We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Exeter hotels

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
David H Ringwood, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    439
    179
    72
    25
See reviews for
200
458
57
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1048)
  • Mar-May only
    (247)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (297)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (280)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on a recent business trip and was pleasantly surprised. This was not the usual chain hotel. The foyer was spacious, the rooms very well appointed and the menu excellent. The décor was very upmarket. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive The menu was very selective, well prepared and the sausages at breakfast were cooked on both sides.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location and reasonably priced considering the facilities. We booked our "Family Room" on Expedia and after checking in we realised we ended up with a Standard Double. This wasn't a massive issue so we didn't complain about it. I do think though maybe they should've mentioned it on check-in just in case we were planning on using the extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonnyfarg Thank you for taking time to leave your thoughts on Trip Advisor; I am sorry if there was confusion with your room on arrival. Our family rooms and classic double rooms are of the same price so I think it may have been booked through inaccurately. Obviously this would have been picked up and changed on check-in had... More

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

EXTREMELY helpful reception staff who assisted us in sorting out a room to our liking. We had booked a room with only a shower and the receptionist was very helpful in finding and showing us a room which might be more suitable as it had a bath. He was very polite and courteous and we were made to feel very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Many thansk for your positive feedback , especially about Robert - I know he will be really pleased his efforts were appreciated. I am sorry you experienced a delay when ordering your dinner, I will highlight this the the Food & Beverage Manager so we can ensure that re-training takes place. We are pleased you found the hotel's... More

Coto de Caza, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Mecure for two nights during our month-long European tour. The location was most impressive to us -- within a few minutes walking time to the Cathedral and pedestrian area. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our large bed was very nice. Free wifi was provided. The free buffet breakfast was above average quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pismore Many thanks for your fabulous feedback following your recent stay with us whilst on your two month holiday in Europe. We are delighted that you found the hotel's location ideal in the city centre and that our facilities met your needs. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure again in the future, Kind regards Fiona Darde More

London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night after a business meeting. The reception areas are lovely and my room was also very comfortable and clean. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was excellent. Great location, just a few minutes from the quay in one direction, and the shopping area in the other. The only thing that spoiled it for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet H Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location, public area and and breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were disturbed by the contract gardeners, cleaning the car park. They are not meant to start work until after 9am - we have recently recruited a new contractor... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed for three nights in September The room service breakfast was good but arrived with no cutlery so by the time arrived toast etc cold only left with order card once Again water and toiltries left on 1st night not replenished one of my pet hates when you are paying per night The Breakfast in resturant good service good Dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fatboy13 Thank you for sharing your constructive comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that the team missed breakfast cutlery off your room service tray negatively impacting the temperature of your breakfast. We are currently reviewing room service standards and I am confident that this will prevent any oversights going forward. I... More

Lytham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a seasoned traveller I stayed last night at the Mecure in Exeter whilst on business. I have stayed at Mecure hotels on a number of occasions but this was my first to Exeter ~ I have to say like all other in the Mecure Family this sets the benchmark for the finest in guest / client service. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolSlaver 1973 Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you in particular for highlighting Gemma's excellent customer service, I will certainly make sure she is acknowledged and share your feedback with the whole team so that can see how her individual service made a positive impact on your experience. We hope to welcome... More

Chesterfield UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on a Bed and Breakfast basis, the hotel is well situated for the centre of Exeter, the cathedral and the quayside. Car parking is in abundance at a cost of £10 for 24hours which is fair for a city centre hotel. On our arrival check in was efficient and informative. We chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MPS Chesterfield Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that your enjoyed many aspects of your stay but sorry to learn you had a few minor concerns regarding your room. I am sorry that you found it strange that there was no clock in the room; it is the first time the point has... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast made it for me. Huge continental Buffet with a couple of choose your own to be ordered, salmon and eggs was beautiful. Rooms nice and clean, well decorated, bit small but was fine. Walk in shower. Staff lovely. Gym and pool available but we didn't try them as too drunk then too full from breakfast! Lovely chain of hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay; I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your salmon & eggs for breakfast. Thank you also for your positive feedback regarding the staff, I know they will be pleased to learn your appreciated their efforts. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Fiona Darde More

Devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had Champagne afternoon tea with three other friends for a 50th Birthday supposed treat. The experience was mediocre. Although the tea was booked no one appeared to know we were coming. We were passed between 5 staff members before tea arrived minus the champagne. We asked for the bubbles and for the teapot to be removed so that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gracie Devon Thank you for your feedback, please accept my sincere apologies that your champagne afternoon tea did not meet your expectations nor our usual high standards. I have shared your feedback with the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager, both of whom were distressed to read your comments and have pledged to re-train their team members today,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay