We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pedn Olva Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pedn Olva Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pedn Olva Hotel
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    171
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
75
282
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

What a lovely hotel! The most beautiful views from every single corner of it!!! Our room was a bit on a smaller sise, but view and friendliness of staff compensate all! We went with our Dog and we experience amazing attitude towards him! We even been offered sausage for him for breakfast!!! Wow!!! Would definitely recommend it! Be aware of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate our recent wedding anniversary. The hotel doesn't have it's own parking, but you can arrange for a reserved permit space in a nearby car park for £8.00 per day, which we did with no problems. Our room was very good, it was clean with a modern decor, there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here 2 nights. The location of the hotel is great and the rooms are clean and recently redecorated. However it is very noisy and I had two sleepless nights. I was in room 8 which is above the reception. Insulation is very poor so I could hear everyone coming in and out. One night I woke up at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Easter weekend and it exceeded all expectations. As we are a family of 5 with 3 young children it's hard to find hotels to accommodate us. However here we had a family room with an extra bed and it was ideal. The room was by the pool and had stunning views over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, following your recent stay at the Pedn Olva. We’re pleased to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy one of our family rooms by the pool area, with views across Porthminster beach and the coastline towards Hayle. We often receive great feedback on our selection of breakfast... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and it had some amazing views of the town on the balchanony (in amazing weather). My food was nice and service was also good! I'll never forget the views we saw at pedn Olva!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

We’re pleased you were able to take in the views we have to offer, whilst having some lunch on the public balcony areas. Thank you for your comments regarding both the service and food received. If you’d like to keep up to date with the views from the Pedn Olva, please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is vapist, pretentious and overpriced. I was very curtly told in a perfunctory fashion by a surly waitress 'you can't smoke that (my vape stick) in here'. No 'excuse me Sir but we kindly request that people do not vape in here' - to which I would probably have been compliant. On the upside, the setting of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PednOlva_Hotel, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent visit to the Pedn Olva.. however i have already replied to the review that you have left on our Facebook page.. "Thank you for your comments. However I am aware that the waitress in question calmly approached you and advised you, as per our company policy (in which you were sat in... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great views from rooms and restaurant,really pleasant staff, rooms clean, breakfast good. Slight draw back the standard double rooms are little small but overall great stay. Do not fall sat nav otherwise you will be in a one way. Car park is the station .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review, following your recent visit. It is pleasing to hear that everything was satisfactory in your room and with our selection of breakfast choices. We do advise people to enter the postcode for the station car park on our website and we do offer reserved parking in the station car park... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a wonderful 2 day stay at this hotel. Attracted mainly by the incredible view, we were absolutely delighted with all this hotel has to offer. Very comfortable rooms - although a bit on the small side but caters for all tastes, good standard of food and drink, very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

We’re pleased you enjoyed your short break at the Pedn Olva. Some of our rooms are slightly more spacious than others. Thank you for your comments regarding our food and drinks selection. We have a dedicated, well trained team in each department who like to ensure that everything is satisfactory for guests during their stay. We look forward to welcoming... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent one night at the Pedn Olva hotel in a single room and it was very good, clean, cosy and the breakfast was amazing! I also loved the views of the beach from the bar. Recommended for a short stay although a lot depends on the room you get, my friend also had a single room and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay in one of our Single Cabin rooms. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure all rooms are kept to a certain standard. We thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped for an evening bar meal. There is a large lounge area with superb views overlooking the bay. The food was very good and imaginative. I had scallops as a starter followed by a Monkfish curry and finishing with chocolate orange torte. All 3 course were imaginatively presented. The price was reasonable. Service was efficient and pleasant. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve P, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, following your recent visit to the Pedn Olva Bar. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your meals and will ensure your comments are passed to our both our kitchen and front of house teams. I do apologise that the member of staff disturbed you, although do hope this haven’t put you off visiting us again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question