We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship in Dock Inn

Hotel website
1 Ridge Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9PE, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship in Dock Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ship in Dock Inn
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
61
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Ship in Dock Inn for three nights over the Easter bank holiday, we had a lovely stay. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the park, it was clean and spacious with an ensuite bathroom. The landlord and staff were very friendly and accommodating. They served delicious breakfasts too, we tried their full English breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Bed and Breakfast. No frills. Nice size en suite. Very friendly welcome on arrival .Great staff save for the fact that the Landlord is Welsh but it was great to see his demise when the 6 Nations was on TV in the Pub Bar. Friendly Bar and great atmosphere. Great breakfast. Highly recommended .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was fine, the shower was really good it had a big shower head and there was lots of hot water. It's a little quirky that breakfast was effectively cooked next door and brought in from outside. Staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Went for a weekend away with the dog. Friendly welcome on arrival. Nicely positioned, a short walk from the town centre. Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning (especially the sausages). But what really impressed was the extra mile the staff went to make our stay really good. As an allergy sufferer to feathers they changed the bedding without quibble. Kevin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We had a lovely short break at this fantastically placed pub. We were worried about noise, as we were staying over the bar, but it was very quiet and the rooms cosy and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was brilliant. The rooms look like they've recently been done up and are simple but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Following my last review we decided to give the Ship in Dock pizzas a go again and boy are we glad we did. Fabulous is the only way to describe them. Perfectly cooked, plenty of toppings and a nice crispy base. Plenty of chips and the onions rings really are scrummy. Not bought in frozen ones but hand made and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Some good things to say, Kevin and staff all friendly and want to please. Relaxed about muddy paws and footprints on carpets, breakfast very good. I just wish we hadn't been over the bar, very noisy music which overpowered the tv, and went on until late evening. Hate the booming bass thumping through the floor. Stair light not working which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheShipinDockInn, Owner at The Ship in Dock Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your stay with us wasn't perfect, but can reassure other guests that the experience of noise was exceptional - it was the night before New Years Eve so we were having a small party in the bar but the music did finish by Midnight (normally we don't have any music after 10.30pm). Obviously I am... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, whilst doing a whistle stop tour of Devon. Kevin, the owner was a great host. The locals are very friendly too. Our room overlooked the river Dart, although the view is likely to be compromised soon by nearby building work. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was king size and super comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The Ship in Dock is a B&B located above a pub in Dartmouth. The host, Kevin, was ever so helpful and friendly. The B&B is in need or repair (planned for this winter) but the rooms are clean and quiet. It is located a few minutes from town center, restaurants and shopping. The pizzas served at the pub are delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Booked for two nights managed one only, had to leave this terrible , unclean tip of a hotel, my advise for any one would avoid this Inn, it was most probably in better condition in 1657 when it first opened. The new owner needs to spend some time cleaning the rooms and staircase or even pop into some of his... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheShipinDockInn, Owner at The Ship in Dock Inn, responded to this review

Obviously I was disappointed to hear of your poor experience at the Ship in Dock Inn, and I take extremely seriously your comments. You quite rightly point out that the stair carpet is now beyond its life, and requires attention - which is why we have a new carpet on order that will be installed in the next few weeks.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question