We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pedn Olva Hotel

#10 of 24 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pedn Olva Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    242
    182
    58
    28
    19
See reviews for
94
310
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent the afternoon at the Pedn Olva having a few drinks on the terrace overlooking the beach. How amazing. The weather was perfect for a relaxing afternoon with friends in the sunshine. The view was gorgeous. We definitely would go back again. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Drinks were quite pricey but it's a hotel so it is to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

St Ives is by far the most beautiful town i have ever visited in England. The Ped nolva was the perfect choice for our weeks break in Cornwall. Firstly the location of the hotel is the best in the area, right on the beach front with panoramic views, its the first time i have ever been having a shower, overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay here at the Pedn Olva. We are indeed in an enviable location and the hotel does take advantage of the stunning views from every aspect. I am pleased that you found everything to our usual high standards and will pass this on to all the staff involved, who though young... More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a week here at the start of july. Our room was clean, the bed was comfy, we had a great view of Porthminster beach from the bedroom window, and we had a view of St Ives harbour from the en-suite window. The room had all the usual facilities, but was slightly on the small side. The en-suite had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at the Pedn Olva. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to a high standard and will pass this on to the hardworking housekeeping team. Our location and outside areas definitely have some of the best views in St Ives. I am sorry that... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found the Pedn Olva by accident whilst in St Ives but glad we did. We didn't stay as guests at the hotel, just had lunch there. We had two dishes from the lunch menu, and they were both superb. We sat outside on the terrace with a fantastic view of Porthminster Beach on a beautiful, sunny day. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of your recent visit to the Pedn Olva. I am delighted that you stumbled across us and that you found everything to our usual high standards. I will of course pass your comments on to all involved as positive feedback gives the staff a real boost. I look forward to welcoming you back when... More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lived in st ives for 12 years, this used to be a great place. I have just come to the bar, half of the oroducts have gone, furniture is tacky and dirty, and I have just been charged 90p for a small glass of water with a dash of cordial. Avoide before disapointment, plenty of better places around

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Pedn Olva. Unfortunately you have wrongly stated that 'half our products' are gone, this is not the case as we have moved over to bottled products and now actually offer more choices than we did before. With regards to the cleanliness, we do endeavour to keep everything to a... More 

West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I didn't stay at the hotel, just had a late afternoon meal in the restaurant. This could be a great place to eat if only a little more attention to detail was made. There weren't all that many people in the restaurant, due I suppose to it being late afternoon. I sat at a table with a wonderful view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent meal at the Pedn Olva. I must apologise if the table was not clean when you sat down and will remind the restaurant team to keep the cleanliness standards to the levels we expect throughout the day. I am pleased that you found the meal itself to... More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went along to the hotel to see if we could have a drink on terrace. Hooray, we got a wonderful seat, and enjoyed the beautiful view and a lovely glass of wine, thank you very much. The service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Pedn Olva. I am pleased that you were able to sit on our terrace and enjoy some of the best views in town and that you found the service to be friendly and prompt. I look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our drinks and views in the... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When booked this hotel i felt very much excited because it was a sea view room in a hotel beautifully situated in wonderful St. Ives. What a disappointment it turned out to be when they gave us the room overlooking not just the sea, but a swimming pool area full with sunbathing people! We couldn't even keep our curtains open,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Pedn Olva, I am sorry if you found the location of your room down by the poolside unsatisfactory as the Reception Team do always stipulate the location when you book with us direct. I hope that if you had brought to our attention that you were not satisfied... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly receptionist, room with stunning view right on cliff edge with end balcony small cabin room but with everything you could want. Dinner in the restaurant was another matter however. We were seated in the window which was fine but waited there for about twenty minutes and nothing happened. Plenty of waiting staff milling about but not for us. Eventually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience at the Pedn Olva. I am pleased that the initial arrival was up to our usual standards. I must apologise that the service you received in the restaurant was not to our usual high standards and will speak to the Restaurant team regarding this. No guest should be made to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location but no A.C. or fans provided and very small double beds. On top of that the charge for one night was a ridiculous £180. Rates in more comfortable hotels are not that high.Noise is a factor, partly due to busy street and gulls.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PednOlva_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at the Pedn Olva. I am sorry that you found the lack of A/C to be an issue, but we do provide fans on request to guests. Most of our rooms do come with a standard Double bed, however we do have rooms available with King Size Beds. I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (179)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa
#8 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#5 of 24 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#6 of 24 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 24 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay