We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Exeter M5

Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Exeter M5
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean and tidy on my arrival and the staff were very pleasant. the room was good and the facilities were of the usually good standard. Overall a pleasurable stay, I wiould use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 614drewr
York England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No hair dryer in the room you need to ask at reception ( I wish I had noticed before my shower!) clean and tidy bed very comfy just let down with pillows. Some noise from the motorway but not too bad. No noise from inside hotel. Lovely hot powerful shower. Would visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JMHATTON
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit trade show at Westpoint.It is very close usually stay in Premier inn but as closer thought I would try it.The room was not as abysmal as other travel lodges I have stayed in but I was in the building facing the motorway.I had no sleep because there was not proper double glazing ,traffic... More 

Helpful?
Thank treasure1Somerset
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are sorry to learn that external noise has affected the comfort of your stay at our Exeter M5 Travelodge. We do apologise that on this occasion you did not receive the best experience possible. Thank you again for writing your review, we value your feedback and hope you stay... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Turned up late after a long day and drive. The bar/grill was still open but due to the all pervading stench of deep fat frying filling the reception and close by corridors I chose to walk down to the motorway services instead. The corridor from reception had a filthy carpet, gauged walls and woodwork some of which had been painted... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkB25
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Conveniently located on the outskirts of Exeter, this is, unfortunately, a hotel in need of modernisation. Check in was at a very small desk, with staff in the office behind. My car reg was written on what looked like a sheet of plain A4, the general decor was tired and dated. My room was in the far wing of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your review. More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely relaxing weekend break using this hotel as a base, as it is perfectly situated to visit Family and take a couple of lovely walks with our dog along Exmouth Seafront. Would definitely use this one again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank M5006RDmariea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You know what you are getting at Travelodge. No frills, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Despite being next to the M5 the room was not too noisy. There isn't a lot nearby but Exeter is a short drive away, provided it's not rush hour!

Helpful?
Thank alwayslate237
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well suited to anybody coming off the M5 motorway. On arrival there is a dedicated car parking, and checking in at reception was easy. On going to my room the corridor on the ground floor smells damp and musty and extreemly neglected. The room was clean, basic and is suitable for my needs with the exception of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Reg1967
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the comfort and cleanliness of your room, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the parking ticket you received. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are sorry that this negatively... More 

Gravesend
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed in various Travelodge's and other large hotel chains and must say I found the staff the most helpful, friendly and customer focused that I have ever come across. I like coming here as its perfect for my business needs (I also use one of the meeting rooms) and will continue to do so

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank TrevorC61
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on business whilst attending the giving and living trade show in Exeter. Could not fault 1 thing If I tried. I paid to check in early but then I didn't end up checking in until gone 6pm. I asked the girl at reception that because I had paid for this and not taken advantage... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank xbabybundyx
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#12 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay