We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 St Ives hotels

Pedn Olva Hotel

West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Hotel amenities
Pedn Olva Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
86%
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Shaun W Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    129
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
53
199
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved visiting St Ives recently. We went here every day for drinks and such. Lovely staff, amazing atmosphere and the views - wow! They have a good selection of local beers and a very impressive wine list. We didn't try the food although it looked amazing. Would definatly recommended to anyone without question!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visit to us. Receiving great service and being able to take in the views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the Cornwall coastline and we’re able to sample the extensive selection... More

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We had great hopes for the restaurant. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. From the supposed broccoli soup, that was not much more than unseasoned pea soup, to the snobby attitude of the bartender and waiter this was a mediocre experience. True, it has a great view, but there are better restaurants in St. Ives. Don't waist your time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We have invested a lot of time in our “Brewing a Passion” customer service programme and the development of both our bar and daily changing evening dinner menu. We’re sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience on your recent visit and... More

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

enjoyed a 4 night stay here on an offer t include inner on the 1st night (we had this twice as we booked 2 x two-night packages). Food was excellent and the views were to die for. Te balcony room we stayed in (room 29) was a little on the small side - but was clean comfortable and despite work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re pleased to hear that your meal was excellent, and that you were able to take advantage of the views we have to offer. Thank you for your comments, as I’m sure you can appreciate due to our... More

Daventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had stayed at the Pedn Olva previously on quite a few occasions, but stopped, when on arrival with my wives elderly parents, having booked a long weekend five months earlier, and driven 300 m, we were informed that there would be a wedding taking place on the Saturday. There had been no attempt to contact us, and as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. We’re pleased you decided to give us a second chance and were able to take advantage of the lovely views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the Cornwall coastline. We over the years invested a lot of time in our customer service and the development of... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great views, good quality food and decent prices. Mind the postcode if you are driving at least my satnav ended up driving us to the wrong place. Best place to be is the terrace on top of the building. Easy to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent visit. We're pleased you enjoyed your experience. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our menus. (If you are driving to us using a Satnav, please enter the postcode for the Station Car Park [TR26 2BP] adjacent to the hotel). We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to... More

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself & 4 other girls decided to call in here for lunch Sat 15th Mar during our weekend in St Ives as there was a board outside showing the menu & advising non-residents welcome. We had a lovely table overlooking the sea. We had a lovely lunch, all washed down with lovely chilled Prosecco (well we were on holiday -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We’re pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and were able to take in the views we have to offer of the Cornish coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service training, (including local knowledge) so it is always... More

Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for four nights in March, we had a thoroughly enjoyable time, the staff are friendly and go the extra mile, the breakfasts were delicious and we were so lucky with the weather, which made the views even better! Only down side was our room which was spotless and very comfortable was lacking in floor space

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, following your recent stay with us. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service training, so it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from our guests. Were pleased you were able to take advantage of the lovely views we have to offer in good weather conditions. Due to our location some... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the start of march. Was booked on a whim to celebrate my wife's and my birthday. The hotel sits high up overlooking the sea and St ives bay. The hotel is very clean and the staff are nice and friendly. The bar and restaurant are fairly high in price for meals and drinks but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. Were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the wonderful views we have to offer of the Cornish coastline. Our housekeeper and her team ensure every room has the essentials accessories that today's’ travellers may require. Unfortunately the council have now put their... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our room was fantastic with a balcony that was actually over the sea. Superb view of the beach from the room although the room was small. Parking is limited and up a steep climb to the station car park. Sitting in the bar in the evening was relaxing and the breakfast was excellent in another room with a view over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us having time to take in the views of Porthminster Beach and the West-Cornwall coastline. Should you require additional information regarding a slightly more spacious room for future reservations please do not hesitate to... More

brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at the beautiful hotel for one night and wished I had stayed longer. The service at the hotel was fantastic. the lady on the check in counter was delightful and went out of her way to show us to our room and make sure we were happy with everything. The rooms have have fantastic views looking out to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review following your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service provided. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and were able to take in the amazing views that we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and South-West coastline. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives
Hotel Pedn Olva
Pedn Olva
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Address: West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedn Olva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pedn Olva Hotel to your Saves list