We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    78
    27
    30
    26
See reviews for
42
210
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First impression of our room which was no 9 was a feeling of a nice style which suited the Hotel with inviting views.Sadley the ambiance was spoilt by which we presume was the Kitchen extractor fan which was quite audible until it was off rather later in the evening.We felt the cooked breakfast was a little disappointing, we felt one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Superb spot for a pub but interior was tired and dull so we ate outside. We ordered the fish and chips which was £14 was told it was local it was I suspect frozen. It was poor. Not a good experience. Two draught ales on show one had finished the other was not right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at this hotel.The room was lovely,very bright and airy with views out to sea. Breakfast was in the restaurant with great views out over the harbour.We ate in the bar in the evenings and the food was very good, the staff were great and made us feel at home and very welcome good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. we are delighted you both had a good time with us and I hope we will see you both again very soon Best wishes Nick More 

Cheltenham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food served in the bar today was awful - who would serve up a Pasty in Devon that had been warmed in a Microwave and charge £7 ? The Red Lion Every one of my party of 7 left food on their plates Definitely not a place we will ever go to again And to make matters worse you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We obviously didn't get our food offering right for your party and I have spoken and apologised to your sister who suggested the trip. We don't microwave pasties normally and am surprised that they were. The cost of Pastie £3.95 with chips it would be £6.95 and I believe the cost to be reasonable when you... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

This is a magical spot. Clovelly is traffic-free and the narrow road down to The Red Lion bypasses the centre of the village. If you are staying at the hotel they give you a free pass, with your room number on it, so that you can park on the shingle. No-one else can park here. there is a Land Rover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I have passed on your comments to all the staff. I hope we can welcome you back very soon Nick More 

Bridestow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We booked the hotel on line ,when we arrived the staff at reception were very helpful and informative.the made every effort to explain everything and made sure we has everything we wanted ,we had booked a table in the restaurant and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure the children had everything they wanted ,the food we ordered was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We are all delighted the whole family enjoyed themselves Nick More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We spent just the one night in the Red Lion Hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. This is not the first time we have stayed there and it will not be the last. Peaceful, idyllic and wonderful in every way if you enjoy comfort with wonderful views across the Bristol Channel, a superb harbour that still holds its heritage and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for such a lovely review Nick More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Wife and I spent a very nice two days. They surprised us incredibly nice people in the whole town. Beautiful, clean room with a view of the sea, literally a few steps to the shore. And delicious food at the restaurant, particularly recommend the skate wing fish and fisherman breakfast: scrambled eggs with salmon

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review its always really nice to get such positive feed I hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon Nick More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This establishment seems to polarise opinions. As to its hospitality, we were offered drinks in our room within about 30 seconds of entering the hotel after a long day on the south west coast path. The room (number four) was reasonably spacious and has a great sea view. Basically, this is what you are paying for along with the general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed the room and your stay with us. I'm sorry there was no fresh fruit on the buffet of breakfast, there is normally, as for the pastries we bake them to order with the continental breakfast that has ham and cheese with it and that is why they are not out on... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Picturesque location - Fresh air - Soporific crashing waves. A very charming hotel in a particular location. Excellent local produce presents a broad menu of Harbor restaurant, tasty and fine ales in the charming pub

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We really did have some heavy seas that night, delighted you enjoyed it so much. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The hotel is amazing when we get high swells. A mug of hot chocolate, a scale board by the window of your bedrooms and it beats the best movie! was how one of our regulars put... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay