lynton Cottage Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Add Photo

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    189
    79
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
225
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
ascot
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely stunning views, loved the character throughout the building. Hotel manager and staff always helpful, the perfect get away. Evening meals of superb quality achieved by having a smaller menu and locally sourced where possible. Great base camp for a walking holiday or just a break away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lowestoft
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We Stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of June, the View from our room was stunning and the car parking good. The room looked lovely as the website showed with good quality bedding, but the room could have been cleaner as the skirting boards and curtains were dusty and the shower hose and head were mouldy along with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We put a great priority on maintaining high standards of room cleanliness. If at any time anything is amiss, we deal with it immediately. As you stayed at least four nights with us, we would have liked to have known so we could rectify the situation ASAP, rather than being informed at check out. We... More 

england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

lovely position room 20 the room we had, had a sea view and small balcony, I think most of the rooms had a sea view, food was excellent, just one small niggle would have liked a bowl of fresh fruit salad on the breakfast buffet instead of pieces of fruit whole, but that's just my preference. Music in dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you liked the Balcony Room. No. 20 is on the 2nd Floor, and especially at this time of year it is lovely to be able to sit out on the Balcony. The elevated position, peace and quiet,and spectacular views over the Bay are quite stunning. We look forward to seeing you again.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Lynton Cottage Hotel 13th to 20th June 2015. It was like a breath of fresh air. The room was spacious with a seating area overlooking a fabulous sea view. Bed was really comfortable, something you can't get in many hotels. Food was piping hot and delicious, another bonus. Even catered for allergies which helped as I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We continue to monitor Guest feedback and special requests. We have now added some other Breakfast Fruits. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights in the bayview suite what a view we have stayed in lynmouth or lynton for nearly 20 years and there are no better views to be found the a great welcome from Bill, and his staff are excellent had food on 2 nights could not fault it would recomend this hotel everytime weldone Bill !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our Bay View Suite. It is always popular. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room booked was lovely. Fantastic views out 2 sea and could see Lynmouth. Everything we hoped for. The manager and staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help you. Went to Woolacombe beach for the day and found the beach awesome. We really didn't want to leave and will definitely stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again regards BIll More 

Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last year, and found the staff to be really nice, helpful, and nothing was to much trouble. The hotel and views are delightful. It was the only choice for us as a place to stay, knowing we would be coming back this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to see you again. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill More 

Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel and staff lived up to our expectations, a restful, relaxing destination with stunning sea views, attentive staff and good food. The walks from the hotel to valley of the rocks and beyond cater to all levels of fitness. Its location is ideal for exploring this coastline area and Exmoor National park. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you found your stay comfortable. Exmoor is a great location for Ramblers with over 600 miles of footpaths. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful and relaxing stay - warm welcome with friendly and helpful staff. Stunning panoramic views, highly recommended. Ideal walking countryside. The hotel restaurant provided a varied selection of homely cooked meals that were enjoyed by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our West Country Menu. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our arrival at the Lynton Cottage Hotel after a very stormy journey we were hoping to receive a warm and friendly welcome, unfortunately what we got was a brusque demand from the proprietor who said Name !! at us in a most insistent way. Not a great start further compounded by him brandishing a menu at us requesting our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

We welcome constructive feedback. However, we accept that there are going to be a minority of occasions when our Hotel cannot live up to some personal tastes or expectations. Lynton & Lynmouth are small villages, and all Guest Houses and Hotels are small, family managed establishments. Because of this, methods of operation are more restricted than one would expect in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay