We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    75
    27
    28
    24
See reviews for
39
200
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clovelly itself is wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed the walk both down and up the cobbled streets. It was interesting to walk around the harbour wall and the hotel seemed basic but perfectly nice. The bar menu was small which I like as it indicates, sometimes, good fresh cooking. I chose the chicken and leek pie and my partner had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited many times, it is a place where by you can confidently return and time will have stood still. Service always exceptional and Yvonne is incredible at breakfast, she works on her own at such speed, what a super breakfast! The restaurant and bar meals have never disappointed. Decor and cleanliness everywhere is lovely and I most appreciate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. We take all reviews very seriously, but i have to say it is lovely when we get the chance to share such a lovely review. I always go through all reviews weekly with the team. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon Best wishes Nick More 

Isle of Wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed several times at the Red Lion Hotel at Clovelly in the past I had no hesitation in booking again for my wife's long Easter weekend 65th birthday celebration party and I was not disappointed. Nick White the Manager and Marie were marvellous in arranging the event for 42 relatives and friends; menus were proposed as well as itineraries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are all delighted you had such a great time and I hope we will see you back at the Red Lion again very soon best wishes Nick More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here Mon to Fri last week, we stayed in the Sail Loft rooms, no. 17. This room was one of the best we have stayed in, quiet, decor lovely, view of sea and hear the waves, very comfortable and modern. We loved our stay, we had dinner and breakfast and the food was excellent. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much. I am so delighted that you embraced Clovelly as you did. It is bar far the best way to understand the village and how it achieves such a cult status simply because it has never been turned into a visitor attraction. the uniqueness of the village, its way of life sets it apart from the rest in... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To get to the car park the road is very steep and narrow if you have booked into the hotel you need to ignore the signs saying no unauthorised vehicles and follow the sat nav info to take you to the car park if you do not you will park on the public car park and have to pay to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. we hope to welcome you back again very soon best wishes Nick More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked into the Red Lion for a nice relaxing break for some peace and quite and relaxation, which was much needed. On arrival I was amazed by the location which was perfect for what I needed. The staff were lovely and very considerate. The food was lovely. I tried the restaurant and the bar food. The restaurant manager was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Calming quay is a great asset to the Village and Em as you say is so passionate about her work. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to us so much and that you had such a good relaxing time best wishes Nick More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always wanted to stay at this hotel but never got around to it, we decided this was where we wanted to spend our Anniversary & we were not disappointed. Superb Hotel, excellent food, very friendly staff, we stayed in room 19 fantastic that's all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. The sail loft bedrooms are amazing we never get a bad word about them at all. The size and of course the views are what make them extra special I hope you will make it back again soon best wishes Nick More 

Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Clovelly so unsure what to expect, the directions given were spot on and we parked on the beach as told. It was lovely to be taken to our room rather than sent, and the room was spotless with a sea view, any closer and we'd have been swimming. The lady on reception told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I have mentioned the small potato to the chef but never feel shy to ask for more if you want it in the future as one size doesn't fit all so we are more than happy to accommodate your needs. We are all delighted you had such a lovely stay with... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came to the Red Lion for a getaway from work and general business - and it was exactly that! Friendly staff, a beautiful room overlooking the harbour, good pub grub and a good selection of games to keep us going in the evenings. Breakfast was delicious too with the best scrambled eggs I've had in a while! Total tranquility,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back I will see what we can do about the hight of the show fitting in room 5 you do need a break these days where you can chill out and Clovelly with its soft rolling waves seems to do just that to most of our guests hope we will see you again soon best wishes... More 

South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We booked this hotel on the basis that we could enjoy local fresh fish inn their restaurant. Sadly when we checked in we were told that as there were no other bookings in the restaurant it would be closed (on a Thursday night with a full hotel!!). This was made even more disappointing when we looked at the very limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I would just mention that whilst the restaurant was closed, you had only booked bed and breakfast with us and we only close when we don't have enough people wishing to dine. The evening bar menu whilst not fine dining has loads of choice including fresh fish. We also serve steaks, fritto misso , home made... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question