We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    184
    80
    27
    31
    27
See reviews for
45
215
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for one night on our way to St Ives to break our journey up. We stayed in the Sail Loft Room 17 and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was beautifully decorated to a high standard with a lovely large comfy bed. It was very spacious with a nice seating area to relax and unwind. The ensuite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The beef we use is Ruby Red a Devon breed and they due tend to have a firmer texture than other breads but have a flavour to die for. I hope you are able to span more time on your next visit with us Best wishes Nick More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid £7.50 for sausage roll and chips. Too expensive, lack of cutlery and 2 empty bottles of tomato sauce made for our first and last visit. Beer was good though. Staff seemed disinterested and stressed. Shame because you have a lovely village to ply your business in.☹

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you felt we were expensive. We believe our prices structure is inline with other hotels of a similar standard within North Devon. Please remember we have to pay 20% vat on all food sold as well a pint many people don't realise or forget. I'm also sorry you found the staff a little stressed... More 

brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found Clovelly on a guide booked and booked without knowing too much about the village or hotel. We had no idea we were in for such a treat! We fell head over heels in love the second we arrived. The hotel is right on the harbour with such a beautiful view. We were lucky enough to stay in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. Please call me when you wish to re-book as we have many shooting parties over the winter months and We would like to make sure you have a once relaxing time again Best wishes Nick 01237 431237 More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Red Lion twice during our stay in Devon. The staff where fantastically friendly. Beautiful pub at an amazing location. We stopped for a well earned drink after our walk down to the harbour on a wet day. Then our second visit involved a tea and coffee in the sunshine over looking the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks, its lovely when we get feed back from people who get what Clovelly is really all about Best wishes Nick More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You must visit this area, it should be compulsory that everybody should go to Clovelly, it is truly good for you, what a lovely and magical place to go. Walk up the village, no cars, cobbled street, fantastic shopping, friendly locals and get a Landrover ride down the very steep road back to the hotel, and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review its lovely to get such great feed back! best wishes Nick More 

amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hidden in a bay the Red Lion Hotel has some surprises on its sleeve. First the rooms are very good, with a great view on the bay. In the evening when the few tourists whom found Clovelly are gone - the guests of This hotel have the bay for themselves. Tranquil. The sun will slowly set putting the ocean on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We are all delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and I hope you will come over again soon best wishes Nick More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We last came to Clovelly 20 years ago when we were doing the Southwest Coastal Path walk and left with extremely fond memories. We booked the Red Lion Hotel to give ourselves a treat on our return 20 years later. We stayed in a room at the SailLoft which was spacious, comfortable and clean. It has nice full views of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit so much please try not to leave it another 20 years before returning next time Best wishes Nick More 

New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had fish and chips early evening which was £14. The fish was tiny encased in greasy batter. Service was intermittent as each time I went to the bar I had to wait ages for a member of staff to turn up. The pub lacked any atmosphere and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Richard, Many thanks for your feedback, its a real shame as ever that you didn't talk to us on the day. I am sorry if we were a little short of staff, someone off sick I'm afraid. On the Fish and chips we serve 8-10oz portions of fish so I'm a little surprised by your comment on size. We have... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night whilst on a walking holiday along the SW Coast Path. Disregard the fact that the ground floor is given over to a harbour side bar, which is fairly basic and can be busy with tourists during the day. The hotel "sits" above on the 1st Floor, but our accommodation was in the recently converted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I think you have caught the clovelly spirit perfectly and your so right when saying the Sail Loft bedrooms have the most wonderful views. I would also say that all our rooms in the Sail Loft and in the Red Lion all have either bay or harbour views so where ever you slop you wake to... More 

Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression of our room which was no 9 was a feeling of a nice style which suited the Hotel with inviting views.Sadley the ambiance was spoilt by which we presume was the Kitchen extractor fan which was quite audible until it was off rather later in the evening.We felt the cooked breakfast was a little disappointing, we felt one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing the review. I am somewhat surprised by your comments on breakfast as we have a vast array of choices for breakfast and the Farmers (full Devonian breakfast) consists of sausage, mushrooms, bacon, heal taps, egg(s) of your choice and tomato. we also offer Smoked Salmon and Scrambled egg, eggs Benedict and lost more. I'm delighted you enjoyed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#5 of 14 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
8.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
14.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay