We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Hotel website
The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £135
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    90
    116
    56
    28
    22
See reviews for
42
177
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were given a very warm welcome from the reception staff and were pleased to be able to access our rooms straight away even though we arrived 2 hours before the official check in time. The room was very clean and spacious,the bedding was squishy soft and spotless so we slept really well overnight. In spite of the hotel being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and that you will be returning again in the future. Please feel free to give the hotel a call and the booking can be made direct. Thank you for the review. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a 3 night stay here in the middle of May and can strongly reccomend this hotel for the price. The room (room 200) was a decent size and had a great view over the bay. I am pretty sure reading some of the other comments that not all the rooms are of this quality which i would rate as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Unfortunately there was a technical fault with the lines which meant that the engineer was called to rectify the problem, this is the reason behind the problem which was resolved that day. Shearings offer the eight day tours to St Ives for the summer months. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. More 

Brighton
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

All round we had an excellent stay at the St Ives Bay Hotel. Our room was excellent a good size with a decent bathroom. The food is the restaurant was generally good but at time the service was friendly but a tad choatic. The entertainment programme in the evening was first rate with bingo, a quiz and a live singer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Requests can be made however cannot be guaranteed. Shearings do have an option to secure a room number for a charge of £10.00 which means that at the time of booking the room choice that suits you can be made.Please note that we have limited rooms on the ground floor.... More 

Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Comfortable Hotel with good food, helpful and polite receptionists. Very clean and warm internally. Rear elevation could do with a makeover. I would recommend this hotel. One thing to note!. This is a Shearings hotel and caters for Coach parties, so it gets a little crowded at meal times, but hotel copes very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Shearings offer 5 and 4 day breaks throughout the early season by coach and then 23.05.15 the eight days summer tours commence. These tours include a visit to the Isles of Scilly, Truro and St Mawes and the Atlantic coast. Self drive customers can book either a 4, 5 or 7 day break with the hotel. The lounge areas overlook... More 

Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is not far from the town /harbourside the food is plain but tasty all the staff are real pleasant friendly apart from the night receptionist who is a little offputting miserable the only gripe we had was we stopped in may15 and it was unusually cold outside but the management did not think of putting on the heating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

The weather of late has been good for the time of year so heating has not been needed as generally warm enough. The water temperature is checked monthly due to legionella testing so it will always be above the recommended 50 degrees and there is always more than a trickle. Thank you for your comments. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well we stayed here on the shearings holiday coach trip brilliant well worth the money . The hotel is fantastic brilliant views our room was very clean just been all done up the hotel food was lovely service was fantastic . The hotel is at top of hill but it's stunning views are fantastic great place .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, it is good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, I will pass on your comments to all concerned. If you every visit St Ives again please give the hotel a call and we will be happy to assist with your booking. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical BAY HOTEL some rooms badly in need of make-over, basic but clean sadly no lining on curtains-street lamp outside made room light alnight. Obviously went with SHEARINGS. Staff very obliging although could do with extra. Food good alround Only serious falt (missus info) the room in ladies toilet is very tight(she says-ladies be warned "hardly enough room to pull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

As you can appreciate with the number of hotels within the group the company are upgrading throughout the estate all the time. It would be unfair if everything was completed here so we have to be patient and have the rooms refurbished as and when. Major works have taken place over the past months here. The builders are aware of... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings at St Ives. The holiday was 3 fold, Mums 87 birthday treat, a visit to Carbis Bay Hotel where she had her honeymoon 66 years ago and for some tlc for me after being so ill. The journey down was very smooth, booked into the hotel promptly and greeted with genuine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your trip down memory lane here in St Ives and Carbis Bay. I agree with you that the views overlooking the bay are stunning. Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of the team , the quality of food and service you received I will pass them on to the... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent last Bank holiday weekend at this hotel on a shearings holiday, 5 single people travelling together, we all paid £15 single supplement on top of the usual price as we all had single rooms. I was allocated room 206, i can only decsribe it as a flea pit! Cracked sink,rusty plughole,wallpaper peeling off, stained dirty carpet, and stained walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

I do not agree with the description of the room that you were allocated but it is good to hear that you were happy with the upgraded room for two that you were allocated. Thank you for the comments regarding the food I shall pass these on to the chef. The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme which takes... More 

Neyland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 night stay, lovely staff (shame about a Guest who found everything wrong!) Sat down to eat in the Basement dining room which was a little disappointing, however we found the waiting staff hard working and friendly! The food was really good, breakfast was no trouble to have whatever you wanted. Room 2, close to Reception so you receive the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has 3 double and 3 twin superior rooms that are charged at 7.00 per person per night and 12.50 per person per night, all have the bay windows so have stunning views. The Godrevy restaurant is a very popular choice with guests as it holds less people and it can mean for a more intimate dining experience as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay