We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Exeter M5

Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Exeter M5
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    78
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
66
77
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
North Ayrshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 night while visiting family, good location, Comfy bed, Rooms very cleans, had a great nights sleep, i was worried incase the sound of the motorway would keep me awake, but nope i never heard a thing, i will deffo stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Run down, over priced. Very noisy from the motorway. There is nothing positive to say about this hotel - don't stay there. Did I mention how bad this hotel is? The worst hotel I have stayed in for a very long time. Really it is that bad. Thankfully, breakfast was not included!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver an enjoyable and comfortable stay for all of our guests so we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Feedback like yours is important to us and will be used to improve our service. More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location at the side of the M5 junction 30 just 10 mins from Exeter central. Lovely room, clean,tidy and well presented and staff friendly and caring. Excellent bar and grill that does a great breakfast at a fantastic price.Only downside is motorway traffic noise but not too intrusive.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All very average. Fine for a short stay - reasonably priced. Shabby rooms - in need of a bit of update and 'deep clean'. Noisy guests disturbed one night - complaint resolved at checkout. Reception staff helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review Jackie. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness and a great night’s sleep are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please do accept our... More 

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No Air con. Hot room no breakfast Over past months have had to use premier holiday inn etc. but this was worst Two of us booked in as rest full. Both rooms look like someone has stolen all the furniture as you can see on carpet marks where there was a table desk or something. NO dead lock to room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature spoiled your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a comfortable night’s sleep. We feel that we offer all that is needed... More 

newport gwent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went to lets rock exeter(which was fab!) booked two rooms for two nights. Rooms were lovely spacious and clean. comfortable beds, nice clean towels ,staff were really nice . services next door really good m&s costa burger king greggs etc. Restaurant attached was nice, prices ok.Had really good weekend would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your weekend at ‘let’s rock’. We pride ourselves on delivering clean and comfortable rooms and it is great to hear that our staff were friendly. We will look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Paignton, Devon UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to go to see the European rugby sevens at Sandy Park, home of Exeter Chiefs Rugby club and stay overnight at the Travel Lodge so as to be able to stay and enjoy the evening entertainment provided. It is an easy walk to the ground which takes about 10 minutes. The hotel is set back from the service station... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay in this travel lodge was very uncomfortable. My parents and I stayed in a family room for 3 adults and, despite the recent claims of nationwide Travelodge refurbishment, it seems that only the decor had been upgraded. The main concern regards our beds: they were hard and very uncomfortable. My single bed (located under a draughty window) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we didn’t manage to meet your expectations on this occasion and for this we apologise. We are sorry that you did not find your bed to be comfortable, and that this affected your stay with us. We have passed on your comments to the hotel manager and we do... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was concerned at how close this hotel was to the Motorway, but it was fine, the room has secondary double glazing as well as the standard and that kept the room very quiet. Food was available in the attached grill, and was of an okay standard, it was quite cheap so that offset the quality. Staff very friendly and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's basic and you get what you pay for Good location Hot water available. Clean. Could do with a refresh. Fairly quiet, pub connected which kicks out bang on 2300, no grace time to drink up All in all, served the purpose

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#12 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thistle Exeter City Centre, The Rougemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay