We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Primrose Valley Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2ED, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Primrose Valley Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Primrose Valley Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    297
    117
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
34
356
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (468)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Calne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked a superior deluxe double with sea views. Well if that was supposed to be superior or indeed a deluxe, then I can;t imagine what a standard would be like. Our bathroom ( no bath ) was minute and the room was pretty basic and bore no relation to the photo's in the brochure. It was on the top floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you clearly did not enjoy your stay. Our aim is that everyone leaves the hotel having had a very relaxed, comfortable time. We would like to encourage all guests to come to us straightaway if there is anything that they are not happy with and not endure their stay. Where possible we will always change... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend chose this hotel for a few days away for my birthday. On arrival we were met by Mihaka who was very pleasant and polite and incredibly welcoming, Both him and Natasha were really friendly and helpful for the length of our stay. One of the days we were struggling for things to do due to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. As new owners we do appreciate all feedback. It was good to meet you both and hope the sunburn has gone down! Natasha and Mihaka More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's a small and cosy hotel. You can park outside, which is important in St. Ives, where the streets are very narrow. Primrose is only a walk away from the busy towncentre. The city is very pitoresque.

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do hope that you will return to St Ives. Best Wishes Natasha and Mihaka More 

Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this wonderfull hotel many times as its location behind Portminster beach cant be bettered in St Ives. The new owners are charming and in the process of redcoration and general improvements which whilst underway make the hotel look a bit shabby but I am sure will re-establish this as the number one place to stay when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

I do agree with you that you cannot better the location in St Ives. This is what attracted us to the hotel and we love being able to be in a position to have a morning swim just seconds from the hotel. Thank you for your kind words and all your suggestions, we do appreciate that. We have kept the... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for three new nights for a wedding. For the price they charge internet service does not work. No hot water from sink and shower most of time. The bedside lamp falls off side table. Breakfast was only basic consistent of 1 1/2 slices of bacon, 1/2 tomato, 1 tiny sausage. Overall for the price I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at the hotel. We have only had ownership for the last 3 months and are trying to create an atmosphere that if you have any reservations or dislikes that you can discuss it at anytime. There is no restriction in the quantity of food served at breakfast and... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 2 which was smaller than we would have liked but did have a balcony and view of St.Ives. The bed was comfortable and the breakfasts in this hotel were amazing - lots of option for both hot and cold breakfast and the breakfast room is very pretty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding the time to write about the Primrose Valley Hotel and it was so good to hear that you had a good stay in St Ives. We have always loved the town and like you appreciate being so close to the town but away from the crowds. We do hope that you will return. Natasha and Mihaka More 

California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love this hotel. It is clean and attractively furnished. Our room had no view - we wished we had splurged on a balcony, but the beach was only a few steps away. It is quite close to the train station, which in big cities is usually a bad thing, but in St Ives it was merely convenient. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and thank you for your kind words. The wifi is being updated and I hope that if you do return you will enjoy all the changes. Natasha and Mihaka More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a lovely place. Just a short walk to the hustle and bustle of St. Ives and really a great location if you're arriving by train. The breakfast was wonderful and Mihaka and Natasha are the children we wish we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and hope that you do come back here again. Thank you for your very kind words. Natasha and Mihaka More 

Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the hotel down a narrow lane and were happily surprised at its location right next to the Porthminster Beach, only a short stroll along the beach path to the village.We were met by one of the owners who has only recently taken over the hotel and is working hard at putting their stamp on the place. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making the time to write such a lovely review. We very much appreciate it. Hope you enjoy the rest of the summer. Natasha and Mihaka More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm writing this review knowing that the new owners who took over after we booked are going to be making some much needed changes and we will definitely go back when they have finished. We spent 5 nights here recently and found the location of the hotel to be excellent for Porthminster beach. There was free parking at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
natashaandmihaka, Owner at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review

It was very good to meet you and we have taken on board your suggestions. There are many changes taking place, most of which will occur when we are closed over Christmas. Amongst the many changes we will be bringing in more rugs and also to carpet the top floor to reduce noise. We very much look forward to seeing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 1,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
#8 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#9 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#6 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 24 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay