We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 St Mawes hotels

The Ship and Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Save Saved
You added The Ship and Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in St Mawes
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
michael_dornan Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (257)
  • Photos (86)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (103)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    89
    65
    31
    19
See reviews for
27
170
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been to a few Coast & Country Hotels and tried the Ship & Castle at St Mawes because we had not been to Cornwall for some time. How glad we were to have given this Hotel a go.The reception was business like but friendly, although there is a lift and we were only on the first floor,there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Ship and Castle Hotel for 5 days with Coast and Country. We had a wonderful time. The views of the harbour and especially at sunset was stunning. It is a great location to travel from and we did an escorted tour of the Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Falmouth (20 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. St Mawes is a fantastic base to explore Cornwall and the coach gives you a higher view point to appreciate it. We hope to see you very soon and your comments will be passed on to all the staff. Kind Regards Paul More

St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a week here. The hotel is perfectly situated right on the harbour front. Amazing views from the front windows and the restaurant. Our room was basic, but comfy and clean. The staff are so friendly and the restaurant staff are amazing. The food is worthy of a 5:* hotel. Breakfast is a good choice. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I`m pleased to hear you had such a good time and will be returning and it’s good to know that all our hard work is appreciated. As always, your comments will be passed on to all the staff. Kind Regards Paul More

Goondiwindi, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great spot and although the room may have appeared a bit dated once in the vibe of the location was perfect. Great staff especially Jackie in reception at time of arrival. Can recommend the town and the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your kind comments will be passed on to all the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Paul More

devon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a great 3 night stay at the Ship & Castle booked via Coast & Country Hotels . We had a sea view room with balcony which gave us spectacular views across the bay. The hotel has been refurbished and the public rooms are very pleasant but our room was a little tired and the bathroom definitely required... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you stated, the other hotels in the area are very expensive and lack the views that our hotel gives. We are great value for money, without losing quality and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We hope you will return to see us soon Kind Regards Paul More

Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to St Mawes for a 3 night break and stayed in The Ship and Castle. It has a great location on the waterfront and the staff are very kind and helpful Unfortunately, we did not have a front facing room and so found our room rather small and it overlooked a roof of the bank next door. Apparently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hopefully when you return, we will have a sea view room available. As you will understand, it’s impossible to increase room sizes unless a hotel is purpose built. We have room sizes across the board and when you book again, please contact me and I will do my best to meet your needs. As always... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No one seemed to be in charge and this lack of management left me with the impression that the company/hotel as a whole did not care about its quests. The breakfast service was very slow and my friend found the evening meals cold. Personally I felt that it was about time they had a breakfast buffet and just use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You said the room never met your expectations, but you never mentioned what these were during your stay. Or in your review. A buffet breakfast service is one of the most impersonal services you can get in a hotel. The guests have no or little contact with staff and it... More

uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bedrooms very tatty. Food very poor. At breakfast, orange juice was "concentrated", not fresh. No fresh fruit on offer. Scrambled egg overcooked. Toast soggy. Four of us ate in the restaurant on the first evening. We were each asked to sign for every course! The meal was very poor. We overheard a lady asking for a cheese salad. She was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It’s such a shame these issues you had were not voiced at the time, giving us the opportunity to resolve them. As you were only booked in for B&B, the evening meals you had would have been charged to your room and therefore needed signing for. Fresh fruit is always available and we have a... More

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this break by phone Friday, Saturday and Sunday but found out afterwards if I had booked it electronically I could have qualified for only paying £20 for Sunday night. We were not given this discount option! We were disappointed with the evening meals with processed food and overcooked vegetables; we were expecting at least one meal of fresh fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paul190832, Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your observations and comments, which as always will be discussed and passed on to all our staff. Our food is not processed food and we only use fresh produce and meats. Cooking vegetables to everyone’s taste is always difficult, but a word at reception or with the waiter, would have resolved this issue. Unfortunately at this time,... More

Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a weeks break at The Ship and Castle in a superior room with balcony on dinner ,bed and breakfast .Overall giving the price we paid we rated everything and had a very good break. The service in all area's of the hotel was very good . The hotels public areas are up to a high standard of finish.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a wonderful review following your recent stay at the ship & castle. We are delighted that you had a great experience. We do pride ourselves on our customer service values. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Jackie More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ship and Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where the Rivers’ Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen’s cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 55 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer