We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 St Mawes hotels

The Ship and Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MIDWEEK BREAKS FROM £139
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Ship and Castle Hotel to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
margaret r Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    95
    66
    32
    22
See reviews for
27
180
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent 4 nights at the hotel, food good, the hotel was clean and I was happy with my room, it was clean,maybe the carpet had seen better days, but at the price I paid it's excellent value for money. The staff, mainly from Europe were great, nothing was too much trouble they are friendly,helpful and hard working but smiley... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's worth knowing that the large village car-park is a couple of hundred yards away, so best not to take too much luggage, and that the cost of parking is £4.50 a day, so a good initial supply of pound coins is useful. Only a few more expensive rooms in the hotel have balconies overlooking the sea, but there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments will be passed on to all the staff. The fresh fruit, croissants and yoghurts, are all available from the menu on request. We look forward to you returning soon. More

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To a certain extent, it's pointless doing an in-depth comparative review of a Shearing's hotel. You probably know that you're going to get a formulated service level, supplied to a budget, and yes, you get what you pay for. That said, at £129 per person for a 3 night stay half board, it has to be considered good value .However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments will be passed on to all the staff. More

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best location in St Mawes, the hotel is the worst hotel I have stayed in, we were moved three times, each room was filthy, stained carpets, furniture, damp in the rooms and restaurant. The beds were uncomfortable, the only thing that was great, was the company and the view, this hotel should not be allowed to charge £80 per person... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All your comments have been noted and are being looked into. The room you did look into is being refurbished, after high winds caused roof damage and has not been used for several weeks. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Upgraded to a sea view superior room, clean and good bed, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making, a balcony with table and chairs. Although the other rooms looked ok the balcony rooms are def best especially in the summer. no need to go out if you like to sit and watch the world go by and the boats coming... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments will be passed on to all the staff More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in September. The room we were original given smelt very badly of damp, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the shower pressure was very low, just a dribble. We asked to change rooms, but as we arrived late we were told we had to wait unit morning when the receptionist would be in. The following... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All your comments have been noted and are currently being acted upon. More

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for a Saturday night in September. I only booked it on the Friday, and got a good price via laterooms.com. I was concerned, as I only read the reviews after I had booked, but I have to say that we found the hotel to be very good. The welcome was warm and informative, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you stated, we are very good value for money and offer great service with friendly staff. As do all our Coast and Country Hotels. You comments will be pasted onto all the staff. Kind Regards Paul Hollick GM More

Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights back in March. We arrived quite late in the evening and didn't have much of a "welcoming" just a good evening here's your room key and there's the stairs. However we had a lovely peaceful stay, a wonderful view of the harbour and a clean and comfy room. Would recommend this as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Being a review from back in March, it’s difficult to comment on your check-in. But this is very unusual so please except my apology. You didn`t say what you expected there to be in your room, but all our rooms have flat screen TV’s. Tea / coffee making. Private bathroom and fully furnished bedrooms. For... More

UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
140 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

OK... I landed at St Mawes with nothing booked... at an exceptionally busy time. A quick scan of the internet suggested everything was booked solid, except that Booking.com showed for rooms still available at the Ship and Castle. Heck... I was standing right beside it, so rather than go through the booking process, I just asked at the reception desk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to post a review. Our internet booking sometimes lag behind cancellations and reservations. Our system will show no availability, because a cancellation hasn`t come though to us from the web bookings and vice versa. No member of staff is blunt to customers,” I`m sorry we are full”, seems a polite and reasonable response to me. It... More

Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The View Cafe - part of the Ship & Castle hotel. We went in for coffee, and seeing as it was wet and cold, we thought we'd make it irish! We were immediately told that the displayed menu (sitting on the counter, as well as every table in the cafe, as it turned out) was for the hotel only, or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul190832, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apology for the unacceptable service you received. There no excuses for bad service and rude staff. Your review is being treated very seriously and will be investigated. These problems should never have arisen, because we do serve liqueur coffee`s from the View; along with the full menu. Our coffee machines are electronic and grind fresh coffee beans... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay