We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Ives Backpackers

Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Ives Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Ives Backpackers
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    7
    5
    15
See reviews for
1
9
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

This is the only hostel in St. Ives. A lot of surfers and long time guests give it a quirky charm. The rooms are ok. The building and furniture is poor condition is very tired and in need of cleaning and care. But if all you are looking for is a place to flop, that is safe and has nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The backpackers in St.Ives is a great spot to hang in the lounge and to relax.It offers comfortable rooms and enough space for yourself.It's not to pricy and has wireless connection.They have showers,where you have to pay,but also some in the basement for free.I loved the location with wall decoration,pictures and money of different countries.I felt very comfortable during my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

For less than £20 in the centre of St.Ives... I'm happy with that. Good: staff, free Wi-Fi - even the Hilton charge you - and it's location. Bad; it's pretty filthy, furniture is ripped and the mattress was non-existent. Oh, and ignore Google Maps for directions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is dated, its a bit dirty, a bit noisey and generally pretty poor. But lets be honest, I would go back again because the price and location (centre of St Ives) is right. There is a self catering kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a relaxed atmosphere but the common rooms and dorms were dirty. In a good location near the beach and shops but unfortunately on a busy road, with traffic noisy all night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to be here for 2 nights,the young Australian girl that works on the reception and runs most things is very sweet,friendly and helpful. However,we cut short our stay as the thought of another night in this filthy hovel was just too much.The bedding was adequate,although the pillows are as thin as a pancake and filthy,no curtains in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline O, Manager at St. Ives Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I would firstly like to say I am responding to your review on behalf of the entire team from St Ives Backpackers. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. As I was the one who checked you in I would like to let you know that if you had informed me (or any member... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A very nice hostel to stay to experience some of the hippie life-style. It feels like a different dimension, different space. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to save money and build a deeper connection with their travelling companions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Unlike the reviews I saw before coming, I found this place not dirty at all. In fact, it's been one of the cleanest I stayed during my trip around Cornwall, and I gotta say that I stayed in quite a few. When I first entered the place, I was impressed. Really really big, surf-like decorated and full of amazing people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is all you need and more! it has such good staff, Very fun surf vibes and basic clean rooms. The only thing that could be improved is the men's shower down stairs. But they have better ones upstairs anyway so no big deal. Recommended for any backpackers traveling to St Ives

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on this hostel I was very hesitant in staying.. But was desperate to see St Ives and there wasn't much of a choice really. Although after arriving the manager was so friendly and welcoming. A large lounge / common area meant I could meet new people and some locals. Had a chat to a few long termers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Ives Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Backpackers

Address: Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Ives Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Backpackers Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Backpackers St Ives, Cornwall

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay