We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship and Castle Hotel

Hotel website
The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £129
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ship and Castle Hotel
The Ship and Castle Hotel
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    114
    70
    36
    24
See reviews for
30
215
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Batley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just prior to our visit I was looking for a telephone number for the hotel to check the time that dinner was available during the evening, having booked through Coast and country some months before. I was directed to trip advisor and saw some alarming reports on the hotel and staff, which differed hugely from the reports I had read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We all wish you the best in your future travels, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Many Thanks Peter More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to poor weather camping in St Ives my partner and I made a last minute decision to book into a hotel. We got a great last minute deal and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a great location - lots to do and see all by foot. The room itself was dated - The hairdryer was awful Could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay, im sorry you found issues in your room. If you would of reported these at the time we would of done our best to resolve them. Once again thank you for the feedback. Regards Peter More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I decided to do a last minute visit to St Mawes and this was the only accommodation free on the Saturday night. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the village, however sadly that is the only positive. Check in was fine, however was merely pointed in the direction of the room. The room, once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed to see you did not enjoy your short visit at the Ship & Castle, Myself or a member of the team would of been more than happy to discuss and resolve the issue you had with the room if you would of brought... More 

Travelers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Having used Coast and Country hotels in the past I booked this hotel full of hope. Unfortunately it did not live up to their normal standards. The staff were very friendly and most helpful on arrival. The bar and waiting staff were very good. The standard room was very small and the paper was peeling off the walls and ceiling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased you found the staff to be very friendly, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. I'm sorry your stay was not perfect and wish you would of brought this to the attention of myself or the team who would... More 

Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Charming Hotel. My Wife Kath and I Stayed at this hotel with Shearing’s Holidays in May 2015. However I got the Impression that about 20% of the guests were independent travellers. Situated on the sea front at St Mawes Cornwall the location is blissful. As you step out of the hotel there in front of you is a beautiful bay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you and your wife enjoyed your holiday with us, I will be sure to pass on your nice comments to the team. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks Peter More 

Home Counties
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We stayed here last year and it's fair to say it was a bit of a mixed bag. The room was great, the balcony view of the harbour was marvellous, though I did think the price of the upgrade was a bit steep at the time. On the downside, we had a couple of very poor evening meals and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and i will be sure to pass your kind comments to the team. We all look forward to welcoming back in the near future. Many Thanks Peter More 

Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Don't bother with a Superior room, they're no better than the standard ones. It took three attempts to get the sheets and blanket we requested when booking substituted for the supplied duvet. Carpets badly stained because the balconies aren't cleaned and dirt is walked through. Floors creak very badly. The basin didn't drain properly and the shower hose was split... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. May i firstly say how disapointed i am that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and especially the Superior room your were allocated. It does suprise me as our Superior rooms are a really popular choice for our guests. Thank you for your... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Really sorry to write this review as we did book this last minute but not a cheap deal what a awful room we had we looked over the bins and the kitchen so you can imagine the smell it was so hot in the room but you could not open the windows for the smell and noise there was damp,on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MattReed123, Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your room. I am disappointed that you found some issues with your room, if you had stated this whilst at the hotel, we would have been able to offer you a selection of other rooms which may have better suited your expectations. Fortunatey though, none of our bedrooms overlook our waste disposal... More 

Seaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Great location but a sadly tired old hotel. Pleasant enough downstairs but the rooms are awful badly dated and not maintained to any reasonable standard. Ours had a broken window and mouldy and cracked walls (i have plenty of photos) and a lovely shared and filthy balcony. When i complained we were offered another room which had broken patio doors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MattReed123, Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy many aspects of the hotel which have pleased so many of our previous guests. Val B for example who reviewed us on the 1st of April also stayed in room 117 without issue. I was very suprised that you... More 

scunny UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

We took a late booking with Shearings coaches going on a Monday to Friday trip in April and our destination was The Ship and Castle in St.Maws Cornwall.it was along journey down but we arrived in time for our evening meal.The Hotel was very welcoming we got our keys to our room which was bright ,clean and well laid out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks Peter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Greenbank Hotel
Greenbank Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay