We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gonwin Manor Cottages

Gonwin Manor Dr | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Gonwin Manor Cottages

43 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely loved Gonwin Manor (Sunflower cottage). We were greeted on arrival by the owner (and friendly dogs) who showed us around. Arrival hamper of local goodies was a nice touch. The cottage is brilliantly designed and furnished and everything - bedding, towels, bathrooms, appliances, furniture, artwork are all luxurious and give the cottage a real "at home" feeling. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed in Rose Cottage, what a cottage, every appliance was provided even an Ipod cradle which supplied all rooms. Log burner which we took advantage of, extremely comfy bed and pillows, underfloor heating, the list goes on. Provisions were included in the form of tea, filter coffee, milk, Cornish Shortbread biscuits, Cornish Fudge, strawberry preserve and locally pressed apple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed at the sunflower cottage during the half term by the end of october. We were not very lucky with the weather, but it was one of the best family holidays we have ever had. The cottage was just perfect, really tasteful, warm and well equiped - there was absolutely nothing we needed and did not have. Arriving at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Rose cottage and our first stay at Gonwin and this part of Cornwall. The location is wonderful and easy access into the SWCPath. The weather during our week was bad however we did manage a couple of nice long walks. The cottage was very nice, well appointed and clean. There were however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gonwinmanor868, Owner at Gonwin Manor Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I can only apologise for the problems which you have had with the wifi and the hot water. From our perspective though, it is fair easier to fix a problem for you during your stay, once we are aware of the issue than being told of the problem when you are leaving - at least... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Gonwin Manor Cottages 26th Sept to 3rd Oct. My fifth visit. I was lucky with the fantastic weather but I have also been in February when freezing cold but the cottages are warm with underfloor heating and log burning stove which my Labrador loved. The owners are very friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Lavender Cottage for a week at the end of September. The cottage was wonderful. Extremely well equipped and stocked with high end appliances. There were freshly made scones, jam and clotted cream left for us in a little basket along with a bottle of red wine and chocolates. The owners, who are very friendly, live on site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The cottage which was within a complex was extremely well equipped. I can only describe the accommodation as excellent, everything within the cottage was top drawer, and the location and surrounding area were superb.Our hosts were polite and extremely helpful. Their attention to detail was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. An example of this was when we returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed in Heather cottage. Lovely place lovely location, ideal for dog owners. However, as previous reviews state the holiday was ruined by an awful smell of rotten eggs coming from the bath. As previous comments state the owners put some cleaner down which did the trick for a few days. However, the stench returned and when we told the owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
gonwinmanor868, Owner at Gonwin Manor Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent views on Tripadvisor about your holiday. We are a little bit disappointed as we felt that we did try and rectify the problem whilst you were with us. The drainage problems are a local area problem not an issue which is exclusive to our cottages. We did respond quickly to your issue, we cleaned... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently stayed in Rose Cottage. The cottage has lots of lovely gadgets such as fantastic kitchen equipment and jacuzzi bath. The IPod link that allows music to be played in any room was great. The cream tea, wine and chocolates were a welcoming touch. Jill, the mother of the owners is very friendly and tries to help as much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in the Lavender Cottage in June 2014 arriving with great anticipation. First impression's of the site were good, quiet, private, allocated parking etc. Owner did a introduction and explained the facilities and access. We then went into our cottage the Lavender. We didn't realise until after booking that pets were allowed (our fault really) and being none pet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities