We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Globe Backpackers

71 Holloway Street, Exeter EX2 4JD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Globe Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
2
7
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for Globe Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staff were rude, inconsiderate and felt the need to keep our deposit for being slightly noisey when returning from a night out! Rooms are shoddy and noticed a lot of flys and insects just freely roaming around please consider other places as the price to stay here is expensive and you have a good chance of not seeing your deposit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

What this group call 'slightly noisy' consisted of them having a fight in their room where someone got badly glassed!!! urinating in a wardrobe and all over the carpet, harrassing girls in a seperate dorm and then being ejected by the police at 3am. As a consequence, the blood and urine covered carpet, together with the urine covered wardrobe had... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a lovely stay there for plenty of reasons: shower room was super cool; kitchen was quite spacious; staff were friendly & fellow backpackers during my too-short stay were nice! Exeter itself is a wonderful city. And the Globe being near the Quay is defo a big plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my first stay at a backpackers and I'm glad it was at Globe. Staff The staff were really friendly and they made my stay fun. They were welcoming and were very helpful. As it was my first time in the UK, they told me all the places to visit - not just in Exeter but also all over.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Staff were very helpful and pleasant, no problems there at all. The kitchen is a little small but i always had space to make food and store food. rooms are great, huge big rooms with thick pillows and clean bedding, very comfortable. Also rooms have hanging space for clothes, drawers and full length mirrors, perfect! The showers omg amazing!! no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Myself and three friends have just stayed in this hostel and it was absolutely great! I found the two members of staff who we dealt with, both on arrival and leaving really friendly and helpful. The room was absolutely lovely, really big with tea/coffee making facilities, really clean and nicely decorated and was really reasonable. The shower rooms/wet rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I also have experienced the terrible attitude of the staff at this hostel. They just don't care about their guests. On my first night I accidently left my keys in my room when I went out. I couldn't get back into the hostel. Being a female travelling by myself, I was pretty freaked out about sleeping on the streets, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Exeter hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is due to no competition which is sad for visitors, and a gold mine for the owners. Exeter desperately needs an alternative backpackers. Main gripes include; Small, sweaty, smelly kitchen, Squeaky bunk beds, No in-room lockers, Rude staff who have almost zero understanding of Customer Service. The 1 good thing is new showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a pleasant stay in the Globe backpackers. The room was nice and big and even had matching colours and a plant. Our room had coffee making facilities which was great. The guy behind the desk was not so friendly. You can check in after 3,.30 pm. It does say this on the website but unfortunately we did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband, myself, three young grand sons, son and his fiancee stayed here for one night after celebrating a family 50th Wedding Anniversary, 1st Birthday, and Jubilee celebration. Our stay was very pleasant. The young man at the reception was welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Exeter again soon! More 

london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Globe Backpackers for our final night on a boys golf trip. We were a group of 12 and went into Exeter town centre that evening to celebrate a friend’s birthday. Upon arriving we were greeted by the young manager, who demonstrated a deep set attitude problem from the word go. He acted like an irritable child,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay