We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tregenna Castle Resort

Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tregenna Castle Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    733
    590
    325
    164
    107
See reviews for
434
1,043
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1919)
  • Mar-May only
    (509)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (539)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (439)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (432)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Seaview room on ground floor. Lovely views but dated. Bed not as comfy as it should have been. Bathroom needs replacing/updating. Not enough sockets in the room and some didn't work. Dangerous extention lead used for kettle on table, not very safe! ! Not enough car parking spaces. Footpaths around hotel and to the car park need updating as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a 2 night stay here as a surprise for my partner. I chose this hotel because online it looks luxurious and I thought it would be a real treat. Yes the grounds are amazing and it is impressive to drive up to but... The rooms in the hotel are very tired and old. Our bath room dirty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic facilities for our 5-night stay in St Ives. We loved the access to golf, tennis, swimming and cycling in stunning grounds within walking distance of St Ives. You cannot get anything with so much in the St Ives area. It was perfect for us as a couple but would certainly recommend for families. The room was a good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. We are delighted that you had a great holiday with us and enjoyed your accommodation, our food and facilities. We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you then. More 

Torquay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights...£462! Nor bad until room was boiling, windows rattled, chipped bath, grubby tiles, poor maintenance, flies in pool, jaccuzi not on due to maintenance, breakfast never fully stocked and poor quality eggs, hash browns and sausages... In 3 days I saw on the last day one waitress smile! The service was poor and untrained! Given I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

We have read your review and noted your comments with interest. We do try and placate any concerns or complaints from guests when staying with us if they are brought to our attention and would prefer to do this whilst you are hear rather than read about it later when we have no opportunity to redress them. We are sorry... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently visited Tregenna for my daughters wedding 1- 9 th August . Stayed in the hotel for the first night befor the wedding and then in Porthcurno, part of the village complex for the remainder of the stay. Firstly the hotel, which is very tired and dated and whilst I was informed by the duty manager that there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

We have read you review and noted your comments with interest. We are delighted to hear that your daughter and son-in-laws wedding day was a huge success. We note that you had a conversation with our Duty Managers and that you relayed all of the above comments to them advising in advance that you would be writing a full report... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This now 3 star hotel is tired and lacks any style whatsoever. It was once a grand railway hotel with wonderful views over St Ives and a reputation for being first class. It is a sad relic of its former self. The view remains wonderful but the service and ambiance is second rate. Our room was a delux with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

We have read your review and noted your comments with interest. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us at Tregenna Castle and it fell below your expectations. We accept that our style, character and ambience will not be to everybody’s taste, but would refer you to the vast majority of our customer reviews who enjoy... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited St Ives for many times but its our first time at Treganna and what a hidden gem. Don't be perturbed by the rather stark old fashioned red lettered sign (which honestly has put us off in the past) the grounds are stunning and the views surprising - it has a wonderful view of the harbour. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here, your accommodation, our food, location and facilities. We agree with you that the grounds are stunning and the view out over the harbour & St Ives bay is wonderful. Our... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stated here for a few nights. The approach to the hotel and location are stunning but personally the main hotel interior did not deliver. We upgraded to a sea view room and that was decorated to a high finish and the views were breath taking. For us stepping outside the room was a disappointment, the common areas were dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and for your comments all of which have been noted. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, your accommodation and its wonderful views as well as our food. Our staff work hard to ensure that every aspect of your time with us is good... More 

Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We must return was the last comment on leaving from my wife. The room overlooked St. Ives, the Restaurant food was great, and the weather great. A lovely outdoor pool and a stroll into the town for a really relaxing break. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as our accommodation, the food and facilities. We note that you have stayed with us several times before and thank you for your regular support and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Angarrack, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend in June. The facilities were great, good value for money. The childcare was AMAZING. My daughter loved CASTLE KIDS. All the activities were very well planned and the facility makes great use of the hotels' facilities and beautiful gardens/play park. Wonderful. Would definitley recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your weekend break with us in June and for your kind comments and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your daughter loved Castle Kids and the activities they organised during your visit. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Tregenna Castle again soon. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Sea view(12)
  • Very good(11)
  • Golf course(6)
  • Self catering(5)
  • Indoor pool(4)
  • Wedding party(4)
  • Swimming pool(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

569 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (551)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (116)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
#8 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#5 of 24 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#9 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay