We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Hotel website
The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Rate this Hotel

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    105
    52
    28
    21
See reviews for
39
163
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a mid week break, hotel is going through a refurbishment and looking really good. Room had been refurbished new furniture, decorated,new bathroom,flat screen t.v. Food really good stayed in a number of shearing hotels and this best by far for food.staff and management could not do enough for you. Only down side the central heating broke down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel are all pleasant and make you feel welcome.Food in the restaurant was very good,i have only two complaints to make. TV signal was rubbish kept going on and off,next was the shower only warm water coming could have been hotter".All in all had a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Both the points raised here could have been attended to if mentioned to the reception desk as we do our utmost to resolve any issues raised. The staff will be grateful for your kind comments and I will pass those on. Thank you More 

Batley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went to St Ives last week for a long weekend with National Holidays and stayed at the Bay St Ives Bay Hotel. Greeted by the hotel manager who came on to the coach and explained what was in store for us. I had the opportunity to book a room with a 'scenic view'. I wasn't disappointed. The view from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

The views over the bay are stunning and priceless. Room 30 has a balcony which you can sit out on and enjoy the views and is a well requested room. Pillow choices vary from person to person but if it is a softer pillow that is required just ask at reception and we will do our best to oblige. The... More 

West Yorkshire England
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I use bus trips to St Ives by Shearings to visit my family living in the town and this is my third visit to this hotel and my third review. I feel as if I am writing a story of the refurbishment of the hotel over a period of time because each time I come there is an additional part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

I agree with you that it is great value for money and I also agree that the refurbishment is really lovely in the public areas. We have had 14 more bedrooms done this February, as they say Rome was not built in a day. We always like to improve on things so hopefully the next time you come you will... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely weekend. Just returned home with good memories.Sun,sea & beautiful scenery. It was a self drive break and would recommend this hotel. Staff friendly We had a sea view & the room was perfect. Food excellent. Limited parking though. Hope to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

St Ives is a beautiful place whatever the weather and we have experienced some nice weather of late. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hope to see you again in the future, just give us a call and we will be happy to assist with the booking. Thank you for this review. More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled with Shearings. This hotel is probably the best hotel that we have stayed in with this company. The food was of the highest standard and always served hot. The room we stayed in was 302.This room has been re furbished to a good standard,and has great views over the bay. The staff in all areas were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. When booking you can secure a room number for a £10.00 charge then the room can be tailored to your requirements. It is true that some rooms have bath some have showers and some have both, requests can be made for specifics but are not guaranteed. Thank you for this review. More 

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My elderly relative, with mild dementia, went. Here last week .Nowhe reports that all was good , traditional meals and traditional hospitality.When we phoned ,to brief t.hem on his condition ,we had a very good response and certainly looked after him. He left his phone in his room and it's now on its way back in the post .Fine service.I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

It is great that your relative had a good time and it would be great to welcome them back again. If you are wanting to book for a future date then please give the hotel a call and we can do the booking for you here and we will ensure that their needs are catered for. Thank you for taking... More 

devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a short break at St.Ives Bay Hotel and will certainly return and have great pleasure in recommending it to other travellers. Our room had been refurbished and had the most amazing view across the beach. It was a little cold on the first evening but an extra blanket was soon provided & the heating tweeked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break. We believe that food is best served on hot plates and the chef will settle for nothing less. The views that we have from the newly refurbished lounges are stunning and this year we have had a further 14 bedrooms refurbished. Hope to see you again in the future... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed at this hotel 4 nights our first impression was poor as the hotel was all hidden by scafolding. the reception was well conducted we were advised where our room was. there is no lift and the stairs were very hard work we found the upgraded room No32 rather small but the view made up for all, we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

The scaffolding was at the front of the hotel for a two week period for general work to be completed. The bar will be busy as it is an inclusive break that is running at the moment where you have four drinks a day on the voucher. There is no telling when a barrel or gas needs to be changed... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been transferred to this hotel because the one we had originally booked (The Beresford, Newquay) had a Norovirus outbreak, we arrived with a little bit of apprehension. Three of our single rooms (why do Shearings charge you a single room supplement when they give you a single roon anyway?) were in need of a re-vamp, but mine (I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review

The garage is not for sale, the fact that we had issues with parking related to the fact that refurbishment work being near to completion meant there was a skip taking spaces also that having extra guests that required parking that had been arranged with the said hotel on top of our on guests parking. We tried our best to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question