We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

4.0 of 5 Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    485
    191
    74
    27
See reviews for
218
504
64
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1162)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (297)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (307)
All months
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars NEW

Booked 2 classic rooms as we were going to see Alan Carr. Very conveniently located for corn exchange and the town centre. Rooms were very spacious, we had a fridge, safe, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, full length mirror and a fantastic shower, my only criticism with the room would be, the door frames were very badly in need of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reigate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect in a quiet road next to the cathedral. It is only a 3 minute walk to shops and restaurants. At the time of our stay (mid March 2015) there was still work on-going which some guests may find disturbing. Our room had been redecorated quite recently and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ThomasReigate Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of Exeter. We hope to welcome you back now the public area refurbishment has been completed. Kind regards Fiona Darde More 

Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting family in Devon. Generally i find hotels in Devon expensive even just a prerier inn is priced around £60-£70 so the Mercure is definitely worth the extra.The staff were absolutely brilliant, in every area. The guys on reception, the waiting/kitchen staff and also the fitness club employees.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jade-Louise Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and specifically your comments of the staff - they are all pleased to have made the right impression on you. We are glad you were able to make use of all the facilities and the hotel's location to really make the most of your stay. We charge seperately for car... More 

UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel for its great location next to the Cathedral ( a short walk round the walls) and near the Quay and city centre. and had car parking. Rooms were very good, lovely bed, linens and decor, Reception and common areas were really nice spaces and the staff were lovely. We had the breakfast option very nice with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Captnkirk Many thanks for all your positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location ideal for exploring the historic city. I am sorry you found our car park charging policy mean; we charge seperately for car parking so that our guests can accurately compare our rates with those of the competitor hotels... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely overnight stay at The Southgate Hotel, sharing in a twin room. The staff were friendly and the rooms spacious, comfy, nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. Perfect location for experiencing Exeter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fabulous feedback. The team and I are all pleased you enjoyed your overnight break with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Fiona Darde More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient location only a short walk from the Cathedral and the shops. We arrived early so the reception staff kindly put our bags away so we could go out. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, not to mention a nespresso machine! The spa was closed for refurbishment along with the main restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cassandra K Thank your detailed feedback following your recent stay. We are glad you were pleased with your bedroom and overall enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the breakfast service a little chaotic, we have now moved back to the main restaurant and bar following completion of the refurbishment so we are able to maintain and develop... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night with kids . Staff had been very accommodating in advance and had arranged family room with extra bed as requested . Had been warned about pool refurbishment in advance and staff gave us complimentary parking to compensate . Rooms felt freshly painted . Bathrooms clean and functional . Breakfast was good and staff there were helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Truelou Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we're all so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your overnight stay with us and were not affected by the refurbishment works. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Fiona Darde More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very good hotel. It is difficult to find fault. Location is good, with ample parking. Rooms are fine. Spa is perfectly okay. It is a nice four star hotel. The staff were really lovely and helpful. As you can see everything was fine. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to get excited about. It does what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay; we are pleased to learn that we met your expectations of a four star hotel. We are just approaching the end of our public refurbishment and launching a new locally themed menu so hope your will return where we endeavour to impress you more. Kind regards Fiona Darde More 

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have recently stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat. Unfortunately, we were not informed on booking that due to refurbishment, the facilities were not in use. I booked the hotel to make use of the facilities, and at nearly £100 a night, I feel I should have need informed, so that I was able to book elsewhere. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to learn that you were unaware of the ongoing refurbishment prior to your stay. All guests who booked direct were telephoned, however we do not have the personal contact details of guests who booked online via other sources such as booking.com. We did put refurbishment information on their websites and... More 

Manchester Uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This should have been a lovely stay but unfortunately pool and restaurant were being refurbished...90% of my reason for choosing hotel gone! Staff were good, room was reasonable but overpriced in view of lack of pool restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holiday blue eyes Sorry to hear that you were not aware of our ongoing improvements. All of our guests who book direct with the hotel were called in advance of their stay to advise them of this. The works were also uploaded onto all the major online travel sites as we do not have contact details of these guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay