We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship and Castle Hotel

Hotel website
The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Special Offer
BEST HALF BOARD RATE HERE
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ship and Castle Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Watford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I booked my break I did look at the reviews, but gave up as many were so depressing, and just decided to 'go with the flow'. We arrived at 7.45 p.m, due to late departure from London, and we were greeted by the hotel manager,who said that dinner was served until 8.00 p.m. which caused some consternation on the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank NanWatford
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for your review, i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. Many Thanks Peter More 

Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent attentive service from start to finish. We've been to 5 different Coast and Country hotels in S England over the passed four years and this one beats them all. The meals especially had touches of originality which was refreshing. Maybe low season and that is why we had their best attention. Run like a family hotel. Go for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank grahamsizer
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your stay, i will pass on your positive comments to the team. Many Thanks Peter More 

aldershot
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We had a great time at the Ship and Castle Hotel at Christmas, yes it is old and our room needed an update but they are upgrading the rooms, we had a sea view room which had a wonderful view over the harbour but was very tired but nothing like the last reviewers views, it was clean and the beds... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clare a
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for your review, i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. Regards Peter More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

What worked in the room? Nothing Dirty, filled with spiders webs...and their dead carcasses ..peeling wallpaper and paint curling carpets and flaky staff... and the prices are ludicrousif the hotel is in financial difficulties it might be because at the prices it charges for the service it delivers...a sleeping bag on the beach would be an improvement

Helpful?
5 Thank Bob B
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 1 night stay with us. Its always dissapointing when we do not meet the expectations of a customer, I am really suprised that if your stay was that bad why wasnt anything commented on when you were in the hotel?. All comments will be investigated and improvements will me made... More 

Travelers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a Christmas party in St Mawes. Would never come again. The hotel is years out of date, scruffy, dirty, poorly maintained and the staff were either absent or unhelpful. On arrival I stood for at least five minutes while the receptionist (who had clearly seen me arrive) finished hoovering his office before coming... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Samphire A
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 1 night stay with us. Its always dissapointing when we do not meet the expectations of a customer, I am really suprised that if your stay was that bad why wasnt anything commented on when you were in the hotel?. All comments will be investigated and improvements will me made... More 

Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Stayed in room 119 on a Shearings break starting the 23rd November. This hotel is certainly well worth a visit and at the top end of Shearings portfolio. We upgraded to a Superior room (quite expensive) and to be honest we've had bigger superior rooms, but balcony and fantastic big bed and shower made it worth every penny. The only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete L
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at the Ship & Castle. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us, and i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team especially Chloe the lady behind the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

The hotel was clean and the single room was bigger than some I have stayed in with Shearings.The location is very good right on the quayside.The down side was the food most of it was either not cooked or burnt but the worse was on Thursday night I was looking forward to the deep fried cod in beer batter,what we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay. Its pleasing to see you liked our fantastic location and the room was to your liking. I am suprised to read your negative comments about the food during your stay especially as you never brought this to our attention?, but i will investaigate the comments and action where... More 

cookhill
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We have just returned from a 4 night break with Shearings. The rooms need a bit of tlc but the sheets and towels were clean. We stayed in room 126 and the TV was set at an angle to the bed so it was difficult to see it but then again the TV reception was poor in any event. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am really pleased you enjoyed your break with us, and i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. Many Thanks Peter More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I travelled as a single and paid supplement for a single room in the Shearings hotel in St Mawes, Cornwall. Paying a basic £120 for the break plus single room supplement of £15 proved to be excellent value for money. The hotel is in prime waterside position in St Mawes. It has been refurbished since my first visit almost ten... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lyndsay0
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed aspects of your stay especially the friendly staff. I will be sure to investigate your comments and take action where required. Many Thanks Peter More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Really lovely location, however accidently booked a queen instead of a twin on the afternoon of arrival and were unable to change the room booking :( The hotel looks to be the venue of tour groups, which made us young ones stand out like a sore thumb, on the plus side, it gave us reassurance travelling as two young women... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank l0ve2eat-86
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your short break with us, and i will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. I apologise you encountered difficulties at breakfast and i will investiagate this. Once again thank you for your review. Regards Peter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#12 of 23 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#22 of 43 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay