We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    74
    27
    28
    23
See reviews for
38
196
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked into the Red Lion for a nice relaxing break for some peace and quite and relaxation, which was much needed. On arrival I was amazed by the location which was perfect for what I needed. The staff were lovely and very considerate. The food was lovely. I tried the restaurant and the bar food. The restaurant manager was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Calming quay is a great asset to the Village and Em as you say is so passionate about her work. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to us so much and that you had such a good relaxing time best wishes Nick More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Always wanted to stay at this hotel but never got around to it, we decided this was where we wanted to spend our Anniversary & we were not disappointed. Superb Hotel, excellent food, very friendly staff, we stayed in room 19 fantastic that's all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. The sail loft bedrooms are amazing we never get a bad word about them at all. The size and of course the views are what make them extra special I hope you will make it back again soon best wishes Nick More 

Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Clovelly so unsure what to expect, the directions given were spot on and we parked on the beach as told. It was lovely to be taken to our room rather than sent, and the room was spotless with a sea view, any closer and we'd have been swimming. The lady on reception told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I have mentioned the small potato to the chef but never feel shy to ask for more if you want it in the future as one size doesn't fit all so we are more than happy to accommodate your needs. We are all delighted you had such a lovely stay with... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came to the Red Lion for a getaway from work and general business - and it was exactly that! Friendly staff, a beautiful room overlooking the harbour, good pub grub and a good selection of games to keep us going in the evenings. Breakfast was delicious too with the best scrambled eggs I've had in a while! Total tranquility,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back I will see what we can do about the hight of the show fitting in room 5 you do need a break these days where you can chill out and Clovelly with its soft rolling waves seems to do just that to most of our guests hope we will see you again soon best wishes... More 

South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on the basis that we could enjoy local fresh fish inn their restaurant. Sadly when we checked in we were told that as there were no other bookings in the restaurant it would be closed (on a Thursday night with a full hotel!!). This was made even more disappointing when we looked at the very limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I would just mention that whilst the restaurant was closed, you had only booked bed and breakfast with us and we only close when we don't have enough people wishing to dine. The evening bar menu whilst not fine dining has loads of choice including fresh fish. We also serve steaks, fritto misso , home made... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived very late in the Saturday evening. The chefs kept the kitchen open for us to order food( lamb shank was superb!!). The room was simple,clean and had a perfect view over the beach. There is nothing quite like waking up on a Sunday morning to the sound of waves crashing against the shore. The breakfast was delicious ,generous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted we looked after you so well. I have shared your comments with the team as we do with all feed back thanks again Nick More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Clovely several times in the last five years and this time decided to have something to eat in the Red Lion bar. What a real disappointment it was. Probably the most uninspiring down market mini menu one could imagine, lots of tables with used plates on them, rather disinterested service and generally not looking very spick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I note you contribute quite a lot to trip-advisor, could I suggest that you try speaking to the hotels if you feel that the service or standards are not up to scratch. We like all hotels don't get it right all the time but we endeavour to do our best. We... More 

Martos, Spain
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After several negative reviews I felt I should redress the balance! I have known the Lion since I was a boy, and have never had a bad experience here. Sitting with the harbour on one side and pebbly foreshore the other, the pub is great in high summer when there are lots of tourists around, or in the middle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, we welcome all feed back and sometimes it isn't what we like but we are always working to improve ourselves. so your support is very welcome Nick More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Clovelly on 15 February on a bright and chilly day. Having walked down the cobbled streets to the harbour we thought that it might be nice to have a drink at the Red Lion Hotel. It certainly looked okay on the outside and the plan was to sit in the sun with a drink. What a disappointment! Having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

You know there are times when we just have to hold up our hands and say sorry! It was a not good yesterday as we had let a film crew into the snug and they decided to take over. The girls did their best but were overwelmed from being pulled from pillar to post. My mistake and it has now... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Red Lion in Clovelly with high hopes of a delightful meal by the water in a genuinely beautiful coastal village. Hopes were heightened further by the fact that we paid the better part of £20 just for the pleasure of entering Clovelly, but also because we'd walked steeply down hill for 20 minutes to reach the pub.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We take all our reviews very seriously and are obviously very concerned when we receive negative reviews. I would start by asking you to contact me at the Red Lion so I can resolve some of your issues personally. I would however like to state how sorry i am that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question