We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 St Ives hotels

Tregenna Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tregenna Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
69%
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in St Ives
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mittysmit
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,481)
  • Photos (460)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (484)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

1,481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    450
    249
    140
    93
See reviews for
341
777
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1481)
  • Mar-May only
    (380)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (433)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (344)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (324)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for three nights with my two young children. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and the facilities were great. Ten minute walk into St Ives and 5 minutes from the beach. Outdoor paddling pool an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed for one night. Had breakfast only which was as expected based on what I read in other reviews. You can eat your fill but selection is a little skimpy, OK if you want full English but forget meats and cheeses as you would find in better hotels. It's quite a way from the harbour but the walk is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your soft bed and the not too arduous walk from St Ives harbour, althoughsome previous reviewers may disagree with you though. We hope should return to St Ives in the future you choose to stay with us and continue enjoying the ambience our resort has to offer. More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family party of 8 stayed at Fairways in August 2013. We were so disappointed with the house - tired decor, scaled showers, chipped worktops and worn carpets and only 1 single door key for three couples & 2 children. We asked for another key and were told we could get one for an extra £10 deposit, petty as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that Tregenna Castle is not for you and your family despite the best efforts of staff and management to change your opinion. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our leisure facilities and food. More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A lovely old hotel in superbly maintained grounds with astonishing views over St.Ives; my problem was with the restaurant manager Kris who, I'm told, prides himself on looking John Rhys-Davies (Indiana Jones films) but has none of the charm of that actor. Brusque would be a compliment. He needs to learn the difference between staff and guests...nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Our restaurant manager has been receiving kind comments from our guests since his arrival. Comments regarding the actor John-Rhys Davies have not been made by any of our staff or by the restaurant manager. We actively encourage guests to post comments on tripadvisor regarding our resort and not for inappropriate remarks aimed at our staff. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A huge let down due to VERY POOR customer service by one of the members of staff in the Brasserie. We sat on a table in front of the bar having a lovely family meal but could not help over hearing Fiona (the staff member) constantly talking poorly about other staff members. My wife asked Fiona for a Pimms and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the opinion of a staff member regarding her colleagues was overheard. We treat matters like this very seriously. The member of staff mentioned would like to apologise because her usual high standards of customer service were not evident during your recent stay. She and everyone at the resort hope you are willing to change your mind and... More

Durham
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a good time here despite our rooms being close to the function hall and having to suffer from a considerable lack of sleep as a result of the noise which went on at intolerable volumes from dusk till past midnight. The rooms felt rather dated, as other reviewers have rightly mentioned (walls peeling off, bathtub rusty, cheap toiletries... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased you all had a good time at our resort. We encourage our staff to read tripadvisor reviews and they will be pleased to read your kind comments. Your room is due for refurbishment and we will address the issues you have raised. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 3 bedroom self catering cottage in Tregenna and wished we read the reviews about this hotel before on Trip Advisor before we actually decided to stay here. The grounds was actually lovely but the cottage was very disappointing. Everything in the cottage is in need of complete change to even get a 3 star rating. Bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry Tregenna Castle did not meet your expectations. We are very disconcerted when guests decide to announce their displeasure with our resort through on-line resources rather than discuss situations with our duty managers and or housekeeping manager. Your comments have been passed on and will be fully investigated as are all comments when we are made aware of... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The big pluses of our recent stay in a self-catering apartment at Tregenna were the lovely hotel grounds, the facilities such as the pools and children's play area, and the staff who were friendly and helpful without exception. The children really enjoyed the kids' club activities, from party games to woodland camping, and the small and well heated outdoor children's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your very amiable comments regarding all our staff. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed some of our leisure facilities and the beautiful grounds surrounding our resort. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff at Castle Kids who have been tirelessly organising activities to entertain our younger (and sometimes older) guests throughout the summer... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed in the garden house apartment at the above hotel and were disappointed. My son paid a lot of money for the week. The approach to the appt was awful in fact you did not want to go in. Once inside again it really needed refurbishing curtains that looked as if they had never been cleaned. Small bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased you found our reception staff helpful during your recent family holiday at our resort. Our garden cottages are very popular with families and couples and we are often praised for our tropical walled garden. Due to their location these properties are not normally available unless booked well in advance. We are upgrading our rooms and self-catering properties... More

Kintbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed at Tregenna before in one of their pole lodges and had been very impressed, so we looked no further when we wanted somewhere special to take my husband's parents when they were visiting from abroad. We felt that the extra cost would be worth it, and the facilities which include an outdoor and indoor pool, restaurant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding the beds and fluffy towels in New Vow 2. It is with regret we have described on our website that your property has a private garden. All our woodland properties have paths leading to the hotel and these are not used by guests staying in our hotel or other self-catering properties within our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tregenna Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Hotel

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tregenna Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

460 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (452)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St Ives with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives #9 Family Hotel in St Ives #11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tregenna Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer