We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Add Photo

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    129
    59
    39
    16
See reviews for
43
155
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Warm welcome from 24 hour reception, good quality room with everything you could need. Breakfast was continental followed by a cooked breakfast. All piping hot, tasty and served quickly. Really nothing to fault so would definitely choose this over an equivalent priced chain lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Clare, thank you so much for your brilliant review. I'm very pleased that you found everything to be so good that you will not hesitate to return. Please tell all your friends and family about us! kind regards More 

Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Whisked away for the weekend by my boyfriend this hotel was fantastic from start to finish. Champagne in the room on arrival, quirky room layout and amazing view there really wasn't anything I can critique. Room was spotless, service brilliant, room service spot on and the food was well presented, good portions and there were 2 clean plates. Great location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stanbo, thanks for your wonderful review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope it won't be too long before we see you back again. kind regards More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend. Stayed in one of the Executive rooms which appeared in good repair and had a very large comfy bed. All the extras you would expect such as safe and bathrobe & slippers provided. The bar area has one of the best views to be found with a lovely garden shielded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, thanks for your great review! I'm pleased your bank holiday break was so enjoyable and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon. regards More 

Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
120 hotel reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, room fine, foof ok, service good - just very busy. After a long drive I arrived at the same time as a coach party ! Bar packed out, restaurant packed out -.had to go out to eat ! Next morning restaurant packed for breakfast - had to queue ! Too busy for me !

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

dear Richard, thanks for your review. I'm pleased you liked the hotel and I'm sorry we were too busy for you! I hope we will see you again soon. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Buckerell Logde in Exeter last year. My first impression was that it was a descent hotel which offers the basics at a reasonable price and I wasn't dissapointed. The staff are efficient and helpful-the check in took only a few minutes although they were very busy. They helped me find a taxi at a very short notice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Iioann, thanks you for your review of last years visit. I'm pleased you enjoyed our service and hope to see you again in the very near future. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the occasion to book a small family function at this hotel. We had paid for a small buffet for around fourty people mid afternoon. Having had a bar snack there the previous week we felt confident the food would be of a good standard and the staff attentive. How wrong can you be? The sandwiches looked as if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kim, thank you for your review. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will afford us another visit in the very near future at which time I'm sure we will restore your trust and confidence in our services. More 

Travelers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

How did this hotel manage to gain 4 stars,not for the food or service.we attended a funeral wake yesterday afternoon. When we arrived food including chips all uncovered was already laid out.no staff greeted us or helped with teas or coffees which had been in flasks for some time as the drinks were cold.sandwiches were terrible no presentation at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pamela P, thank you for your review. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will afford us another visit in the very near future at which time I'm sure we will restore your trust and confidence in our services. More 

Lynmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived Friday for a 2 night stay, the room we had 42 looked out direct over the garden and was a executive double with a four poster, rooms well equipped and bathroom very good, bed comfy and slept well both nights. Food was good value, we ate in the bar on friday night and the Burger was huge I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Si, thanks for your lovely review. we're all so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed our food and hospitality. We all look forward to seeing you back here very soon. kind regards More 

Carvoeiro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe we were just unlucky judging by the other reviews: We checked in to be told I was not allowed membership points as I had not booked directly through the hotel - I had already written to Clarion regarding this as its has never been an issue at other Clarion hotels. Advertised as a four star hotel, we were disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David, thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you felt we did not meet your expectations and I will look into the issues you mentioned in order that they are rectified immediately. Please visit us again in the very near future at which time I am sure you will realise that this was not our usual... More 

uk
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding. The small hotel grounds were very pleasant to enjoy whilst the photos were being taken. The food at reception was remarkably good considering they were serving approx 70 covers at once. The staff went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying the food and had everything you wanted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, thanks for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Wonderful Wedding Celebration. We hope to be welcoming you back very soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay