We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 St Ives accommodations

St. Ives Backpackers

Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St. Ives Backpackers to your Saves list
St. Ives Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
45%
Ranked #18 of 26 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
AndrewW1984 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    7
    4
    15
See reviews for
1
9
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For less than £20 in the centre of St.Ives... I'm happy with that. Good: staff, free Wi-Fi - even the Hilton charge you - and it's location. Bad; it's pretty filthy, furniture is ripped and the mattress was non-existent. Oh, and ignore Google Maps for directions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is dated, its a bit dirty, a bit noisey and generally pretty poor. But lets be honest, I would go back again because the price and location (centre of St Ives) is right. There is a self catering kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a relaxed atmosphere but the common rooms and dorms were dirty. In a good location near the beach and shops but unfortunately on a busy road, with traffic noisy all night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to be here for 2 nights,the young Australian girl that works on the reception and runs most things is very sweet,friendly and helpful. However,we cut short our stay as the thought of another night in this filthy hovel was just too much.The bedding was adequate,although the pillows are as thin as a pancake and filthy,no curtains in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline O, Manager at St. Ives Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I would firstly like to say I am responding to your review on behalf of the entire team from St Ives Backpackers. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. As I was the one who checked you in I would like to let you know that if you had informed me (or any member... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A very nice hostel to stay to experience some of the hippie life-style. It feels like a different dimension, different space. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to save money and build a deeper connection with their travelling companions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Unlike the reviews I saw before coming, I found this place not dirty at all. In fact, it's been one of the cleanest I stayed during my trip around Cornwall, and I gotta say that I stayed in quite a few. When I first entered the place, I was impressed. Really really big, surf-like decorated and full of amazing people.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is all you need and more! it has such good staff, Very fun surf vibes and basic clean rooms. The only thing that could be improved is the men's shower down stairs. But they have better ones upstairs anyway so no big deal. Recommended for any backpackers traveling to St Ives

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on this hostel I was very hesitant in staying.. But was desperate to see St Ives and there wasn't much of a choice really. Although after arriving the manager was so friendly and welcoming. A large lounge / common area meant I could meet new people and some locals. Had a chat to a few long termers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I probably couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. I went down to St Ives from London by myself so I was looking to stay somewhere pretty sociable and close to the harbour. I'd read a couple of reviews previously and wasn't quite sure what I was in for but I took my chances and was glad I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Honestly for 15£ a night I couldn't ask for much more. It's not the newest most updated hostel but the manager Matt was accomodating and quick to introduce me to other backpackers. The location is the biggest plus, as it is a 20 second walk to a grocery store and a 5 minute stroll through town to get to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage St. Ives Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Ives Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Backpackers

Address: Gabriel St | Town Centre, St Ives TR26 1SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Ives Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Backpackers Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Backpackers St Ives, Cornwall

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near St. Ives Backpackers