We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 St Ives accommodations

St. Ives Backpackers

Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St. Ives Backpackers to your Saves list
St. Ives Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
46%
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty lodging in St Ives
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carlisle1987 Carlisle, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    3
    15
See reviews for
1
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a relaxed atmosphere but the common rooms and dorms were dirty. In a good location near the beach and shops but unfortunately on a busy road, with traffic noisy all night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were supposed to be here for 2 nights,the young Australian girl that works on the reception and runs most things is very sweet,friendly and helpful. However,we cut short our stay as the thought of another night in this filthy hovel was just too much.The bedding was adequate,although the pillows are as thin as a pancake and filthy,no curtains in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline O, Manager at St. Ives Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I would firstly like to say I am responding to your review on behalf of the entire team from St Ives Backpackers. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. As I was the one who checked you in I would like to let you know that if you had informed me (or any member... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A very nice hostel to stay to experience some of the hippie life-style. It feels like a different dimension, different space. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to save money and build a deeper connection with their travelling companions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Unlike the reviews I saw before coming, I found this place not dirty at all. In fact, it's been one of the cleanest I stayed during my trip around Cornwall, and I gotta say that I stayed in quite a few. When I first entered the place, I was impressed. Really really big, surf-like decorated and full of amazing people.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is all you need and more! it has such good staff, Very fun surf vibes and basic clean rooms. The only thing that could be improved is the men's shower down stairs. But they have better ones upstairs anyway so no big deal. Recommended for any backpackers traveling to St Ives

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on this hostel I was very hesitant in staying.. But was desperate to see St Ives and there wasn't much of a choice really. Although after arriving the manager was so friendly and welcoming. A large lounge / common area meant I could meet new people and some locals. Had a chat to a few long termers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I probably couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. I went down to St Ives from London by myself so I was looking to stay somewhere pretty sociable and close to the harbour. I'd read a couple of reviews previously and wasn't quite sure what I was in for but I took my chances and was glad I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Honestly for 15£ a night I couldn't ask for much more. It's not the newest most updated hostel but the manager Matt was accomodating and quick to introduce me to other backpackers. The location is the biggest plus, as it is a 20 second walk to a grocery store and a 5 minute stroll through town to get to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at this so called "haven" which i soon realised was "hell" for 2 nights in the month of March. I had booked a private room a month in advance but when i got there they had no record of my booking even though I had paid them a booking fee. Luckily there was a room available. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Caroline O, Manager at St. Ives Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi VIV0510, Since you've last stayed here we have undergone a change of management. We've had the whole winter to change around the day -to- day cleaning schedule, late night noise curfew & general rules & regulations of the hostel. I myself as the new manager stopped here as a guest last summer and experienced the same problems that you... More

Southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We took a group of 30 19 year old art students to St.Ives and we all stayed in the Backpackers. The students loved staying in the friendly and creative environment that Samantha and John have created. Some comments from our students: "Very lovely and in a great location to town and some really good food nearby" "Lovely staff and cats!"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St. Ives Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Ives Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Backpackers

Address: Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Ives Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Backpackers Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Backpackers St Ives, Cornwall

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of beautiful St. Ives and just a few minutes walk away from some of Cornwall's most stunning beaches,coastal walks and local restaurants. If you’re looking for budget accommodation, this centrally located, character filled friendly backpackers hostel is the perfect place to stay whilst enjoying all the beauty St Ives has to offer.We have dorms and private rooms available, large communal area and an open courtyard for catching rays on lazy summer days and scrumptious BBQ’s at night. St Ives is famous for its artistic community and laid back lifestyle and St.Ives Backpackers is an ideal base to explore the many attractions in the area. Maybe a trip to the Tate Gallery or the local artisans, surf the un-crowded beaches, walk the coast path, take a scenic boat ride, the list is endless. At night St Ives has a thriving night scene with many pubs and bars playing host to local musical talent, and restaurants serving mouth watering food prepared by some of the country’s top chefs or maybe just take a leisurely walk by the harbour. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer